SpyderTV Pro reviews. - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 322 Old 11-17-2006, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
JC7727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_johnson View Post

Hi, everyone. I've been lurking here for a while doing research on a reasonable colorimeter to purchase for home use. I have read the generally favorable views on the SpyderTV Pro and finally decided to purchase one. The cheapest I found the unit was from DataVision Computer Video. They are selling the Pro units on eBay (and only on eBay) for $389 +$12 shipping.

The reason I wanted to mention this is because they had errors in their eBay listing that made it look like they were selling the non-Pro version for $389. I almost didn't buy the unit from them because of the poor description and wrong photo. I emailed the seller and he has assured me that this is indeed the Pro unit. He has updated his listing and gladly welcomes purchases from AVSForum forum members. (He was wondering why they were not selling very well at this price and was very appreciative for the e-mail and corrections.) The eBay item number is 170040913890.

Please note that I don't work for DataVision nor do I have any connection with them. I just wanted to pass along my purchase experience and to let folks know about the errors in their ad since I almost passed up this deal myself.

Thanks for the info, I thought Amazon had the cheapest price until I read this post. You bought a unit from this seller, everything was good with the product?

EDIT: Looks like the seller doesn't have it anymore.

Another question, I will not be able to calibrate my HDMI port on the tv since I don't have an HDMI out dvd player, correct?
JC7727 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 322 Old 11-17-2006, 08:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
lkosova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jc77 etc,

read the reviews of this seller and make your own decision. I called and left messages and e-mailed to let them know their ad had a problem and never heard from them.

Again read the reviews. There have been lots of complaints....

Larry
lkosova is offline  
post #183 of 322 Old 11-17-2006, 10:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkosova View Post

Jc77 etc,

read the reviews of this seller and make your own decision. I called and left messages and e-mailed to let them know their ad had a problem and never heard from them.

Again read the reviews. There have been lots of complaints....

Larry


Why even think of buying from him anymore?
He raised his selling price on them, and his price is now $100 more than what Amazon is selling them for.
Johnla is offline  
post #184 of 322 Old 11-18-2006, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
JC7727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I wrote the post b4 checking the latest ebay prices, Amazon seems like the best bet.
JC7727 is offline  
post #185 of 322 Old 11-18-2006, 04:43 PM
Member
 
cyborgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am considering purchasing the Spyder 2 Pro to callibrate my BenQ8700+ (720P) projector.

I am concerned that the callibration source disk they supply is a standard DVD, and thought that the colourspace, as well as colours and intensity would be different depending upon the source material, and hence I am thinking that to PROPERLY calibrate an HD system, the source material should be HD too?

Please excuse me if I am totally off the mark. I have read a lot about this in the past, and also when changing the source material and output resolutions, the required settings can be very different. In fact the projector seems to keep different settings in it's memory for each resolution.

I am ready to order the product, but want to know that calibration done using the Spyder and it's standard DVD will provide the correct settings even when I play HD-DVD's?

Otherwise how do I callibrate for the HD-DVD's?

All help and advice greatly appreciated
cyborgx is offline  
post #186 of 322 Old 11-18-2006, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Target has the best price currently. Check **************. They have 6.4% cash back and a 10% coupon. I'm still on the fence for my Ruby and plasma displays.

Does the unit work with Mac? The requirements list a pentium and window but then it later states Mac OS version required.
DaveN is offline  
post #187 of 322 Old 11-18-2006, 11:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveN View Post

Does the unit work with Mac? The requirements list a pentium and window but then it later states Mac OS version required.


According to Colorvison it works with a Mac, with only the Spyder2PRO software, but not with the SpyderTV Pro software.
As per the features and requirements http://www.colorvision.com/profis/pr...iew.jsp?id=661
And for the software updates at http://www.colorvision.com/sup_dl-upgrades.shtml

"SpyderTV PRO calibrates front projectors, plasma, RPTV, DLP, LCD, LCoS and CRT TVs. Spyder2 PRO software calibrates front projectors, LCD, CRT and notebook displays. SpyderTV PRO software runs on PC, Spyder2 PRO software runs both on MAC and PC."

"Requirements

DVD player
Remote controls for your TV and DVD
A desktop or laptop PC with Windows 2000 or XP operating system near your TV
USB port
Computer: Pentium II 800 Mhz, 256 MB Ram, 100 MB Free Drive Space
Video Card: 1024x768 resolution, 24 bpp color (16.7 million colors)
Mac OS X10.3 or higher (For Spyder2 PRO software only.)"
Johnla is offline  
post #188 of 322 Old 11-19-2006, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
mraub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Has ColorVision announced an upgrade to SpyderTVPro for SpyderPro users yet? An e-mail response from ColorVision said such an upgrade was in the pipeline, but I can find no reference to it on their website.

MIKE

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.
--H. L. Mencken
mraub is offline  
post #189 of 322 Old 11-19-2006, 10:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I got tired of waiting for their official upgrade announcement, even after I emailed them direct the 2nd time to a specific person at Colorvision as per instructions that were given here earlier, they still never got back and offered it to me. But then when I found out what the cost of it was going to be. I spent the extra $60 over just the upgrade price and I bought the whole SpyderTV PRO package from Amazon instead.
Johnla is offline  
post #190 of 322 Old 11-20-2006, 09:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
mraub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Johnla,

What is the upgrade cost going to be? Do you when it will be available?

Thanks.

MIKE

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.
--H. L. Mencken
mraub is offline  
post #191 of 322 Old 11-20-2006, 10:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mraub View Post

Johnla,

What is the upgrade cost going to be? Do you when it will be available?

Last I heard is that it is $380, and that it is available. But when I contacted by email the person who is supposed to be the one that will take the orders, they never replied back to me.
Johnla is offline  
post #192 of 322 Old 11-20-2006, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
JC7727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveN View Post

Target has the best price currently. Check **************. They have 6.4% cash back and a 10% coupon. I'm still on the fence for my Ruby and plasma displays.

Does the unit work with Mac? The requirements list a pentium and window but then it later states Mac OS version required.

since when does target carry SpyderTV PRO? Its not on their website.
JC7727 is offline  
post #193 of 322 Old 11-20-2006, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is on their site:
http://www.target.com/gp/detail.html...sin=B000E2QP7Q

Search for spydertv
DaveN is offline  
post #194 of 322 Old 11-20-2006, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
JC7727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It dosen't say pro?
JC7727 is offline  
post #195 of 322 Old 11-20-2006, 03:48 PM
Newbie
 
gaoxingbu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info.
gaoxingbu is offline  
post #196 of 322 Old 11-20-2006, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC7727 View Post

It dosen't say pro?

Datacolor SpyderTV - STV200 is the pro model number.
DaveN is offline  
post #197 of 322 Old 11-21-2006, 04:30 PM
Member
 
Kutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased a Sharp 52D62U LCD. I calibrated with SpyderTV and the result not great - there is still a pronounced red push. It seems that the SpyderTV Pro with the ability to adjust RGB gains/cuts would be helpful in this scenario.

Has anyone adjusted a 62U series Sharp LCD with the SpyderTV Pro? Do you have to go into the service menu to make the adjustments for gains/cuts? Were you happy with the end result?

I'm interested in any feedback before I drop the $380 on the upgrade kit.

Thanks in advance.
Kutter is offline  
post #198 of 322 Old 11-21-2006, 04:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: RI, U.S. of A
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kutter-
You might want to look at this awsome free professional(non-excel) program here http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=737550
V1.11 has Spyder2 support and is available in English(original version French). You won't be dissapointed!
HDholic is offline  
post #199 of 322 Old 11-22-2006, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kutter View Post

I recently purchased a Sharp 52D62U LCD. I calibrated with SpyderTV and the result not great - there is still a pronounced red push. It seems that the SpyderTV Pro with the ability to adjust RGB gains/cuts would be helpful in this scenario.

Has anyone adjusted a 62U series Sharp LCD with the SpyderTV Pro? Do you have to go into the service menu to make the adjustments for gains/cuts? Were you happy with the end result?

I'm interested in any feedback before I drop the $380 on the upgrade kit.

Thanks in advance.

Red push is a color decoder issue and not a greyscale issue.

If you run a greyscale ramp, and view it, do the black, grey, white look to have red in it..if so, then your greyscale is off

Your redpush either can be fixed by selecting and adjusting your user color and tint. if you still have pronounced red push, then most color decoders will be in the service menu - not the user menu..

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #200 of 322 Old 11-23-2006, 08:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hello..

I have done like 25 calibrations with sypdertvpro now, all ranging from plasmas , crt rear projection, front dlp projection, LCD rear projection and LCD flat panels..

Must say, WOW, all displays turned out amazing..

Did find one strange thing , on Philips Plasma and LCD's,(newer models) the TINT value spydertvpro finds is rather off.. (like +17).. So, from doing all other displays, I found the tint was always around the 0 mark.. So I make the philips tint set to 0, then BOOM, picture perfect.. Confimed with colour decoder test with avia..

IMPORTANT for GREY SCALE::::

before doing the grey scale, turn colour setting on display to totally MIN setting (OFF, to make black and white)..

Found this works awesome, takes the DVD player out of the equation for setting up grey scale (no matter if HD or SD player)..

So using the Dvd supplied to setup, HD and SD look Awesome.. Skin tones, Depth of picture are just jaw-droping..

I found that 1080I, 720P, 480P all had same contrast and brightness settings... but..... when going into 480i, brightness always has to be turned down.... So adjust for the better resolutions, then go back and set the brightness for 480i sources...

Hope this helps...






Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborgx View Post

I am considering purchasing the Spyder 2 Pro to callibrate my BenQ8700+ (720P) projector.

I am concerned that the callibration source disk they supply is a standard DVD, and thought that the colourspace, as well as colours and intensity would be different depending upon the source material, and hence I am thinking that to PROPERLY calibrate an HD system, the source material should be HD too?

Please excuse me if I am totally off the mark. I have read a lot about this in the past, and also when changing the source material and output resolutions, the required settings can be very different. In fact the projector seems to keep different settings in it's memory for each resolution.

I am ready to order the product, but want to know that calibration done using the Spyder and it's standard DVD will provide the correct settings even when I play HD-DVD's?

Otherwise how do I callibrate for the HD-DVD's?

All help and advice greatly appreciated

muad'dib is offline  
post #201 of 322 Old 11-23-2006, 08:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thought I would share my setting with spydertvpro...

Here is goes:

Sony SXRD 60" A2000


Picture Mode = custom
Advanced Iris = Auto2
Picture = 98
Brightness = 54 (1080i, 720p, 480p)
Color = 50
Hue = G1
Color Temp = Warm2
Sharpness = 50
Noise Reduction = Off

ADVANCED SETTINGS:

Black Corrector = off
Gamma = off
Clear White = off
Live Color = off
Detail Enhancer = Max
Edge Enhancement = High

WHITE BALANCE:

Red-gain = 0
green-gain = 0
Blue-gain = -10

Red-bias = -1
Green-bias = 0
Blue-bias = -4

Hope this helps...

I was using an oppo 970 dvd player, set to 1080i, using RGB color space..

Video Running thru Anthem D2 video scaler, set to 1080p output, RGB colour space...


Skin tones are just perfect, depth of black is unreal...

Hope this helps others...

muad'dib is offline  
post #202 of 322 Old 11-24-2006, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Hope this helps others..."

your enthusiasm, yes.... your numbers, not likely.... every set is different or they wouldn't NEED calibration !


Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #203 of 322 Old 11-24-2006, 08:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
blb1215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anybody know if the dvd disk supplied with Spydertv pro is copy protected? I am getting a HD Dvd player (HD-A2) that I would like to use to feed a 1080i signal through component. The player will not upconvert copy protected disks through component.

Thanks,
Barry
blb1215 is offline  
post #204 of 322 Old 11-24-2006, 12:40 PM
Member
 
Kutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder if there will be an updated set of HD-DVD's released to work with the Spyder's?
Kutter is offline  
post #205 of 322 Old 11-24-2006, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What would be really nice is the ability to ajust primary and secondary colours. I know SpyderTV Pro is designed to be used with controls that are common to user menus, however, we are seeing more and more projectors released with colour management controls in the user menu.
Scott B is offline  
post #206 of 322 Old 11-24-2006, 02:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mraub View Post

Johnla,

What is the upgrade cost going to be? Do you when it will be available?

Thanks.

For those who are still interested in the upgrade package. Colorvison finally has it available for order on their website, the price is $370.

http://www.colorvision.com/profis/pr...iew.jsp?id=701
Johnla is offline  
post #207 of 322 Old 11-24-2006, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scott B,

I concur. I'm hoping that Colorvision will update the software to SpyderTVPRO with some goodies like you suggest.

By the way, how close are you to getting STVPRO and your new projector?

Wayne
mystery is offline  
post #208 of 322 Old 11-24-2006, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
muad'dib,

Thanks for the tips. I take it your suggestions about turning off the color is for composite or s-video and component? When I calibrate with DVI/HDMI the color value is optioned out.

You've done a lot of different types of sets now. Glad you've had so much success. This tool is an absolute blast to use isn't it?

Wayne
mystery is offline  
post #209 of 322 Old 11-24-2006, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wayne,
I have had the SpyderTV Pro for about two weeks now. I just got my new projector today which I plan to calibrate to tomorrow. I will be sure to post my opinions of both the SpyderTV Pro and the projector.
Scott B is offline  
post #210 of 322 Old 11-24-2006, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good stuff!
mystery is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off