Free calibration soft (non-excel) - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 3254 Old 12-16-2006, 06:56 PM
Member
 
JaconKin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDholic View Post

Can't do anything with simulated sensor. You NEED a probe. Cheapest one to get started is Spyder2.

Okay then, I was intending to get one of those when I purchase a new PC monitor regardless.

I am having a rather interesting debate about Calibration on the thread about the 24 inch Gateway monitor.
JaconKin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 3254 Old 12-16-2006, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Go to Costo..cheapest..$59.99 or something like that..

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #813 of 3254 Old 12-16-2006, 09:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For those who were not sure about Oppo 971 if they used 601 or the 709 color space.

Someone inquired about it and this was the response found:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post8097391

btw..I ran both 601 and 709- and doing 11th calibration...

Although I can see where the perception is that 709 it is, I hit every point of the color gamut with 601



For those with the Beta Version...I was able to elimate my bluish tinge at 100% white previously and running continuos...I was able to hit the flattest response and a gamma curve that looks pretty good..no more RED clipping whatsoever..

 

calibration11_mitsDTP94.zip 1.1416015625k . file

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #814 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 06:07 AM
Newbie
 
caymann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks RichL

To summarise....i need
1. Spyder2 attached to my plasma screen on one end
2. Spyder2 connected to my laptop thru USB port (i assume) on other end
3. HFCR running on my laptop
4. What displays the patterns on the plasma TV? Do i use a DVD player ? Where are the patterns?

thanks
caymann
caymann is offline  
post #815 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
One thing I forgot to ask about was which grey patterns should one use for a projector? The small windows or the full screen ones? and why?
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #816 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 07:27 AM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I Think my spyder meter went kaput. I droped it, it did not fall far but I went to recheck my measurements and see if I might be able to get a better gamma, and the readings are way off what I calibrated the other day. It is showing green way to high, so high you could tell if it was that high by sight. I can't believe the thing would be that sensitive. It only fell about 18 inches glanced off my center channel and landed on carpet. Anyone have a link to another meter that I can purchase to work with this software?
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #817 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Jeff -

COSTO has them for 59.99 spyder2express..too bad because I sold my Spyder2 last week for less than that..

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #818 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks, but I don't have a costco membership or one very near me. What about another meter? a better one.
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #819 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by caymann View Post

Thanks RichL

To summarise....i need
1. Spyder2 attached to my plasma screen on one end
2. Spyder2 connected to my laptop thru USB port (i assume) on other end
3. HFCR running on my laptop
4. What displays the patterns on the plasma TV? Do i use a DVD player ? Where are the patterns?

thanks
caymann

1. - YES
2. YES
- Select LCD mode and increase the read time from its default)
3. YES
4. If you have a DVD player connected to your Plasma - then YES - it will be a DVD player..

AVIA /DVD/Getgray -any of these disk will do for patterns. IF your DVD player allows you to play PAL region disk, then Id suggest downloading the HCFR pattern disk (go to page 1 for the original download file- there is a updated version of it, pages later that I linked). All you will ever need is in this disk.

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #820 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholicJeffL View Post

Thanks, but I don't have a costco membership or one very near me. What about another meter? a better one.

Jeff-

GET THE DTP-94 (solid build and no baffle on or off - super quick read - mine reads 10IRE)...try NormanCamera - its for $129..these are getting harder to get..DO IT before they go unaffordable for most of us - of what I hear...

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #821 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholicJeffL View Post

One thing I forgot to ask about was which grey patterns should one use for a projector? The small windows or the full screen ones? and why?


Jeff - for CRT projectors (rear Proj) - Ive always read WINDOW patterns - why is a good question - sorry I can not answer that but I had my CRT before calibrated and the small windows where used and this guy is a TOP calibator who is retired now..I trust that this is correct. I think its because of the way the CRTS are placed..one side will favor RED the othe side will favor Blue, so you eliminate that by shutting that part out and CENTER where all three converge

For FrontProj - there is minimal (real Min) diff between using FULL or WINDOW..I use FULL, someone else may differ..Once again this is what I read...You may want to even do a FULL and a WINDOW run to see any diff..

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #822 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks, I did not have that much difference between full screen and the windows, a little.

I did a search, I can't find that meter anywhere. Not at BH not at norman. Anyone have a link?
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #823 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
www.normancamera.com

$129.99..the cheapest and get it before ITS GONE..

search for the OPTIX XR (put it in exactly like this) this is the DTP-94 probe

http://www.normancamera.com/product-...ONACO_OPTIX_XR

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #824 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Sweet, thanks. I have never ordered from this company before. Are they reputable like B&H?
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #825 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, tons of people here have ordered this...
I got mine from Adorama Camera, but I have read several times people, even in this forum (posting) that this is a place to get it now. Adorama sold out on all of them..$108 shipped..I think I got the last one

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #826 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Athlonstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlo View Post

www.normancamera.com

$129.99..the cheapest and get it before ITS GONE..

search for the OPTIX XR (put it in exactly like this) this is the DTP-94 probe

http://www.normancamera.com/product-...ONACO_OPTIX_XR


Norman Camera also sells these on eBay. So if you have the time to wait for an auction to close you should be able to get it for $109.95 + $8 shipping. I grabbed one a couple of days ago.
Athlonstein is offline  
post #827 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
greeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 2,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
you use the windowed patterns because full screen, on some displays, will produce spurious clipping effects.

jeff
greeno is offline  
post #828 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here are some JPEGs..of my results..hope you can see them okay..
LL
LL
LL

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #829 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by greeno View Post

you use the windowed patterns because full screen, on some displays, will produce spurious clipping effects.

jeff

I kinda thought that, that might explain my gamma numbers. Well looks like I will have to order that meter and calibrate it again. Although, it looks pretty darn good now.
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #830 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlo View Post

Here are some JPEGs..of my results..hope you can see them okay..

Sweet, how do use that meter? does it have a mounting bracket for a tripod? or did you just rig something up? I assume you face toward the screen like the spyder meter.
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #831 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No, and do not bother gluing a nut onto it (like what you can do with the spyder2), because the back is curved, so what I used is velcro on the tripod and wrap it around the sensor..it works, but its a pain when I do it..If I take off the screw on the tripod,Im sure it will work better, but Im not sure if I want to.

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #832 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Gotcha, velcro, the wonder material lol I just placed an order, should be here tuesday.

I noticed that there were display profiles in the software for this meter. What are those for exactly?
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #833 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Jeff-

you are going to LOVE the DTP-94, the spyder2 is respectable for the price, but once you use the DTP-94..You'll never have a reason to use the spyder2..In fact, I sold mine the same day I got mine DTP-94

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #834 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlo View Post

Jeff-

you are going to LOVE the DTP-94, the spyder2 is respectable for the price, but once you use the DTP-94..You'll never have a reason to use the spyder2..In fact, I sold mine the same day I got mine DTP-94

Sounds good, is it just way more accurate I assume and faster.

I should have asked if somebody wanted to trade for these http://www.audioholics.com/productre...ngine-A5p1.php I still have them from the review and I have no place for them.
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #835 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
absolutely.more accurate, even down to 10IRE and as you can see in my JPEGS, it even read on mine a respectable 0IRE at .313 .313 was my x,y value

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #836 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 02:38 PM
Newbie
 
Captain3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First try with this proggy and Spyder on new 60xbr2. Would someone please check it out and let me know what you think. I already have learned so much here spending hours reading. Thanks to all in advance.

 

Color2.zip 4.9892578125k . file

Captain
Captain3 is offline  
post #837 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 03:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: RI, U.S. of A
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good job on your initial pass. You can still tighten up the grayscale a bit more. About you gamma, if your target calibration gamma is "2.2" set it to Standard. If target gamma is 2.5 which w/ your display type I doubt, then select 2.2. If display offers color decoder controls, you could tweak the CIE chart. The fun continues...
HDholic is offline  
post #838 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain3 View Post

First try with this proggy and Spyder on new 60xbr2. Would someone please check it out and let me know what you think. I already have learned so much here spending hours reading. Thanks to all in advance.

Sonys are known to have some of the most accurate color decoders, so I think you need to correct this, possibly in the service menu..there are color matrixes in some of them that allows you to change the parameters to fall in place, some other sonys have more advance features.

Also make sure you select 16-235 in the Pref/ref tab, check to see if your colorspace is NTSC or HDTV. I would start with NTSC..

Good job on the 1st pass through...and as HDholic states -THE FUN CONTINUES..

Remember, do not worry about 6500K, what you want is to get as many of your IRES hitting the D65 point. Go to your 50IRE (higlight the column) and Hit your DISPLAY MEASUREMENT INFORMATION icon and look at the top and it will state your DELTA E is 3 - that is really good, but as you go down, they go higher and higher, what you want is to get as many of those hitting Delta E (D65) between 0-3...the closer you get those , the more accurate you will be..

1st set your color/tint as close as possible to the CIE points(running your primaries and secondaries)
2nd set your contrast and brightness (go back to these since your greyscale adjustment affect these)
3rd run continuous for 100IRE until you get that close, then check 30IRE..then do a full run of it..The reason I state 30 is because with the spyder it struggles a bit with 20IRE, but use your own judgement and try 20IRE, it might work since its a directview LCD if I am correct.
- and as stated previously - make sure to recheck contrast and brightness.

lastly - make sure you write your initial settings, just in case things get out of whack you can revert back to those..

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #839 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 04:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Gino AUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cairns, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlo View Post

Jeff-

you are going to LOVE the DTP-94, the spyder2 is respectable for the price, but once you use the DTP-94..You'll never have a reason to use the spyder2..In fact, I sold mine the same day I got mine DTP-94

Richlo- can this DTP-94 be used for CRT front projection?

( B ) ( G ) ( R ) BlendZilla DownUnder ( R ) ( G ) ( B ) - Tubes of Fury
Gino AUS is offline  
post #840 of 3254 Old 12-17-2006, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gino AUS View Post

Richlo- can this DTP-94 be used for CRT front projection?


OH YEAH..I used it on Mits 55807 CRT..

THe other great thing about the DTP - NO BAFFLE issues

ALthough on the DTP you will actually select CRT mode, for the Spyder2, you will select LCD mode with the Baffle on..

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off