Is there a difference in color patterns? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-20-2014, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Is there a difference in color patterns?

I've been trying out the built in color patterns in Calman and noticed how they're different than the patterns in my Accupel 5000 signal generator.

In Calman, the color patterns have a surround that's the complement color. In the Accupel, the surround is black.

Does anyone know if one is particularly more accurate than the other?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-20-2014, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Greetings

One comes out of your computer and the other one does not. Have you verified that your HDMI output from the computer is outputting reference video? What about your video card? The drivers ...

regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-20-2014, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael TLV View Post
Greetings

One comes out of your computer and the other one does not. Have you verified that your HDMI output from the computer is outputting reference video? What about your video card? The drivers ...

regards
I'm still working on that part of it.
I built a PC specific for calibration with the intent of using the intel graphics from the cpu and compatible motherboard. Making progress but not quite finished.
Thought I could find a tutorial about how to get a video legal signal out of my calibration computer but haven't found it yet.

Trying to button up one detail at a time.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #4 of 6 Old 07-20-2014, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,789
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
I've been trying out the built in color patterns in Calman and noticed how they're different than the patterns in my Accupel 5000 signal generator.

In Calman, the color patterns have a surround that's the complement color. In the Accupel, the surround is black.

Does anyone know if one is particularly more accurate than the other?
Jim, if you set the APL setting to 0 in CM/source/page down/APL slider, the background/surround should also be black like your Accupel.
You probably have already set the window size to what ever you like, (5%,8%,11%).

You also may want to try "Use Windows display calibration", in Color management, advanced tab, reset defaults, advanced tab.

ss

Also you may want to try this. In color management turn off "use my system settings", in advanced tab Device profile set to Rec.709 HDTV.

Last edited by sillysally; 07-20-2014 at 12:11 PM.
sillysally is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-20-2014, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
I'm still working on that part of it.
I built a PC specific for calibration with the intent of using the intel graphics from the cpu and compatible motherboard. Making progress but not quite finished.
Thought I could find a tutorial about how to get a video legal signal out of my calibration computer but haven't found it yet.

Trying to button up one detail at a time.
Have you had a look at this info? It may help.

http://www.lightillusion.com/direct_hdmi.html

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-24-2014, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 362
Jim,

once u get accurate patterns from your patter source, then read this on info why custom patch sets are so useful...

- M

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: CR-250, Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off