Panasonic PHD8UK (or 7UY) settings - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 09-28-2005, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are good starting point settings on these commercial models?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 09-28-2005, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 132
The best way is to have a qualified calibrater do the adjsutments. I have a 50PHD7UY and all the fiddling I did to it go nowhere close to how it looks after calibration. Theuser settings and even the advanced menu do little to correct the gray scale. The set looks great out of the box and absolutely fantastic after a good calibration.
post #3 of 5 Old 10-05-2005, 02:10 PM

I posted my experience in the plasma section but I need to edit it to reflect latest experience.

Cut a long story short... my problem was the colour level coming out of the HT PC over DVI (and the OPPO DVD player over component). With no Colour control available on the DVI input I was trying to correct what appeared to be too high red and green with the advanced R & B controls...

Eventually I cut the saturation level on the PC desktop (Ati radeon 9200) from 100 to 82
With Display on "Cinema" setting
Increased Picture from 10 to 11
and Brightness from 0 to 1
in Advanced: change Gamma from 2.2 to 2.0

This was checked over a few different films and trying to keep as much detail visible in the shadow areas.

Now it's pretty good, especially with the upscaled image from the PC at 1024 x 768 (1:1).
But I did just notice some scaling errors on Bugs life which disappeared when switching to the wider desktop (for same vertical height) Think it was 1280 x 768, for only a slight reduction in sharpness.

I found a ISF calibrator lives round the corner and he'll calibrate for 240$

Steve
post #4 of 5 Old 10-05-2005, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter

So PHD8UK DVI input has no color/tint control????

That is quite disappointing.