2016 Vizio P Series Calibration Thread - Page 99 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1166Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2941 of 3373 Old 03-17-2017, 04:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2040 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Spent a long time calibrating DV last night and realized that 2pt is better based off of 10% and 80% instead of 30 and 80. I was thinking about how when we use 30% it is actually calibrating the 40% and 45% steps. When I used 10% (which lines up with 30%) I had much better results. Just thought I would throw this out there.....
Edit- I wanted to use 2.4 Gamma because that is what my best preset is with SDR and calibrating this way made 2.4 Gamma also line up great while keeping Backlight at 50.
Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
All that's changing is what Calman is basing the delta on during the 2pt read. With the latest firmware and a reset, the 5% changes 10% readings and 10% changes the 20% readings whereas before it was 5% changed 20% and 10% changed 30% and so on....
I just got another replacement today so I'll be changing the calibration tonight after the family goes to bed.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (3.2.8.3).
My P75-C1 BETA Calibration Settings (3.2.13.3).
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-3.2.13.3), Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One, Wii
NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna and 2x HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2942 of 3373 Old 03-17-2017, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 951 Post(s)
Liked: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
All that's changing is what Calman is basing the delta on during the 2pt read. With the latest firmware and a reset, the 5% changes 10% readings and 10% changes the 20% readings whereas before it was 5% changed 20% and 10% changed 30% and so on....
I just got another replacement today so I'll be changing the calibration tonight after the family goes to bed.
On mine 10% changes 30%. Just have to find what changes what. I think you still want to change whatever equals 30%. I actually changed the offset and gain while on the 11pt screen. I had to increase rgb offsets in 30% which brought the whole low end in line with the EOTF with a 2.4 gamma. I also adjusted gain at the 80% step. Then used 11pt to dial everything else in really well.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #2943 of 3373 Old 03-17-2017, 05:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2040 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
On mine 10% changes 30%. Just have to find what changes what. I think you still want to change whatever equals 30%. I actually changed the offset and gain while on the 11pt screen. I had to increase rgb offsets in 30% which brought the whole low end in line with the EOTF with a 2.4 gamma. I also adjusted gain at the 80% step. Then used 11pt to dial everything else in really well.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Have you performed a factory reset since 3.0.14.0?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (3.2.8.3).
My P75-C1 BETA Calibration Settings (3.2.13.3).
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-3.2.13.3), Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One, Wii
NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna and 2x HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
 
post #2944 of 3373 Old 03-17-2017, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 951 Post(s)
Liked: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Have you performed a factory reset since 3.0.14.0?
Yes, I did.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #2945 of 3373 Old 03-17-2017, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 951 Post(s)
Liked: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Have you performed a factory reset since 3.0.14.0?
I will play with it a little more.....I think raising offset increased black level also, which is bad. I really wish I could have a 2.4 gamma SDR and a 2.1 gamma HDR without changing settings. Guess I'll maybe have to do Calibrated for HDR and Calibrated Dark for SDR......

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #2946 of 3373 Old 03-17-2017, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2040 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
I will play with it a little more.....I think raising offset increased black level also, which is bad. I really wish I could have a 2.4 gamma SDR and a 2.1 gamma HDR without changing settings. Guess I'll maybe have to do Calibrated for HDR and Calibrated Dark for SDR......

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
I calibrated everything at gamma 2.4 and its beautiful. =)
blatz8 likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (3.2.8.3).
My P75-C1 BETA Calibration Settings (3.2.13.3).
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-3.2.13.3), Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One, Wii
NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna and 2x HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #2947 of 3373 Old 03-17-2017, 06:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 951 Post(s)
Liked: 621
SDR is beautiful with 2.4. I did a 10% Window with 20% APL. How did you get your bottom end up with 2.4 gamma in HDR though?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #2948 of 3373 Old 03-17-2017, 09:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chad473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,421
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Are you guys doing flat gamma at 2.4? I haven't done much with the latest firmware yet.

Vizio P50-C1 - My Calibration Settings
Xbox One S 2TB
PS4 Pro 2TB
chad473 is offline  
post #2949 of 3373 Old 03-17-2017, 10:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2040 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
SDR is beautiful with 2.4. I did a 10% Window with 20% APL. How did you get your bottom end up with 2.4 gamma in HDR though?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
No apl. I didn't do anything special. You can see my settings.

...sent from my Axon7 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (3.2.8.3).
My P75-C1 BETA Calibration Settings (3.2.13.3).
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-3.2.13.3), Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One, Wii
NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna and 2x HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #2950 of 3373 Old 03-17-2017, 10:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2040 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by chad473 View Post
Are you guys doing flat gamma at 2.4? I haven't done much with the latest firmware yet.
Yes I'm doing power 2.4 for SDR.

...sent from my Axon7 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (3.2.8.3).
My P75-C1 BETA Calibration Settings (3.2.13.3).
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-3.2.13.3), Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One, Wii
NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna and 2x HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #2951 of 3373 Old 03-19-2017, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Yes I'm doing power 2.4 for SDR.

...sent from my Axon7 using Tapatalk
It boggles my mind how you don't have crushed blacks with gamma 2.4 and no apl calibration.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

=======================================

My P65-C1 Beta Calibration Settings (3.0.13.5)
skschatzman is offline  
post #2952 of 3373 Old 03-19-2017, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2040 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
It boggles my mind how you don't have crushed blacks with gamma 2.4 and no apl calibration.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
If you can calibrate 2.4 without apl you have a better chance of not having black crush.

...sent from my Axon7 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (3.2.8.3).
My P75-C1 BETA Calibration Settings (3.2.13.3).
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-3.2.13.3), Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One, Wii
NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna and 2x HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #2953 of 3373 Old 03-19-2017, 02:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys - I'm looking for some help.

Just picked up the p65, and now I'm trying to get it set up properly but I'm confused/ having some trouble. I've read a bunch and tried different options but still have some trouble...

I almost exclusively use it with my xbox one s for netflix and video games, so I've got it hooked up to HDMI 5 which is what I read was best for lower input lag.

The "game" mode seems to make everything really green, whereas the "calibrated" and "calibrated dark" modes make everything look yellowish (i've tried a few different settings for cal dark from this thread). Is that how they're supposed to look? The default viewing setting ("standard" I think it's called) looks amazing to me...

Can I play on the Standard picture setting with game-low latency on and have similar input-lag? Are my "calibrated" modes supposed to look like that? Should I switch my xbox one s from HDMI 5 to HDMI 1 since HDMI 5 (I don't think) has HDR support?

I want to make sure I'm getting the most out of this TV.

Thank you!!
lordhil is offline  
post #2954 of 3373 Old 03-19-2017, 03:57 PM
Senior Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordhil View Post
Hey guys - I'm looking for some help.

Just picked up the p65, and now I'm trying to get it set up properly but I'm confused/ having some trouble. I've read a bunch and tried different options but still have some trouble...

I almost exclusively use it with my xbox one s for netflix and video games, so I've got it hooked up to HDMI 5 which is what I read was best for lower input lag.

The "game" mode seems to make everything really green, whereas the "calibrated" and "calibrated dark" modes make everything look yellowish (i've tried a few different settings for cal dark from this thread). Is that how they're supposed to look? The default viewing setting ("standard" I think it's called) looks amazing to me...

Can I play on the Standard picture setting with game-low latency on and have similar input-lag? Are my "calibrated" modes supposed to look like that? Should I switch my xbox one s from HDMI 5 to HDMI 1 since HDMI 5 (I don't think) has HDR support?

I want to make sure I'm getting the most out of this TV.

Thank you!!
Port 5 is for competitive gaming. Otherwise I would connect it to 1-4. The difference in latency is miniscule and 99% of gamers won't notice a difference. No HDR on port 5, but you can still do 4k @ 60hz.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
lordhil likes this.

=======================================

My P65-C1 Beta Calibration Settings (3.0.13.5)
skschatzman is offline  
post #2955 of 3373 Old 03-20-2017, 06:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Port 5 is for competitive gaming. Otherwise I would connect it to 1-4. The difference in latency is miniscule and 99% of gamers won't notice a difference. No HDR on port 5, but you can still do 4k @ 60hz.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
Thanks! I'll just switch it over when I play comp.

As for the colours that I was talking about... do you have any advice on that? Does the "calibrated dark" seem more yellowish than the "standard" setting? And will it impact visuals if I put on gaming low-latency on "calibrated dark" on HDMI 1 for example?

Thanks again!
lordhil is offline  
post #2956 of 3373 Old 03-20-2017, 10:03 AM
Member
 
wetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordhil View Post
Thanks! I'll just switch it over when I play comp.

As for the colours that I was talking about... do you have any advice on that? Does the "calibrated dark" seem more yellowish than the "standard" setting? And will it impact visuals if I put on gaming low-latency on "calibrated dark" on HDMI 1 for example?

Thanks again!


Calibrated and Calibrated Dark should default to the "Normal" color setting. This should be close to the standard (as in industry standard) color temperature of white 6500 deg. kelvin. If you haven't been watching at this color setting before, it can appear yellowish, but you will quickly get used to it; give it a couple days. This is how films are meant to be watched.


When I got my new set, I moved the old one to another room, where the input defaulted to Standard mode. My wife immediately commented, "Wow, that looks blue." I have never been so proud of her. She has no interest in this stuff.
k124 likes this.
wetech is offline  
post #2957 of 3373 Old 03-20-2017, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
k124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 77
So happy to hear lots of folks are using flat power law gamma! I think this set looks much better with it vs. BT.1886 (which seems to have been invented for sets with poor black levels! no need for that here folks!)

Re: those calibrating to 2.4 - assume you are setting the picture mode Gamma to 2.4 and adjusting from there, yes?

The really nice thing is that if you calibrate to one gamma setting - you can always adjust the gamma depending on the content you are viewing! and backlight as well of course.
k124 is offline  
post #2958 of 3373 Old 03-20-2017, 09:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2040 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by k124 View Post
So happy to hear lots of folks are using flat power law gamma! I think this set looks much better with it vs. BT.1886 (which seems to have been invented for sets with poor black levels! no need for that here folks!)

Re: those calibrating to 2.4 - assume you are setting the picture mode Gamma to 2.4 and adjusting from there, yes?

The really nice thing is that if you calibrate to one gamma setting - you can always adjust the gamma depending on the content you are viewing! and backlight as well of course.
Yes Power 2.4 in CalMAN and 2.4 setting on the Display.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (3.2.8.3).
My P75-C1 BETA Calibration Settings (3.2.13.3).
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-3.2.13.3), Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One, Wii
NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna and 2x HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #2959 of 3373 Old 03-21-2017, 06:48 AM
Member
 
ryu4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Does it matter what size settings you use? I have 55 should i stick with 55 settings or try 65 or 75 i know every panel is different but i use the 55 settings right now its really nice.
ryu4000 is offline  
post #2960 of 3373 Old 03-21-2017, 08:46 AM
Member
 
wetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryu4000 View Post
Does it matter what size settings you use? I have 55 should i stick with 55 settings or try 65 or 75 i know every panel is different but i use the 55 settings right now its really nice.
So you're asking if size matters?
wetech is offline  
post #2961 of 3373 Old 03-21-2017, 09:09 AM
Member
 
ryu4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wetech View Post
So you're asking if size matters?
Yeah since i have 55 inch say i use the 65inch settings it won't make the tv look far worse since these 2 uses different panels.
ryu4000 is offline  
post #2962 of 3373 Old 03-21-2017, 09:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16,249
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4650 Post(s)
Liked: 4146
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryu4000 View Post
Yeah since i have 55 inch say i use the 65inch settings it won't make the tv look far worse since these 2 uses different panels.


It is ALWAYS recommend if you are going to copy, copy from someone that has the same size and firmware that you have. Copying can make it look worse as calibration (especially advanced CMS/11pt) are panel (to the you own) specific. The good thing is you can always reset and start from scratch.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shoman94 and thomasfxlt like this.
Ph8te is offline  
post #2963 of 3373 Old 03-21-2017, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
geodon005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mt. Prospect, IL
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
SDR is beautiful with 2.4. I did a 10% Window with 20% APL. How did you get your bottom end up with 2.4 gamma in HDR though?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Most of my viewing is in SDR . . .your current settings are at 2.2; could you post any changes you would make to 2.4?
geodon005 is offline  
post #2964 of 3373 Old 03-22-2017, 02:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: PNW
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 7
I just got my HD fury in I hooked it up with DVDO got it setup I did a quick run to see how the EOTF was and followed perfectly until the roll off. I just need to re-profile my C6 with ipro to do a new calibration. I will take some screen caps post my results here soon.

P55-C1, Oppo UDH-203, Pioneer AVR, Pioneer Speaker 7.2, Monster Home Theatre Reference PowerCenter, Amazon Basics HDMI cables
Calibration DIY Calman Enthusiast, C6 HDR Meter, AVLabs TPG, HD Fury, and meter profiled with X-Rite iPro2
LittleNickySantoro is offline  
post #2965 of 3373 Old 03-22-2017, 04:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2040 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleNickySantoro View Post
I just got my HD fury in I hooked it up with DVDO got it setup I did a quick run to see how the EOTF was and followed perfectly until the roll off. I just need to re-profile my C6 with ipro to do a new calibration. I will take some screen caps post my results here soon.
There is no roll off standard for HDR10. So it will never follow that line there.

...sent from my Axon7 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (3.2.8.3).
My P75-C1 BETA Calibration Settings (3.2.13.3).
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-3.2.13.3), Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One, Wii
NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna and 2x HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #2966 of 3373 Old 03-22-2017, 04:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2040 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
I can't remember if I posted an updated one but here is the latest 11pt matchup for adjusting HDR. These new settings came to be after 3.0.14.0 and a full factory reset.


...sent from my Axon7 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (3.2.8.3).
My P75-C1 BETA Calibration Settings (3.2.13.3).
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-3.2.13.3), Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One, Wii
NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna and 2x HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #2967 of 3373 Old 03-22-2017, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Have you performed a factory reset since 3.0.14.0?
Just wondering why it's recommended to do a factory reset before recalibrating? Factory reset on both tv and tablet? Where do I find directions for both?
Moses760 is offline  
post #2968 of 3373 Old 03-22-2017, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2040 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moses760 View Post
Just wondering why it's recommended to do a factory reset before recalibrating? Factory reset on both tv and tablet? Where do I find directions for both?
I'm only talking about the Display itself not the tablet. You can do that through the Smartcast app in the Display settings.
Moses760 likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (3.2.8.3).
My P75-C1 BETA Calibration Settings (3.2.13.3).
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-3.2.13.3), Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One, Wii
NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna and 2x HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #2969 of 3373 Old 03-23-2017, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 951 Post(s)
Liked: 621
Updated SDR, Calibrated to BT.1886 with FALD On and 10% Windows with 20% APL. Best picture I have seen out of my display yet. APL makes blacks a more realistic value. I will update DV a little later. I am not able to calibrate HDR10 at the moment because I no longer have my Roku Ultra to throw up the patterns.

Sent from my SM-J320V using Tapatalk
naustin and mikestr like this.
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #2970 of 3373 Old 03-24-2017, 06:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 951 Post(s)
Liked: 621
@shoman94 How did you do the HDR10 patterns when you were casting them to the Chromecast Ultra? Download patterns to your phone?

Sent from my SM-J320V using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off