Free calibration soft (non-excel) - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 3254 Old 11-06-2006, 03:56 AM
Member
 
Lyckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All spyder2 sensors should work. According to colorvision It's the same hardware in all packages. Allthough some claims that there is a difference in accuracy due to production accuracy and that post measurements in the factory decides on what package (eg pro, tv, express, colorfacts, etc) they end up in.

// Lyckman
Lyckman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 3254 Old 11-06-2006, 04:36 AM
Member
 
Georges G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Lyckman

Did you enjoy HCFR colorimeter application with Spyder II and your new projector ? Was it OK ?

Regards
Georges
Georges G is offline  
post #93 of 3254 Old 11-06-2006, 10:55 AM
Newbie
 
Fenerbahce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
where i can get the software for my spyder2

thx a lot 4u efforts guys!

will be a germany version available soon?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Fenerbahce is offline  
post #94 of 3254 Old 11-06-2006, 11:07 AM
Newbie
 
max-art's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry ...
max-art is offline  
post #95 of 3254 Old 11-06-2006, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: RI, U.S. of A
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when will the program supporting Spyder2 be available for download?
HDholic is offline  
post #96 of 3254 Old 11-06-2006, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Petty soon, trust us... We just need a bit of feedback from beta testers...

Lets say... Later this week

--Patrice

French speaking home theater
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

laric is offline  
post #97 of 3254 Old 11-06-2006, 02:08 PM
Member
 
Lyckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georges G View Post

Hi Lyckman

Did you enjoy HCFR colorimeter application with Spyder II and your new projector ? Was it OK ?

Regards
Georges

To be honest.. No.. Since I have not yet had the time to try it!!
Sorry, but i've been busy struggling to get my Lumagen Vision HDQ to play along with my htpc/9500LC.... It went...ehrm...bad...so far and I'm all out of ideas in that area so I might just try the HCFR app right away INSTEAD.... bbl....with impressions

// Lyckman
Lyckman is offline  
post #98 of 3254 Old 11-06-2006, 03:27 PM
Member
 
Lyckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Indeed works
Good work guys!

// Lyckman
Lyckman is offline  
post #99 of 3254 Old 11-06-2006, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
<^..^>Smokey Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Question for Laric(again).

I'm having trouble finding anyone who can flash the "PIC 18f2550" microchip.
I have tried several with all saying unable to comunicate with the microchip.

Is there a specific brand name for the software that programes the chip?

I have everything else, have 3 boards and enough parts for 2 units.

I could if required build a flash programmer board. Is there a simple design that works that you recommend and also software?

Any help would be appreciated.

btw I'm in New Zealand.

Regards
<^..^>Smokey Joe

Masterpiece Calibration Ltd
Christchurch NZ
<^..^>Smokey Joe is offline  
post #100 of 3254 Old 11-06-2006, 11:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello,

I simply use a regular 16Fxxx flash hardware with "WinPic800" software, it is the only one able to flash 2550 with such hardware.

You can find it here : http://www.winpic800.com/index.php?lang=en

--Patrice

French speaking home theater
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

laric is offline  
post #101 of 3254 Old 11-07-2006, 12:19 AM
Member
 
Georges G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Fenerbahce
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fenerbahce View Post

Hi,
where i can get the software for my spyder2

thx a lot 4u efforts guys!

will be a germany version available soon?

A german version is possible... technically, it's easy. But I don't speak german at all, and I don't know if there is somebody inside our development team who could do so. Maybe one day, but with no guarantee. Anyway, with the new design, anybody having a resource editor can duplicate an existing resource DLL and translate it. The plugin will work. But it will be difficult to maintain when we will make future evolutions ...

Georges
Georges G is offline  
post #102 of 3254 Old 11-07-2006, 12:28 AM
Newbie
 
Fenerbahce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
that's really great news. Maybe i can help out a little with my German But i can't speak/understand French, so i have to translate all the words from English to German.

Greetings
Fener


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Fenerbahce is offline  
post #103 of 3254 Old 11-07-2006, 02:14 AM
Newbie
 
Schrauber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm german too. So the translation should not be the problem.

BTW: great piece of software
Schrauber is offline  
post #104 of 3254 Old 11-07-2006, 09:56 AM
Member
 
Georges G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Jeff
Quote:
Originally Posted by greeno View Post

What about dtp-94 support? I have the sdk for that sensor (sold under the brand name of monaco optix XR), and it can be given away for free.

I think you will be happy to know that DTP-94 support has been included in our soft. It's now in beta, along with Spyder II and multi-language support (and other fine little stuff ).

I'd like to thank you for this SDK, so if you want to test the beta version, just send me a PM with your email (you can ask to Laric too ).

Best regards
Georges
Georges G is offline  
post #105 of 3254 Old 11-07-2006, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
<^..^>Smokey Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Thanks Laric, I had a look at that unit, but for the cost of the parts, time and effort and possible faliure I decided to grab the PICKit 2 Starter kit.

DV1464120 PICKit 2 Starter kit

I have a question about the use of the IR led on the board. Won't this flashing be an interference source of IR for the TOAS sensors?
If so would not it be better to point it to the side rather than the reflection surface?

Does the remote IR plug when used cut out the board IR led?

Regards
<^..^>Smokey Joe

Masterpiece Calibration Ltd
Christchurch NZ
<^..^>Smokey Joe is offline  
post #106 of 3254 Old 11-08-2006, 12:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The IR are only in use when you decide (in software) to use them (and so means you are using DVD to calibrate).
BTW, this IR emiter as well as the "power on" led are cut when measure are on-going

--Patrice

French speaking home theater
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

laric is offline  
post #107 of 3254 Old 11-08-2006, 01:52 AM
Member
 
Georges G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everybody,

Yesterday, I announced the existence of a beta version, and I proposed it to Jeff, to thank him for his help about finding a SDK. Now, I received many PM asking me this beta version ! I answer on the forum, because the answer is the same for everybody. I won't give this beta version to anybody. Why ? For two reasons. The first is to avoid having many different versions outside development team, with many different configuration and bugs. Even if this software is totally free, we act like professionnal software vendors, and we try to deliver the best quality level. So, we are testing before delivery, like any commercial enterprise.

The second reason is more simple: with a free software, it would be easy to break the above rule, just because it's free software... But it's just a question of days before delivery. I think you can wait until next week Anyway, the product will not be complete in release 1.1: the english help file will miss. The software is already in english and french, but the documentation exists only in french... And I have no date for that.

Regards
Georges
Georges G is offline  
post #108 of 3254 Old 11-10-2006, 05:07 AM
Senior Member
 
<^..^>Smokey Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Success!

Long live DIY!

Sourced the parts, flashed the chip...myself!!!, Built the probe, not bad for a complete electronics novice.

I might make a note to the developers, I saw possibly a bug whilst installing the probe on my laptop. It said there was an error whilst installing. But appears to work ok. The auto device load was extremely long before looking for drivers.

I'll try loding into a different PC and see if different.

Another note, the board files extremely useful, top marks. Although I didnt have complete job done, I had the boards made as prototype style with no solder through the holes and no layout markings to save alot of setup costs, but the no solder through the holes made it hard to mount some parts. Maybe a note to advise solder through the holes at the very least.
Live and learn.

The parts list, maybe for novices a complete reference list with farnell references would help selecting capacitors. Tolerences of components was a worry.

Something useful to add would be advise about the microchip.
In the end I used the PICKit 2 starter kit from microchip.com, but I had to struggle even from here with little knowledge of what was required.
The main issues were, device needed firmware upgrade, software required latest version and the main issue was the demo board provided does not suit the PIC18F2550.
The PIC18F series of microchips has quite a different pin layout to their smaller brothers, which the basic supplied documentaion fails to advise about. Like alot of these company's they assume the user has a vast knowledge of the devices.

anywhoo, after alot of googling I found a simple schematic layout for interfacing between the PICKit 2 USB and the microchip and at 2am after many moments it came online.

Many thanks to the development team for this very cool DIY tool.

Regards
<^..^>Smokey Joe

Masterpiece Calibration Ltd
Christchurch NZ
<^..^>Smokey Joe is offline  
post #109 of 3254 Old 11-10-2006, 05:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nice

We use a very simple home made flasher with WinPic800... Anyway you've done it

As for circuit, I highly recommend the single layer one for DIY, it is a lot easir to make.
Dual layer was proposed to help people building their kit, using circuit that were build by a professional company (500+ were made )... So it has vias, holes, markings, etc...

--Patrice

French speaking home theater
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

laric is offline  
post #110 of 3254 Old 11-11-2006, 06:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
deconvolver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: S.E. Connecticut
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I burned the PAL disc and it reads OK in my computer but my old Panasonic RV-65 says incompatible disc format and won't play it. Is there any chance that an NTSC version of the disc could be created? Has anyone tried using the getgray disc with this software? I think that has everything except for the unique near black and near white patterns.

- John
deconvolver is offline  
post #111 of 3254 Old 11-11-2006, 10:49 AM
Newbie
 
Schrauber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can use every disc that provides gray steps from 0 to 100 IRE in steps of 10 IRE.
This is enough for calibrating the whitepoint and showing a gamma plot.

The primaries can be measured with any Frame that is 100% the primary.

The 5 step scale primaries from white/gray to the primarie are not needed for the beginning. Also the near black and near white are not. These are more advanced calibrations.
Schrauber is offline  
post #112 of 3254 Old 11-11-2006, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It is to note that you can use the computer to generate frames (a lot easier to begin with calibration).
And also use any number of paterns, 10 (default) but more or less (you can edit the drop down)...

--Patrice

French speaking home theater
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

laric is offline  
post #113 of 3254 Old 11-11-2006, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
deconvolver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: S.E. Connecticut
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the answers. I will probably try the getgray disc because I want to calibrate using the complete signal chain for movies from the DVD player to the TV. I am waiting for release 1.1 to work with the spider2express that I just bought but if I get too impatient I may try pasting values from S2Fly.

- John
deconvolver is offline  
post #114 of 3254 Old 11-13-2006, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Losha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: how should i know your location ???
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can we start counting the hours now

getting impatient

It's a guy thing. We don't read. We do. We ask questions later. quote by Curt
Losha is offline  
post #115 of 3254 Old 11-13-2006, 10:43 PM
Newbie
 
everel2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, are already completely strained


Greeting
Everel
everel2002 is offline  
post #116 of 3254 Old 11-14-2006, 07:46 AM
Member
 
Georges G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all

Please don't be too impatient The last beta version is done, full featured, and testing is running. We are working on a multi-language setup, to ease installation for non french-speaking people. And since we added a new comparison feature, it needs a little mode testing and validation

If nothing goes wrong, and I really hope so, we will deliver it next week-end

Regards
Georges
Georges G is offline  
post #117 of 3254 Old 11-14-2006, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
bucky63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by deconvolver
Thanks for the answers. I will probably try the getgray disc because I want to calibrate using the complete signal chain for movies from the DVD player to the TV. I am waiting for release 1.1 to work with the spider2express that I just bought but if I get too impatient I may try pasting values from S2Fly.
I got a little inpatient and went and bought a Spyder2Express yesterday and use S2Fly to obtain the test values.

Here are the results of my first run on my Panasonic AE900U in Cinema1. All adjustments are set to zero except the brightness and contrast. I only ran the eleven value IRE test as it was getting late.

I positioned the Spyder2 facing the screen, about a foot away, below the center line of the screen and tilted up slightly for my ceiling mounted projector.

The results pleasantly surprised me being no adjustments were made.

 

AE900U Cinema1 Flat.pdf 201.87890625k . file
bucky63 is offline  
post #118 of 3254 Old 11-15-2006, 11:13 AM
Member
 
quattro32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't wait for this software, you guys are awesome!!!

quattro32 is offline  
post #119 of 3254 Old 11-15-2006, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N3W813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Special thanks~~!! This software will save me US$400+ buying the Spyder2express pkg instead of Spyder2TV Pro.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Sharp Elite Movie THX AV Mode Settings
--Aug 2011 Set, 2.2 gamma [
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
]
--Nov 2012 Set, 2.2 gamma [
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
]
N3W813 is online now  
post #120 of 3254 Old 11-15-2006, 04:26 PM
Newbie
 
waho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by N3W813 View Post

Special thanks~~!! This software will save me US$400+ buying the Spyder2express pkg instead of Spyder2TV Pro.

me too!
ok, then all of us should spend a few bucks and make a donation to the french guys

what do you think about it?
waho is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off