Which Drives and Cuts, plus other questions about calibrating a Sony CRT - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 10-02-2005, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let me start with a little background. I've been a long time user of the Colorvision Spyder for my PC. I do a lot of photographic printing and use the Spyder as part of my calibration process. So I've become very familiar with color temperature, CIE charts, color workspace, gamma, etc. I also have a 36" Sony CRT that I've adjusted trying either Avia or (the original) Video Essentials. So I went and got the SpyderTV and Spyder2PRO upgrade - not only for my photographic work - but in the hopes that I will be able to tweak my set a bit closer to standard.

One of the first things I did when I got the TV was go into service mode and write down the value of every single setting. I'm an electrical engineer by trade so I usually dive into the lowest detail of anything I wind up buying. I also appreciate not changing anything until I have the tools and the understanding to do it.

My DVD player is hooked up to the Sony Video4 input (component). In looking at the service codes I see there are separate Drives and Cuts for the Video4 input. No problem. But then I also find that there is another set of separate Drives and Cuts for "Warm Color Temperature Offset". Now that got me a little confused. I am in fact using the "Warm" setting for Video4, so which Drives/Cuts should I use when calibrating?

And while I've read many of the threads here over the last few months (yes, I tend to plan things out), there are some practical concerns that I haven't been able to get the clearest handle on. So I have some more questions about calibrating a CRT TV:

1) In general, is it better to calibrate the primaries before the greyscale, or the other way around? (edit) Ignore this question, as Chris straightened me out about CRTs not having primary adjustment controls.