Testing a new television - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 04-01-2014, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all.

I am new to the forums and looking for help on how to test a new TV for all the known issues. I am a newbie when it comes to TV's and hoping someone could educate me a little on what to look for during each test. I've been researching and made a list of these issues: clouding, banding, flashlighting, dead/stuck pixels, fingers, and screen uniformity.
I purchased the Sony 55w900a television and would like to run all the proper tests to make sure my set is okay.
Thanks for any input on where I can find these tests and what to look for.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-02-2014, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 198
You might want to try the lcd flat panel section of the forum since these aspects of picture quality are not strictly calibration related.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 6 Old 04-02-2014, 10:49 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 226
I can run 100 test patterns that would make you swear your TV is a complete piece of crap. Yet when you watch TV or a Blu-ray movie, you'll never see ANY of the bad things.

So what are you trying to accomplish really? Get some kind of validation that you bought the right TV before your 30 day return option is gone?

Frankly, I've never seen a video display problem on a random unit here or there... if a display has a problem, all the units have the same problem. I've seen broken TVs, but they are OBVIOUSLY broken... part of the picture is whacked in some serious way, crack in the panel, no picture at all, won't turn on... etc.