SpyderTV Pro reviews. - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 322 Old 01-31-2007, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HappyFunBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SpyderTVPro prompts me to change gain/driver and cuts/bias/offsets for each color. My display has brightness and contrast (as well as gamma) for each color. So does brightness and contrast map into those other names?
HappyFunBoater is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 322 Old 01-31-2007, 03:13 PM
slb
AVS Special Member
 
slb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco North Bay
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, RGB cuts/bias/offsets are the same as RGB brightness; RGB gains/drives are the same as RGB contrast.
slb is offline  
post #303 of 322 Old 01-31-2007, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HappyFunBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slb View Post

Yes, RGB cuts/bias/offsets are the same as RGB brightness; RGB gains/drives are the same as RGB contrast.

Man I love the AVS forum. Ask a question and minutes later a stranger in another part of the world answers it. Wow. That's just excellent. Thank you.

(Unfortunately I guessed the other way round, which could explain why I was stuggling to adjust the color. OK, time to try again...)
HappyFunBoater is offline  
post #304 of 322 Old 02-04-2007, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HappyFunBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I've been using SpyderTVPro for a few days and am thoroughly enjoining it. I think my picture is looking very good.

But I'm a little confused about the order of things in the Spyder wizard. I go through the RBG settings first, adjusting Gain and Bias, and I assume by the end of this phase I have "perfect" color. I've got all percentages within 1% of 100%. But then the wizard helps me change Color and Tint. Why does this need to be checked? Haven't I already set the color accurately? I'm worried that after I go through Color and Tint then it will screw things up and I need to go back though the RGB Gain and Bias.

Can someone explain this? Thanks.
HappyFunBoater is offline  
post #305 of 322 Old 02-04-2007, 01:24 PM
slb
AVS Special Member
 
slb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco North Bay
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
By adjusting the RGB settings, you are calibrating the gray scale. Color and tint are used for setting the color. Picture coloration is added on top of the gray scale. While the gray scale does affect the displayed colors, color and tint do not affect the gray scale. Think of the gray scale as a sheet of paper over which water colors are applied to create a color picture. Adjusting the grayscale is like selecting the color of the paper, while adjusting the color decoding is like selecting the color pallete of the paints.

-Steve
slb is offline  
post #306 of 322 Old 02-04-2007, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HappyFunBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah, I see. So changing Color or Tint should change all colors equally, keeping the gray scale constant (if that's the right phrase)?
HappyFunBoater is offline  
post #307 of 322 Old 02-13-2007, 04:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
orion456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If SpyderTV is hung on the tv screen, how does it see the whole screen or are the test patterns just displayed in the center? Do you see what SpyderTV sees on the screen, or just the charts?
orion456 is offline  
post #308 of 322 Old 02-17-2007, 04:00 AM
Newbie
 
machu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question to the owners of the SpyderTVPro.

I know that US market version comes with NTSC test pattern and Instructions DVD.

Does it also include a PAL DVD disc?
machu1 is offline  
post #309 of 322 Old 02-17-2007, 04:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by machu1 View Post

Question to the owners of the SpyderTVPro.

I know that US market version comes with NTSC test pattern and Instructions DVD.

Does it also include a PAL DVD disc?

Yes.
Xylon is offline  
post #310 of 322 Old 02-17-2007, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Lylepdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm hoping some of you Spyder owners are on the RS-1 pre-buy list.

I searched the thread for RS-1 and got no results so if there is a long discussion please point me there.

My question is given the somewhat limited user available calibration adjustments does it make sense to buy this calibration system or any at all assuming JVC never enhances the calibration options?

(There is a lot of chatter around JVC eventually giving access to the LUTs and some hope of getting RGB cuts and gains but if we don't can this or any other calibration software do much to dial in the gray scale and improve the picture?)

Thanks for your time, LylePDX

Don't lose sight of the Big Picture
Lylepdx is offline  
post #311 of 322 Old 02-20-2007, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeSRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 5,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a SpyderTV Pro in for review and some RS1s on order. While I will be calibrating the RS1s with my OpticOne probe and software, I will also cross check it against the SpyderTV Pro. So far, results have been what I expected, that is it does a pretty good job, but it's not as precise as using OpticOne (as you would expect). I haven't tried the other software (mentioned above) that can be used with the Spyder probe, but I'll be trying that next.

Enjoy!

Mike
Surf Remote Control
Contributing reviewer and THX calibrator, ProjectorReviews.com
MikeSRC is offline  
post #312 of 322 Old 02-20-2007, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mike,

I have SpyderTVPRO and I'm curious how you think a calibration might be done with the RS1 given that you can tick off RGB gains and cuts in the software from Colorvision but according to the RS1 manual you only have RGB offset to work with?

In this case would you just not tick RGB gains and only go with the cuts and then work with the RGB offset on the RS1 or would you go at this another way?

Wayne
mystery is offline  
post #313 of 322 Old 08-17-2007, 10:18 AM
Member
 
urte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got Spyder TV pro (Used to have spyderTV) because i want to calibrate the gray scale on my Pioneer 507. But when I get to the gains and cuts it only says increase blue, nothing is shown in the colorbar but the 100% line. The lock is open. What can I be doing wrong? When I increase blue its just the same?
urte is offline  
post #314 of 322 Old 08-17-2007, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
lienly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TW ver spyderTVP also has PAL disc.
but I believe actually TW ver is 99.99% same as US ver but adds a very simple Chinese quick guide.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xylon View Post

Yes.

lienly is offline  
post #315 of 322 Old 02-09-2008, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to acquire a TV Pro these days? I don't see it on the Colorvision website. I'd like to have the automated process of the other settings not found in the regular TV version.
SnakeEyes is offline  
post #316 of 322 Old 02-09-2008, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nicholc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnakeEyes View Post

Is there a way to acquire a TV Pro these days? I don't see it on the Colorvision website. I'd like to have the automated process of the other settings not found in the regular TV version.

You might be able to find it if you google it. It's now SpyderTV Pro 2007 and comes with the platinum version of the Spyder2 colorimeter (the same one that comes with colorfacts). The software is also updated.

I actually bit the bullet and picked it up and I really like it. On top of being able to get things really good with the normal wizard, you can also enable diagnostics mode by holding ctrl-alt and typing "sierra" (without quotes). This brings up the x, y, Y coordinates and the kelvin color. With this you can not only make sure your RGB is at 100%, but you can also make sure the coordinates and luminance are accurate as well!
nicholc2 is offline  
post #317 of 322 Old 02-09-2008, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
Marl_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys, quick query. I've seen some pros (A/V shop owners primarily) using SpyderPro so I checked Amazon and found out that there's the spyder2 express, presumably for amateurs. Has anybody tried this tool already? If so how different is it from the flagship variant? Many thanks in advance.

drivehard
Marl_1 is offline  
post #318 of 322 Old 02-09-2008, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the express is for an easy process to calibrate computer monitors. The Spyder2 can be used with the other software found around avs for calibration but as far as I can find none of the other softwares are easy to use with a guided setup process found in Spyder products. It's why I am considering finding a TV Pro
SnakeEyes is offline  
post #319 of 322 Old 02-10-2008, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
lkosova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know the upgrade path if I have an spyder pro from 1.5 years ago???

I will call colorvision but curious if anyone has done it.

Larry
lkosova is offline  
post #320 of 322 Old 05-09-2008, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
Orthonormal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A few months ago I asked about it on the now-defunct SpyderTV forums hosted by LionAV. I was told that LionAV had an upgrade from SpyderTV Pro to SpyderTV Pro 2007 for something like $300-500. It is not clear whether the 2007 edition does anything new besides interfacing directly with Pioneer Plasma displays for automatic calibration. I was hoping that they had fixed some of the worrisome glitches in the TV Pro software.

Their tech support is awful, by the way. I opened two problem tickets back in January and have received no response yet. I also opened tickets on the spydertvpro.com site which had its own tech support system, and that web site has been shut down and replaced by something else.
Orthonormal is offline  
post #321 of 322 Old 05-10-2008, 09:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gregg Loewen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New England
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 39
the website is still there.

www.colordisplaysupport.com

President, Lion Audio Video Consultants Inc.
Lead THX Video Standards Instructor
Gregg Loewen is online now  
post #322 of 322 Old 05-12-2008, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
novice 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have recently got my hands on a spyder tv and have been playing with it like a little kid . it has improved my picture but im still looking for more. should i stick with the default settings when trying this or our their changes i can make to help improve . also is their different software that can be applied. and last i read somewere to try it without the filter on it is this true
novice 1 is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off