Issue with "Advanced Brightness Calibration" using Disney WOW - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 03-10-2014, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
240sxsexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I decided it was time to calibrate my TV after enduring improper black levels for over a year. This isn't my first time doing this but it is the first time I've used Disney's WOW disc. Under the advanced brightness setting no matter what the brightness or contrast is set at I cannot see anything on the checkerboard until after the first 3 stars. Below is an image of what the calibration screen "should" look like. Inversely I cannot see the +1% and +2% stars regardless of the settings (according to the manual these should be visible). It appears as if at a set point my TV makes everything equally black instead of the gradual change. The TV is a Sharp 70LE600U. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.



-Jared
240sxsexy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 03-11-2014, 01:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by 240sxsexy View Post

It appears as if at a set point my TV makes everything equally black instead of the gradual change. The TV is a Sharp 70LE600U. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hello, check to your TV settings and disable any Black Level Enhancer or Dynamic Contrast Mode.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 03-11-2014, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
240sxsexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry I forgot to include that. Dynamic Contrast and OPC are disabled. I'm going to drag another TV into my living room and hook it up to my entertainment center. If it does it with that one than the issue isn't the tv and could be the disk or something else.
240sxsexy is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 03-11-2014, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
240sxsexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I just tested it with another monitor and its definitely the TV... DAMN. I really should have not waited over a year to calibrate a $2k TV. If its hardware related I'm out of warranty now.

I'm going to see if there's a software update available.
240sxsexy is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 03-11-2014, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gregg Loewen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New England
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 39
try a different viewing mode.

President, Lion Audio Video Consultants Inc.
Lead THX Video Standards Instructor
Gregg Loewen is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 03-11-2014, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Blackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco - East Bay area
Posts: 3,453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Something like that is not going to be a hardware problem, like a bad electronic component... no way, especially in the digital video world.

The 2 settings you mentioned are not necessarily the ONLY settings in the TV that might be blocking you from getting better black levels from the TV.

Sometimes the picture mode you are using will even cause odd effects like the brightness control not working right. So try different picture modes... even ones you think might not be useful (though Dynamic mode or other garish modes aren't worth bothering with). For example, you might be using a mode named Natural or Neutral, but that's not an accurate characterization and you can't get control over the black level until you select Movie or Cinema or Custom mode (not saying your TV has all those modes, but it may have some similar mode options).

You also want to be sure you aren't getting balled up in the 0-255 vs 16-235 thing in RGB mode, that will bomb your black levels bad... either making them perpetually too dark or perpetually too bright. You're better off with everything in YCbCr mode... in YCbCr mode, all video is 16-235 unless some product breaks the rules and makes 0-255 / 16-235 apply to YCbCr... not SUPPOSED to happen, but manufacturers do a lot of things that aren't supposed to happen.

Start with investigating the 0-255 / 16-235 issue... only problem is your TV may not use that nomenclature... it may have a menu option with Normal or Standard or Limited as one setting (those would all signify 16-235) or Expanded, Full Range, PC and those would indicate 0-255... but those aren't the only strange names manufacturers use to camouflage the real setting. And at least one manufacturer (Samsung) has managed to label the setting backwards for 5 years or so. Sometimes the setting is called Black Level, but as usual, different brands assign different names to it.

"Movies is magic..." Van Dyke Parks
THX Certified Professional Video Calibration
ISF -- HAA -- www.dBtheatrical.com
Widescreen Review -- Home Theater & Sound
Doug Blackburn is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 03-11-2014, 08:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
240sxsexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys,

I will try your suggestions. Makes sense about it being digital (just like the HDMI cable wouldn't be the issue). I just updated the firmware with no luck. This TV has the fewest settings I've ever seen. Other than the standard brightness/contrast/etc there's an OPC range that effects the brightness even with OPC disabled.... LOL

I'll try playing around the setting in different viewing modes. I was assuming the same results could be achieved in any mode by tweaking the settings. Sounds like I was incorrect.

Thanks again for your help.

-Jared
240sxsexy is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 03-12-2014, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
240sxsexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried every available setting without luck on any display mode. There are very few settings tho... Are there still service menu's accessible in these newer TVs?
240sxsexy is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 03-12-2014, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
praz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Hello

You may have reached the limit of what you can do. The controls on the 70LE600U are limited at best. When these sets first came out most that were purchased by people intending to do any type of calibration exchanged them for the 70LE640U because of these limitations.
praz is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 03-13-2014, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
240sxsexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by praz View Post

Hello

You may have reached the limit of what you can do. The controls on the 70LE600U are limited at best. When these sets first came out most that were purchased by people intending to do any type of calibration exchanged them for the 70LE640U because of these limitations.

Thanks for the reply!

That's what I was thinking and afraid of. frown.gif I didn't want a smart TV and got it on Black Friday for a decent deal. They were still new so all the reviews were positive. I even told my brother last night that the reason the TV to this day has positive reviews is because most people don't care enough to calibrate lol.

I'll find a way to access the settings I need if its out there.
240sxsexy is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 03-17-2014, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
240sxsexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any one else have any advice on this? I'm not finding much on a service menu. frown.gif
240sxsexy is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off