Calibration noob here, adjust Lumagen or Projector? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-13-2014, 10:11 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ch1sox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have a Lumagen Radiance XS-3D, Disney WOW disc and Panasonic 8000. My questions are the following:

1. When I use the Disney disc, should I be adjusting the picture with the Lumagen settings or the projector settings?

2. My understanding is I should start with Rec709, put the disc in and follow the directions. This would be my setting for movies. However, would I then need to calibrate it again for TV under the Rec709 starting point?

3. Are there auto calibration discs for the Lumagen? If so, do they work well? If there are auto calibration discs, does this mean I leave the projector settings as default and let the Lumagen handle everything?
ch1sox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-13-2014, 10:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,621
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Do you have a meter and software or just setting up by eye?

Generic all purpose answers:
1) Start with the lumagen in it's uncalibrated-default state. Do the best you can do with the projector for brightness and contrast contrast settings, it's doubtful you can make meaningful adjustments with color and tint.

2) Rec.709 is the standard for both Blu-Ray and HDTV broadcasts, so the same calibration should be good for both types of content.

3) The Lumagen can be automatically calibrated by several software packages. They all require a meter to read the colors. The different packages are CalMAN, Chromapure and Lightspace. I'm one of the lead developers for CalMAN and it's my belief not only is CalMAN the best performer for the radiance, but that it is also the best value. Of course you need a meter to go with it, you'll probably want at least an x-rite i1 Display Pro or an enhanced version of that meter. It's great for projectors, and with that setup you'll get an amazing picture.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-14-2014, 12:05 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ch1sox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I don't have a meter or software yet. I was looking at the Calman on Amazon earlier. Just so I'm not misunderstanding, I'm supposed to set the projector to Rec709 and calibrate on that setting, right? With Calman 5 I was looking at this one earlier that you mentioned: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0055MBQOW/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?qid=1389685636&sr=8-3.
ch1sox is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-14-2014, 01:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,621
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by ch1sox View Post

I don't have a meter or software yet. I was looking at the Calman on Amazon earlier. Just so I'm not misunderstanding, I'm supposed to set the projector to Rec709 and calibrate on that setting, right? With Calman 5 I was looking at this one earlier that you mentioned: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0055MBQOW/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?qid=1389685636&sr=8-3.

Yes that meter works with CalMAN if you want to buy the meter seperately, it may be more cost effective to buy a bundle from SpectraCal. CalMAN Control is $299 (does a basic autocal) and CalMAN Enthusiast $399(creates a full 3D LUT), their bundles with a i1 Display Pro are $399 and $499 respectively. With a radiance I think that getting enthusiast for the 3D-Lut functionality is worth the investment.

You may want to leave the projector in native mode if you get a meter and use calibration software on the radiance.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-14-2014, 03:12 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ch1sox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks for the speedy replies. The enthusiast should work out nicely.
ch1sox is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-17-2014, 03:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
coolplazma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: N. Idaho / Spokane
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

Yes that meter works with CalMAN if you want to buy the meter seperately, it may be more cost effective to buy a bundle from SpectraCal. CalMAN Control is $299 (does a basic autocal) and CalMAN Enthusiast $399(creates a full 3D LUT), their bundles with a i1 Display Pro are $399 and $499 respectively. With a radiance I think that getting enthusiast for the 3D-Lut functionality is worth the investment.

You may want to leave the projector in native mode if you get a meter and use calibration software on the radiance.

FWIW, those bundle prices mentioned are off by +$100. With the i1D Pro the posted prices are showing as $499 and $599 respectively. That nets to ~$200 for the i1D Pro.

Assume this is an un-calibrated meter?

Anyone know if SpectraCal does meter calibration before shipping or add-on service?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Early project info. Needs update with final results.
coolplazma is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-16-2014, 10:21 AM
Newbie
 
spytsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

...With a radiance I think that getting enthusiast for the 3D-Lut functionality is worth the investment...

I suppose that 3D-LUT calibration has nothing to do with calibrating a 3D projector for 3D content, right?
spytsi is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-16-2014, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,621
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by spytsi View Post

I suppose that 3D-LUT calibration has nothing to do with calibrating a 3D projector for 3D content, right?

Correct.

Stereoscopic calibration and a three dimensional look up table are not directly related in any way.

You can of course use a 3D LUT to calibrate stereoscopic content.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-21-2014, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by spytsi View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

...With a radiance I think that getting enthusiast for the 3D-Lut functionality is worth the investment...

I suppose that 3D-LUT calibration has nothing to do with calibrating a 3D projector for 3D content, right?

Hello, you can improve any display performance using an external LUT Box/Video Processor by moving from (classic) display internal controls calibration (max. 27 Color Points) to 3D-LUT Calibration/Profiling (146-9.261 Color Points).

To have a better idea of that difference in 3D space presentation (becasue CIE Charts are 1D) you can see the 1D-LUT + 6-Axis CMS vs. 3D Cube Sizes Comparisons here.

Consumer displays don't have the ability to upload a 3D LUT correction to their internal memory so we are using external devices to store the corrections LUT's.

Professional displays like Eizo ColorEdge (some hi-end models, 3D LUT capable), FSI (Flanders Scientific Inc), TVLogic, Dolby Monitors have internal memories that can store 3D LUT correction tables, where you don't need an external 3D LUT device.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off