Can internal TV/monitor PCB hardware change require repeat colorimeter profiling? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-18-2014, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
 
SCProCalibrator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15

I know that TV and monitor firmware updates can very much affect calibration and settings, but would they also require repeat colorimeter profiling even if the screen itself was not changed? For example, if you had a TV repair that included internal PCB or motherboard replacement, but no part of the screen itself was changed - would the old correction matrix/profile be just as accurate for the TV with a new PCB?

SCProCalibrator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-19-2014, 02:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCProCalibrator View Post

I know that TV and monitor firmware updates can very much affect calibration and settings, but would they also require repeat colorimeter profiling even if the screen itself was not changed? For example, if you had a TV repair that included internal PCB or motherboard replacement, but no part of the screen itself was changed - would the old correction matrix/profile be just as accurate for the TV with a new PCB?

Yes, maybe the new boards will change the characteristics of the display (you don't know this unless you have keep pre-service calibration report) but since you have a specto to your tools, it's better to run a new Four‐Color Correction Matrix with your colorimeter upon every calibration run. It takes 1-2 minutes.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-19-2014, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCProCalibrator View Post

I know that TV and monitor firmware updates can very much affect calibration and settings, but would they also require repeat colorimeter profiling even if the screen itself was not changed? For example, if you had a TV repair that included internal PCB or motherboard replacement, but no part of the screen itself was changed - would the old correction matrix/profile be just as accurate for the TV with a new PCB?

The main board usually holds internal (aka service menu) ADC and White Balance Settings (such as with Samsungs) and so changing it will alter the grayscale and possibly brightness/contrast as well.

I'm not sure if it would alter SPD (seems like the panel is more critical for that), but it would require different white balance settings (and possibly brightness/contrast).

Firmware updates shouldn't change ADC/white balance settings in the service menu, but it could still alter the calibration/settings in some ways as you noted.
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-19-2014, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
 
SCProCalibrator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15

The change in white balance, color gamut, etc. - that doesn't matter. What matters is whether the repair will affect how colorimeter reads the same display. In this case, it isn't repair, its installation of G-Sync module on LED TN monitor, which AFAIK also requires PCB replacement. The module actually improves color accuracy big time, but a LUT is still needed. This monitor required spectrometer profiling because my i1Display Pro was not accurate. It wasn't reading red properly. Spectrometer measurement was showing 106-109% red WB at any gray level while i1D3 was showing 100% WB at any gray level for the LUT I made with i1D3.

 

When a colorimeter table does not apply to a specific display, requiring a spectrometer correction, what is responsible for that behavior? Is it the backlight? Something in the pixels? Something PCB can control?

SCProCalibrator is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off