I1 display pro - does it have a decent CRT offset matrix? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 01-29-2014, 08:24 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
spacediver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Someone who owns an FW900 is deciding between a DTP-94 and an i1Display Pro. Based on my measurements, the DTP-94 is very accurate on the FW900, probably because it was calibrated against the same set of phosphors.

But there's no guarantee that a second hand DTP-94 will be in good shape, unlike a brand new i1d3.

Does anyone know whether he'll be well served with an i1d3?
spacediver is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 01-30-2014, 03:22 PM
 
MonarchX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacediver View Post

Someone who owns an FW900 is deciding between a DTP-94 and an i1Display Pro. Based on my measurements, the DTP-94 is very accurate on the FW900, probably because it was calibrated against the same set of phosphors.

But there's no guarantee that a second hand DTP-94 will be in good shape, unlike a brand new i1d3.

Does anyone know whether he'll be well served with an i1d3?

I'm pretty sure i1D3 would work fine, but IF you want real accuracy - just rent ColorMunki spectrometer for only $60 and profile your i1D3 against your CRT! Better yet, if you would prefer to use free software like HCFR, then save yourself some money and get ColorMunki Display colorimeter for only $170 retail! It uses the same exact hardware as i1D3, but its locked software-wise (can't be used with CalMAN, for example). ColorMunki Display colorimeter + ColorMunki spectrometer rent will cost you LESS than getting i1D3 and provide you with the best accuracy you can hope for.
MonarchX is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 01-30-2014, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
spacediver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 69
This isn't for me. I already have an i1 pro that is in excellent condition, and a DTP-94 that is perfect for my display. The person in question does not want a locked unit, and is debating between the DTP-94 and the i1D3.

I just need to know whether the i1D3 has offsets for a CRT.
spacediver is online now  
post #4 of 14 Old 01-30-2014, 04:41 PM
 
MonarchX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
It has CRT correction file.
MonarchX is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 01-30-2014, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacediver View Post

This isn't for me. I already have an i1 pro that is in excellent condition, and a DTP-94 that is perfect for my display. The person in question does not want a locked unit, and is debating between the DTP-94 and the i1D3.

I just need to know whether the i1D3 has offsets for a CRT.

For CRT the DTP-94 is a better choice.

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 01-30-2014, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,621
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacediver View Post

This isn't for me. I already have an i1 pro that is in excellent condition, and a DTP-94 that is perfect for my display. The person in question does not want a locked unit, and is debating between the DTP-94 and the i1D3.

I just need to know whether the i1D3 has offsets for a CRT.

It doesn't look like X-Rite ships an CRT EDR with the default i1 Display Pro. I'm not sure off the top of my head how close any of the other table types are. CalMAN shows a CRT entry for it, but it's just remapped to our best guess.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 01-30-2014, 05:06 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
spacediver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 69
thanks, I'll let him know. If he does end up getting the i1D3, I'll try to convince him to rent a spectro (or at the very least he can compare his readings against my measurements, given that then phosphors of our FW900's are (supposedly) within fairly tight tolerances). But I'm gonna push him to get a DTP-94, as he's a CRT freak smile.gif
spacediver is online now  
post #8 of 14 Old 07-13-2014, 05:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
spacediver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I've just ordered an i1 display pro, and will compare measurements on my CRT against the DTP-94 and i1 pro. I'll report back when I do.
spacediver is online now  
post #9 of 14 Old 07-13-2014, 08:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
gwgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacediver View Post
I've just ordered an i1 display pro, and will compare measurements on my CRT against the DTP-94 and i1 pro. I'll report back when I do.
I include a CRT .ccss with ArgyllCMS - it's based on the spectra from the two CRT's that I happen to have.
gwgill is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 07-13-2014, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
spacediver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 69
excellent, thanks
spacediver is online now  
post #11 of 14 Old 07-15-2014, 05:32 AM
Member
 
22point8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 24
The FW900 has the same exact tube as the Sony BVM-D24E1W, so it has SMPTE phosphors in US or EBU phosphors in the rest of the world.
22point8 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 07-15-2014, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
spacediver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Interesting - I knew the SMPTE-C phosphors were used but I had no idea a BVM monitor existed with the same tube!
spacediver is online now  
post #13 of 14 Old 07-15-2014, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
spacediver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 69
actually, are you sure it's the same tube?

According to this, it only has 1000 lines of resolution (although this is probably a function of the back end circuitry rather than the tube proper).

But according to this, the dot pitch is 0.25-0.28 mm (if I'm reading that document correctly, and I'm not sure that I am), whereas the FW900 is 0.23-0.27 mm.
spacediver is online now  
post #14 of 14 Old 07-16-2014, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
spacediver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwgill View Post
I include a CRT .ccss with ArgyllCMS - it's based on the spectra from the two CRT's that I happen to have.
Using this correction file, the chromaticity measurements of my primaries were almost identical to the readings of my DTP-94. Four of the six values (x,y for R,G,B) were within 0.001 of each other, one was within 0.002 and one was within 0.005. Amazing!
spacediver is online now  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off