Klein K10A to Jeti 1211 comparison for plasma question? - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 73 Old 04-16-2014, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
 
DrFaxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post

It has to do with the placement:

If you place the Protractor horizontally above your meter it will display to you dual axis.

Thanks Ted, understand. You use the gyro for the meters.

But it is still not clear to me how this should work for the horizontal angle between meter and TV.

Top view:
ConnecTEDDD likes this.

S/W: LightSpace HCC, Calman 5, DisplayCal/ArgyllCMS
H/W: CR-100, I1Pro2, I1D3, eeColor, RB8 Generator
Tools: ControlCal, Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk
DrFaxe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 73 Old 04-16-2014, 06:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,179
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1533 Post(s)
Liked: 1977
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFaxe View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post

It has to do with the placement:

If you place the Protractor horizontally above your meter it will display to you dual axis.

Thanks Ted, understand. You use the gyro for the meters.

But it is still not clear to me how this should work for the horizontal angle between meter and TV.

Top view:

As you are looking your picture, put the laser measuring tool to the left side of the meter and measure the distance, later place it to the right side, and if they match when you are ok. Put mound using a Painters blue tape a hard paper on your TV becasue the laser will reflect and will give you wrong measurements.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #63 of 73 Old 04-16-2014, 07:02 AM
Senior Member
 
DrFaxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Now ware a talking the same language. smile.gif
So basicly we do the same, I just use the rail where the meter is mounted.
Doing it this way the distance between left/right must be as large a possible. Using Your meters left/right side as a reference point You only have a few cm and the accurary of the laser distance meter is +/- 1.5mm.
So the horizontal alignment is not very precise, so why wasting a lot of time to setup the meters for 0.01° precision if it can not be aligned to the TV with the same accuracy?
What I'm tyring to say is that everything below 1° should be accurate enough and can be done a lot faster.

S/W: LightSpace HCC, Calman 5, DisplayCal/ArgyllCMS
H/W: CR-100, I1Pro2, I1D3, eeColor, RB8 Generator
Tools: ControlCal, Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk
DrFaxe is offline  
 
post #64 of 73 Old 04-16-2014, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,179
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1533 Post(s)
Liked: 1977
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFaxe View Post

Now ware a talking the same language. smile.gif
So basicly we do the same, I just use the rail where the meter is mounted.
Doing it this way the distance between left/right must be as large a possible. Using Your meters left/right side as a reference point You only have a few cm and the accurary of the laser distance meter is +/- 1.5mm.
So the horizontal alignment is not very precise, so why wasting a lot of time to setup the meters for 0.01° precision if it can not be aligned to the TV with the same accuracy?
What I'm tyring to say is that everything below 1° should be accurate enough and can be done a lot faster.

Yes, I'm not spending extra time for extreme precision, 0.05° - 0.1° is ok wink.gif

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #65 of 73 Old 04-16-2014, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,317
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Ted

Were you able to make detailed comparisons of the K10a plasma table results versus the Jeti 1211?

Klein K-10A, CR250, i1D3, i1Pro2, Calman Enthusiast, LG 65B6P, Panasonic 65VT50, and a great wife that puts up with all this.:)
JimP is online now  
post #66 of 73 Old 04-16-2014, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,179
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1533 Post(s)
Liked: 1977
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Ted

Were you able to make detailed comparisons of the K10a plasma table results versus the Jeti 1211?

Hey Jim, I will but I want to have 3 difference Plasma brands to compare, now I have access to 2 different.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #67 of 73 Old 09-09-2014, 12:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,179
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1533 Post(s)
Liked: 1977
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
 I used the Jeti 1211 to profile the K10-A before I ran the 9300 point patch set (customized by zoyd) profile using LS for my VT60.
SS, If you want to measure an area of 25mm diameter you need to place the JETI 1211 with a distance of 80.65cm from the display's panel surface and later Klein K-10A at 12.5cm distance; to match with accuracy their FOV.
sillysally likes this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #68 of 73 Old 09-09-2014, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,801
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 917 Post(s)
Liked: 904
Ted, actually I have been using on-screen mode for my active meter (K10-A with extension and rubber tip) and off-screen for the Jeti 1211 as reference meter.

As I have been saying for guys like us. Getting the meter profile matrix as close to perfect as possible, will make or break a great 3DLUT calibration with the type of meters we use.

ss

"Don't worry be happy"
sillysally is offline  
post #69 of 73 Old 03-18-2015, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,179
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1533 Post(s)
Liked: 1977
Klein's site says that K-10A has Measurement Area/Distance: 22mm diameter / 110 mm fr

Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
Ted, actually I have been using on-screen mode for my active meter (K10-A with extension and rubber tip) and off-screen for the Jeti 1211 as reference meter.

As I have been saying for guys like us. Getting the meter profile matrix as close to perfect as possible, will make or break a great 3DLUT calibration with the type of meters we use.

ss
Some corrections after having new data about Klein's FOV.

Klein's site says for K-10A that: ''Measurement Area/Distance: 22mm diameter / 110 mm from display''

These data were coming from K-10 SF meter, it's different for K-10A.

K-10A has FOV of about 62.2mm diameter from 11 cm from the display.

When you have attached the rubber hood the K-10A's FOV is 48.2mm.

When you want to match Klein's FOV while you have it's rubber hood attached, you need to place JETI 1211 with a distance of 138cm.

If you want to match Klein's FOV while you have it in non-contact mode without any accessory attached with 11cm distance from the display, you need to place JETI 1211 with a distance of 200,6cm.
sillysally and OMARDRIS like this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #70 of 73 Old 03-24-2015, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,179
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1533 Post(s)
Liked: 1977
Klein K-10A FOV when you use the meter in contact mode:

When you have attached the rubber hood only, the K-10A's FOV is 48.2mm.

When you have attached the extension tube only the K-10A's FOV is 54.9mm.

When you have attached the extension tube and the rubber hood, the K-10A's FOV is 60.1mm.
JimP, sillysally and OMARDRIS like this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #71 of 73 Old 04-20-2017, 10:26 AM
Member
 
OMARDRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 36
A question about Chromasurf 5.43

He,
Maybe someone can help me here a bit.
I am using a Klein-10A with Chromasurf (5.43) on a laptop with Windows 10 and would like to ask if it is possible to start the Chromasurf program directly with a parameter for the correct COM port. I have the problem that "Rescan Devices" does not find the K-10A, if at the same time other COM-Ports of Bluetooth for a Jeti 1501 are used. I use the Jeti 1501 Spectro to create a profile for the K-10A. At the moment, I have to start Chromasurf a second time to find the K-10A, or I have to delete the Blutooth entries every time.

This is not tragic but impractical.
The other possibility is, of course, to forego Bluetooth and connect the Jeti via USB. But just the Bluetooth connection is very convenient.
Many Thanks
Peter
OMARDRIS is online now  
post #72 of 73 Old 04-20-2017, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,317
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMARDRIS View Post
He,
Maybe someone can help me here a bit.
I am using a Klein-10A with Chromasurf (5.43) on a laptop with Windows 10 and would like to ask if it is possible to start the Chromasurf program directly with a parameter for the correct COM port. I have the problem that "Rescan Devices" does not find the K-10A, if at the same time other COM-Ports of Bluetooth for a Jeti 1501 are used. I use the Jeti 1501 Spectro to create a profile for the K-10A. At the moment, I have to start Chromasurf a second time to find the K-10A, or I have to delete the Blutooth entries every time.

This is not tragic but impractical.
The other possibility is, of course, to forego Bluetooth and connect the Jeti via USB. But just the Bluetooth connection is very convenient.
Many Thanks
Peter
I think I'd just USB and call it a day. This may more to do with Windows 10 than anything and you can waste a lot of time chasing shadows.

Aren't you getting error messages with 5.43 when you manually enter your reference values?

Klein K-10A, CR250, i1D3, i1Pro2, Calman Enthusiast, LG 65B6P, Panasonic 65VT50, and a great wife that puts up with all this.:)
JimP is online now  
post #73 of 73 Old 04-20-2017, 11:05 PM
Member
 
OMARDRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
Aren't you getting error messages with 5.43 when you manually enter your reference values?
Hi Jim,
Many thanks for your Response.
I have from Klein the info that they will test this problem with Bluetooth. And they plan to integrate the Jeti into Chromasurf. That would be great, because then no manual entries would have to make more.
Yes, I always get an error message when I make a manual entry for the reference sensor. I ignore the message. The matrix is created correctly and the subsequent test shows that the matrix is OK.
Peter
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
OMARDRIS is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off