eecolor + DisplayCAL -> 3DLUT - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By sillysally
  • 1 Post By DrFaxe
  • 1 Post By sillysally
  • 1 Post By ConnecTEDDD
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 04-12-2017, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 95
eecolor + DisplayCAL -> 3DLUT

is anyone using the eecolor box with DisplayCal 3.2.x for creating 3DLUTs?
Looking at https://hub.displaycal.net/wiki/3d-l...vr-or-eecolor/
it seems pretty simple or am I missing something?
My display is a Samsung Plasma 64F8500 and I have a i1 DisplayPro colorimeter
and looking to use it for plain 1080p only.
rickardl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 04-12-2017, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,955
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1018 Post(s)
Liked: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
is anyone using the eecolor box with DisplayCal 3.2.x for creating 3DLUTs?
Looking at https://hub.displaycal.net/wiki/3d-l...vr-or-eecolor/
it seems pretty simple or am I missing something?
My display is a Samsung Plasma 64F8500 and I have a i1 DisplayPro colorimeter
and looking to use it for plain 1080p only.
Its pretty easy to use. May take you a few treys so run a small profile at first.

ss
rickardl likes this.

"Don't worry be happy"
sillysally is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 04-13-2017, 01:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
Its pretty easy to use. May take you a few treys so run a small profile at first.

ss
Thanks, and there is no need for the manual steps outlined here? eeColor processor - ArgyllCMS
I understand Argyll CMS is included in DisplayCAL but there is no need to use MadVR, MadTPG, TruVue?
rickardl is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 Old 04-13-2017, 03:09 AM
Senior Member
 
DrFaxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Hi,

ArgyllCMS and DisplayCal are 2 separate programs, you will need both. DisplayCal is only a GUI for ArgyllCMS. You need the TrueVue App to upload the LUT files into the eecolor box, Argyll or DisplayCal can't write in the eecolor memory directly. Mad TPG is highly recommended, because of it's dithering. Assuming You want to calibrate for video, just force Your GPU to output 0-255 and select 16-235 in the display settings of Mad TPG. Make sure You select the right display, if eecolor is attached it shows SSI-Repeater.
The mentioned eecolor processor - ArgyllCMS thread shows everyting You need and what to do.
rickardl likes this.

S/W: LightSpace HCC, Calman 5, DisplayCal/ArgyllCMS
H/W: CR-100, I1Pro2, I1D3, eeColor, RB8 Generator
Tools: ControlCal, Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk
DrFaxe is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-13-2017, 04:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,955
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1018 Post(s)
Liked: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
Thanks, and there is no need for the manual steps outlined here? eeColor processor - ArgyllCMS
I understand Argyll CMS is included in DisplayCAL but there is no need to use MadVR, MadTPG, TruVue?
Yes just use the packaged setup "DisplayCAL via Zero Install".
You don't have to use madTPG, there is a color patch generator that is incorporated in argyllCMS, although I would recommend madTPG to use with dispcalGUI.. madTPG works very well once you have it setup.

The hardest thing when first starting out using argyllCMS/dispcalGUI is setting up the three main components, argyllCMS, dispcalGUI and madTPG. You should read and use this link for setup, https://displaycal.net/#settingsfile.

Unless dispcalGUI has changed you will need truVue to transfer your cLUT from your PC to eecolor.

Understand argyllCMS/dispcalGUI/madTPG are made by three different guys, but fhoech (dispcalGUI) has done a very good job of combining these three different software's into a package.
Here is a link encase you have a problem setting up madVR/TPG MadVR - ArgyllCMS
'madshi' is the creator of madVR/TPG (TPG is the part of that software that you will use for patch generator) and is active on that thread.

Do yourself a solid and take your time setting up and a basic understanding these three components. Once you have that you will be able to make a cLUT as good as the pros. If you enjoy doing profiling/calibration you may want to get a I1pro (spectro meter) and that way you can make your own meter matrix for the display you are working on, as the pros should also do.

The alternative is to buy LightSpace that is a very well supported software and is made by Steve and his crew for making cLUT's.

ss
rickardl likes this.

"Don't worry be happy"

Last edited by sillysally; 04-13-2017 at 05:21 AM.
sillysally is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-13-2017, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Thanks!


I installed DisplayCAL and when launched, it updated ArgyllCMS to the latest version.
I did a quick calibration with the included pattern generator using the min number of patches and could write out a 3DLUT .txt file for eecolor.
Outstanding. Now I only need a deck of cards. And order the eecolor... will think about it...
rickardl is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-13-2017, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,539
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1733 Post(s)
Liked: 2138
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
Thanks!


I installed DisplayCAL and when launched, it updated ArgyllCMS to the latest version.
I did a quick calibration with the included pattern generator using the min number of patches and could write out a 3DLUT .txt file for eecolor.
Outstanding. Now I only need a deck of cards. And order the eecolor... will think about it...
Hi,

You can download the TruVue Application Software Version 2 from here: http://www.displaycalibrations.com/f..._Version_2.zip

Here you can download the latest FTDI VCP CDM communication drivers for the eeColor: http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm

-----------------------------

Your software will export some files after 3D LUT generation, locate the large TXT file (about 14-15MB) and rename it to 3DLUT_1.txt if you want to be uploaded to Slot 1 of the eeColor.

After that you will use the TruVue eeColor Application Software to upload the 3D LUT table to eeColor memory.

You have to paste that 3DLUT_1.txt file to the TruVue eeColor Application Software installation directory: ''C:\Program Files\Entertainment Experience LLC\TruVue eeColor Application\Data\3dtable\standard nonrgb led\General Media''

Here you can see where you have to click upload custom 3D LUT correction table to eeColor:



You can create to your desktop a shortcut that will bring you very quick the correct folder to place there the custom eeColor TXT files.

(you can browse for custom icon and load one of the eeColor DownLoadTable.exe files you see inside the TruVue eeColor Application directory to bring you an eeColor icon for that shortcut)

As destination for that shortcut (for my Windows 10 64bit) is: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Entertainment Experience LLC\TruVue eeColor Application\Data\3dtable\standard nonrgb led\General Media"
rickardl likes this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-27-2017, 08:26 AM
Member
 
Alaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi There,

I'm on a similar journey. I got my eecolor box through a few days ago as my Mitsubishi HC5 (HC9000) has mediocre CMS built in. I've done a lot of downloading and am playing with Displaycal, Argyll and MadTPG. It's a fair ol' learning curve. I'm reading through the various threads, though things don't half go off topic quickly with people mentioning various other paid software, arguing which is better, the size of the patch set and all sorts. Fair bit on command line Argyll too which seems a little outdated (though powerful and the basis of displaycal).
Closest thing to a modern work through i've found is http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...-under-1k.html on another forum!

My net-top isn't particularly powerful and my ColormunkiDisplay is on the slow side, but i'm getting there!

I've run a few profiles through and downloaded them into the eecolor box (also slow) and things are looking promising. However checking a quick RGB/GS in HCFR shows that some curves are much better and point hit on the CIE chart, but oddly the RGB GS chart i'm used to tweaking RGB into a flat line in old style calibration isn't any where near the ruler flat i'd expect!

I've also an odd issue that MADTPG via Displaycal errors out saying the levels are wrong. I've used the extra .exe tweaker (no longer click the icon for display properties, that foxed me for a while) and moved it to my extended display and hit force 0-255 but that seemed to make little difference. PJ is Standard level (not extended) and i'm calibrating for 16-235 as per guides - However the DisplayCal test patterns run!

Lee

Lee Edward Armstrong
My Clothes Will Impress You, And My Claws Will Undress You. - The Damned
Alaric is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-30-2017, 07:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 866
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaric View Post
I've also an odd issue that MADTPG via Displaycal errors out saying the levels are wrong. I've used the extra .exe tweaker (no longer click the icon for display properties, that foxed me for a while) and moved it to my extended display and hit force 0-255 but that seemed to make little difference.
Note that you need to change the output levels configuration via the madVR options (right-click the madVR tray icon, choose "Edit settings", select your device under "devices", change output levels to "TV levels" under properties), if you're forcing full range (0-255) via the graphics card drivers.

DisplayCAL - Graphical front-end for Argyll CMS display calibration and characterization
Current stable version 3.3.5 released 2017-10-18
Previous development snapshot (OUTDATED): 3.2.9 Beta (Windows/0install) released 2017-05-23 | Standalone | Changelog
DisplayCAL on Facebook
fhoech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off