LightSpace Connect - Android and iOS App - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 74 Old 01-09-2017, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 796
LightSpace Connect - Android and iOS App

Just a bit of advance news for those using LightSpace CMS.

We're presently playing with an Alpha version of a new Android/iOS patch generator App for LightSpace.
At the moment we have just the Android version under test (mainly 'cos I don't like Apple stuff, so will have to locate some for testing...), but initial tests look good.

The App should run on Android and Apple mobile phones, Firestick, Chromecast, AppleTV, etc.
(Probably some restrictions depending on the device used, but that's yet to be proven.)

Testing at the moment has been on a Samsung Galaxy S5, both profiling the phone screen, as well as profiling a TV via Screen Mirroring and MHL HDMI cable.

Not yet sure on a release date, as more testing is required, but felt the LightSpace CMS users here would like an advanced update.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 74 Old 01-23-2017, 01:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 796
A beta version of LightSpace Connect for Android is now available:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...nnect&hl=en_GB

There is some user info here: http://www.lightillusion.com/lightsp...ct_manual.html

It can be used with the Free DPS version of LightSpace.

An iOS version will be made available shortly.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #3 of 74 Old 01-25-2017, 03:46 AM
Member
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I side loaded the app from my phone to an Amazon fire tv stick, had to load the mouse app from toptutorials.co.uk to the fire stick in order to navigate through the app, for setting the required information.
Once all was setup, I ran a manual calibration on 2 point and gamut. Best results I have achieved with Lightspace so far (I have only had the software for a few days) and the best performance from my display to date. Now for the 3dlut.

Thank you for making this app available as I realized that my pc outputs the green channel to level 238 max and was not getting acceptable results

Only one question, should closed loop or dip mode be used?
ivan2011 is offline  
 
post #4 of 74 Old 01-26-2017, 12:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Closed loop should always be used when the patches are directly controlled from LightSpace CMS, which is the case with the 'LightSpace Connect' app.

Grad you like it.
And great to hear you are getting good results.

I'm testing the iOS version at the moment, having done a lot of Android testing over the past few weeks.

I like the idea of the mouse, but but I'll also look to see if we can find a way to manage the app without that need.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION


Last edited by Light Illusion; 01-27-2017 at 11:50 AM.
Light Illusion is offline  
post #5 of 74 Old 02-02-2017, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,437
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1671 Post(s)
Liked: 2082
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan2011 View Post
Only one question, should closed loop or dip mode be used?
Hi, a note about these 2 modes (Closed Loop / DIP):

DIP mode (Display Independent Profiling) is including an internal delay of 0.5 sec (500ms) which gives command to your meter to read each patch 0.5sec after it’s been displayed.

Closed Look don't have any internal delay, so you have to add that delay @ meter options. If you set 0.5 sec extra delay, you will have 0.5 delay in total before each meter read.

In DIP mode, if you set 0.5 sec extra delay then you will have 1 sec delay in total. (because DIP mode has 0.5sec integrated already)

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #6 of 74 Old 02-15-2017, 05:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 796
The LightSpace Connect App can now be used on Fire TV and Google TV devices as well as Android and iOS smartphones/tablets, and can be downloaded via the Apple Store, Google Play Store, and Amazon.

We have also added 'auto IP address search' to make connection a lot easier.

See: http://www.lightillusion.com/lightspace_connect.html for more information.

Steve
bigapp likes this.

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #7 of 74 Old 02-15-2017, 06:49 AM
Member
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It also works well on Raspberry Pi 3b, with the android tv os.
ivan2011 is offline  
post #8 of 74 Old 02-16-2017, 04:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan2011 View Post
It also works well on Raspberry Pi 3b, with the android tv os.
Oh, great! I'll have to add that to the supported options


Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #9 of 74 Old 08-16-2017, 04:35 AM
Member
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Is it now necessary to purchase lightspace connect for full use even although lightspace has been purchased?
ivan2011 is offline  
post #10 of 74 Old 08-16-2017, 05:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan2011 View Post
Is it now necessary to purchase lightspace connect for full use even although lightspace has been purchased?
LightSpace Connect is a separate program, so yes, needs to be purchased if you want to use it fully, as the website does say.

But, it really is not expensive at all...

This is no different that using/purchasing SpaceMan for ICC generation, or SpaceMatch for VCGT management.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #11 of 74 Old 08-16-2017, 05:56 AM
Member
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yhe, I have just purchased it and been eyeballing the levels.

Wondering if there is some scaling going on, since the fire stick video output levels are rgb limited, I have noticed that the levels below 16 and above 235 appear to be passing to the display. I also noticed a new feature, the patch scale option in the options menu. How would one adjust this option if the input were rgb full or YCbCr limited?
ivan2011 is offline  
post #12 of 74 Old 08-16-2017, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 796
You need to understand what you entire image patch is doing.
Just because LightSpace is sending 0-255 range doesn't mean that the TV will be receiving that.
For example, with graphics cards/chip sets the EDID communication between the TV and the graphic cards will cause the range to automatically be rescaled to 16-235.
You need to know if that is happening automatically or not.

If not, you would see any patch with a value below 16 clipped to the same output level on the screen, and the same with white with any patch above 235.
If you see that you would need to use the 'Patch Scale' option to set a 16-235 rescaling within LightSpace.

Does that help?

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #13 of 74 Old 08-16-2017, 06:42 AM
Member
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
That helps thanks, so in an ideal setup below 16 and above 235 should be seen to not clip and show levels changing all the way from
0->255.

Thanks
ivan2011 is offline  
post #14 of 74 Old 08-16-2017, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,437
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1671 Post(s)
Liked: 2082
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan2011 View Post
Yhe, I have just purchased it and been eyeballing the levels.

Wondering if there is some scaling going on, since the fire stick video output levels are rgb limited, I have noticed that the levels below 16 and above 235 appear to be passing to the display. I also noticed a new feature, the patch scale option in the options menu. How would one adjust this option if the input were rgb full or YCbCr limited?
Hi, about the FireStick, it outputs RGB signal @ 1080p60, you can't change colorspace or frame rate, it's locked.... it's looking your display's EDID to decide what levels to display; 16-235 or 0-255.

FireStick when it's been used to generate patterns for video levels, then is compressing 0-255 to 16-235, so it can generate any RGB Triplet combination between 16-235 range, not 0-15 or 236-254.

You will still need a calibration disk to set or check Contast/Brightness in a setup that you will use FireStick as a pattern generator.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #15 of 74 Old 08-16-2017, 09:37 PM
Member
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, about the FireStick, it outputs RGB signal @ 1080p60, you can't change colorspace or frame rate, it's locked.... it's looking your display's EDID to decide what levels to display; 16-235 or 0-255.

FireStick when it's been used to generate patterns for video levels, then is compressing 0-255 to 16-235, so it can generate any RGB Triplet combination between 16-235 range, not 0-15 or 236-254......
Able to select between 720p 50 or 60, 1080p 50 or 60 or auto. If the tv hdmi black level (Samsung set to low) is set to expect rgb limited (the input from fire stick in my case) the tv scales 16 to 0 and 235 to 255.

When input rgb limited through pre/pro that only outputs YcbCr 0 to 16 and 235 to 255 is clipped black level at tv is locked (greyed out) at tv.

When output full rgb to tv (tv black level set to normal) tv scales to 16 and 235 properly ie patches are present below 16 and above 235. When the tv is set to low with black level at low (full rgb input) below 16 and above 235 is clipped.

I have compared with TED's calibration disk the full RGB and tv black level set to normal and they match, will test with fire stick as soonest.
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
ivan2011 is offline  
post #16 of 74 Old 08-23-2017, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,437
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1671 Post(s)
Liked: 2082
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan2011 View Post
Able to select between 720p 50 or 60, 1080p 50 or 60 or auto. If the tv hdmi black level (Samsung set to low) is set to expect rgb limited (the input from fire stick in my case) the tv scales 16 to 0 and 235 to 255.

When input rgb limited through pre/pro that only outputs YcbCr 0 to 16 and 235 to 255 is clipped black level at tv is locked (greyed out) at tv.

When output full rgb to tv (tv black level set to normal) tv scales to 16 and 235 properly ie patches are present below 16 and above 235. When the tv is set to low with black level at low (full rgb input) below 16 and above 235 is clipped.

I have compared with TED's calibration disk the full RGB and tv black level set to normal and they match, will test with fire stick as soonest.
Thanks for the info Ivan,

The details I posted above have to do with what FireStick is doing with CalMAN, since its the same hardware, but good to know that you have more options with LightSpace.

Ted.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #17 of 74 Old 08-23-2017, 02:56 PM
Newbie
 
anqgiap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan2011 View Post
Able to select between 720p 50 or 60, 1080p 50 or 60 or auto. If the tv hdmi black level (Samsung set to low) is set to expect rgb limited (the input from fire stick in my case) the tv scales 16 to 0 and 235 to 255.

When input rgb limited through pre/pro that only outputs YcbCr 0 to 16 and 235 to 255 is clipped black level at tv is locked (greyed out) at tv.

When output full rgb to tv (tv black level set to normal) tv scales to 16 and 235 properly ie patches are present below 16 and above 235. When the tv is set to low with black level at low (full rgb input) below 16 and above 235 is clipped.

I have compared with TED's calibration disk the full RGB and tv black level set to normal and they match, will test with fire stick as soonest.
I also just got the firestick and LS connect to work with LS laptop. Quick question, where in the LS CMS I can select RGB-Video (RGB Limited) 1080P pattern and send it to the screen via firestick?
anqgiap is offline  
post #18 of 74 Old 08-25-2017, 01:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 796
To set 0-255, or 16-235 you use the Patch Scale settings in 'Options'.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #19 of 74 Old 08-25-2017, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 646 Post(s)
Liked: 308
So you just download LS Connect to the firestick and plug it into the TV USB?
Pres2play is offline  
post #20 of 74 Old 08-25-2017, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 796
You can download from the links here: https://www.lightillusion.com/lightspace_connect.html

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #21 of 74 Old 08-25-2017, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 646 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Any firestick will do?

What about HDR patterns?

Last edited by Pres2play; 08-25-2017 at 02:32 PM.
Pres2play is offline  
post #22 of 74 Old 08-25-2017, 02:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,437
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1671 Post(s)
Liked: 2082
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post
Any firestick will do?

What about HDR patterns?
Hi, it has a list of devices which are supported to the link Steve posted.

To add HDR10 metadata infoframe, you can get the HD Fury Linker or Integral and connect it between your display and the firestick for example.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #23 of 74 Old 08-25-2017, 03:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 646 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Ok, thanks!

Can't wait to try it tomorrow.
Pres2play is offline  
post #24 of 74 Old 08-26-2017, 08:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 646 Post(s)
Liked: 308
LightSpace Connect is not connecting...



Enable is selected in Network Manager.

Edit: nevermind. Didn't have Java installed.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0511.JPG (42.1 KB, 95 views)

Last edited by Pres2play; 08-26-2017 at 08:50 PM.
Pres2play is offline  
post #25 of 74 Old 08-26-2017, 11:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 646 Post(s)
Liked: 308
I have Java running but I still can't get connected. The furthest I got was buying unlimited version of LightSpace Connect.
I can't even get the it to work in extended mode via HDMI. All I get is an empty black Java window, which opens full screen when I click on it. What is the version of LS with the Java window?
Pres2play is offline  
post #26 of 74 Old 08-27-2017, 02:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 796
All LightSpace version work with the Java App and LightSpace Connect...
You need to use the Network Manager to make the connection - there is info on the website.

https://www.lightillusion.com/direct_profiling.html
https://www.lightillusion.com/lights...ct_manual.html

And in the User Manual.

https://www.lightillusion.com/profil...etwork_manager

The 'connection' between LightSpace and the Java App (Calibration Client) and LightSpace Connect is basically the same - using the Network Manager.

If you do not get a connection across two PCs with the Java App, or to the LightSpace Connect app on an phone, check your firewall settings. That is the most likely issue (or not having Java installed for the Java App!).

In Extended Desktop mode use 'Localhost' as the 'IP address' in the Java App

Edited to add: I'll add a specific User Guide for the Java App, as that probably would help...
Give me an hour or so.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION


Last edited by Light Illusion; 08-27-2017 at 03:27 AM.
Light Illusion is offline  
post #27 of 74 Old 08-27-2017, 04:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 796
New User Guide added: https://www.lightillusion.com/java_app_manual.html

Let me know if I've missed anything...

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #28 of 74 Old 08-27-2017, 07:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 646 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Thanks for the info. I will try again this evening.

Edit: just took a quick look at the Guide. Is there more than one file in the Calibration Client folder? I recall seeing three files. I chose the first file.

I'll have a look at that again when I get home.

Last edited by Pres2play; 08-27-2017 at 09:17 AM.
Pres2play is offline  
post #29 of 74 Old 08-28-2017, 01:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 646 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Re-installed LS with Java now running and that did the trick! The connection time is fast.

The network connection feature on the firestick is great. Just have to remember to set a small delay for the meter reading, but I love it!

Steve, the patch size resets to 36% (I believe it is) whenever I open the network window. I would like to keep the patch size at 10%

Bravo, Steve on the patch generation changes you have made. That's one heck of an improvement. I don't have to resize or center the windows manually anymore. Hip-hip hurray!!!
Light Illusion likes this.
Pres2play is offline  
post #30 of 74 Old 08-28-2017, 02:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Great to hear you are liking the new options.
Are you using the LightSpace Connect app, or the Java App, or both???
And I'll look into saving the patch size setting - I can't see why that isn't possible (although the Dev. team may shoot me down...).

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off