Bias light and switching options - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-22-2013, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slvrM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to add a bias light to my LCD and have started reaching my options. I came to the conclusion that Ideal-Lume was a pretty good product, BUT I need a "remote" or automatic way of turning it on. I see they offer accessories using x10 or insteon but I think that's a bit overboard and more expensive then the product in the first place. Are there modification options I can look into, or another product that could be more helpful. Ideally I would like it to be either remote or just turn on with the TV itself. I appreciate any ideas!
slvrM3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-22-2013, 10:23 AM
Member
 
monvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I would probably use something like this http://www.amazon.com/Wireless-Remote-Controlled-5-Outlet-Switch/dp/B003TL6FI8
monvo is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-22-2013, 10:44 AM
Senior Member
 
praz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
praz is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-22-2013, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GeorgeAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by slvrM3 View Post

I want to add a bias light to my LCD and have started reaching my options. I came to the conclusion that Ideal-Lume was a pretty good product, BUT I need a "remote" or automatic way of turning it on. I see they offer accessories using x10 or insteon but I think that's a bit overboard and more expensive then the product in the first place. Are there modification options I can look into, or another product that could be more helpful. Ideally I would like it to be either remote or just turn on with the TV itself. I appreciate any ideas!
The X10 device is no longer available. The SmartStrip is what will turn on with the TV, and costs about half as much as the lowest priced bias light model.
GeorgeAB is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-22-2013, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 187
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off