How to calibrate CCA on BenQ W1070? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2015, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jimmueller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 14
How to calibrate CCA on BenQ W1070?

I have a BenQ W1070 which I had ISF calibrated a couple of nights ago by the same guy who calibrated my plasma years ago. Although the tech had calibrated Samsung DLP in the past, the BenQ CCA menu structure was bit confusing to us; it wasn't obviously clear how to disable CCA and what to do, if anything, with the Measured values (both colors & "BC1" & "BC2"). So the only thing we did in the CCA was adjust the Desired coordinates and luminance to get the CIE dots as close to the boxes as possible. Was that the correct procedure, and if not, could someone go into detail on the correct procedure on what order to hit each option in the menu during the calibration process?


The only thing I could find on how to calibrate CCA when he was there was this:
http://www.tlvexp.ca/2013/02/c-c-a-in-the-dlp-world/


That link seems to indicate you disable CCA, measure/document all the x,y &Y values for each color, then place those values into the respective Measured fields, then re-enable CCA and place the correct coordinates for the desired gamut into the Desired fields, then re-enable CCA. Then measure and adjust the Desired to correct any error. It would seem as if you could skip placing the correct values in and just jump to manually correcting the error, though. I don't see any mention of the Measured BC1 & BC2 screens, what do you do with those?


Do I need to contact him and go through this again by entering the Measured values first, then re-checking everything else?


Thanks!

Yamaha RX-V2600, Fisher MT-9090, Mitsubishi HS-U80, Pioneer DVL-90, Sony BDP-S550, Nakamichi Dragon, Sony CDP-X555ES, Carver AV-634, Carver TFM-42, Panasonic TC-P54V10, BenQ W1070, Polk SDA-1C mains, Polk CS400i center, Polk Fxi A4 surrounds, Polk RT1A1 surround back, Velodyne F1200
jimmueller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2016, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
jza103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Did you ever figure this out? I have the the same questions regarding CCA and what BC1 and BC2 are.
jza103 is offline  
Old 01-22-2016, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Surfdrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I don't remember that much, since I gave Benq w1070 few months ago, but i THINK that I placed as "desired" the x,y coordinates of the primary colors on the Rec709 gamut, then changing the measured values, while measuring continuously with Chromapure and adjusting accordingly.

I think in order to reflect the changes, you had to get out of the menu and then re-enter, but I'm not sure.
You could always though calibrate on a "user" preset instead of ISF and use the RGB color space.
Surfdrifter is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off