Free calibration soft (non-excel) - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 10:07 AM
Member
 
Georges G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi PJ

There is another change in the setup: in the french help file, there was a useless link to a page on our website... Every time you opened the help, you had an internet access... for nothing. Except that, the content is exactly the same, so we didn't change the software version (except the setup one).

Regards
Georges
Georges G is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Lyckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Regarding the baffle/filter for the sensor,

I could not found it, but there was a post in this forum regarding this. I don't remember if it was from a mail conversation with colorvision regarding the matter or if it was a colorvision representative that answeared in the thread.

If I use the sensor without the filter when I calibrate my crt-pj the result is not good at all. And the luminance values reported is not realistic.

// Lyckman
Lyckman is offline  
post #183 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: RI, U.S. of A
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I measure ANSI contrat?
HDholic is offline  
post #184 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Montreal region, Canada
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Super travail les gars !!
audiman is offline  
post #185 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eapleitez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
should the filter be left on for rear projection (HD DILA in my case)? And what setting should be applied for the Spyder2 (CRT, Default, LCD, Proj)?

_____________________________
eapleitez is offline  
post #186 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 01:28 PM
Member
 
hdefjunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey,

Got it working today!!!! Great piece of software and thanks to the dev team
for all their hard work. Your efforts are sincerely appreciated.

After playing around with the initial configuration, I think my original problem
may have been caused by selecting PROJ instead of LCD for the Calibration
mode. It seems when PROJ is selected, I don't get anything from the spyder
probe. By simply switching to LCD calibration mode, the probe works as
expected.

I decided to go with the latest version (1.11) and things are working great.. I
use both calman and SpyderTV Pro but think I'll be switching to HCFR as my
new calibration tool. The front end GUI and features are superior to the others.

Thanks again!!!

Dave
---
"Better to burn out then fade away"
hdefjunkie is offline  
post #187 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 02:46 PM
Newbie
 
gaoxingbu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm, interesting software. Nice, gonna try it.
gaoxingbu is offline  
post #188 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 02:59 PM
Newbie
 
lukassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi laric !!!

Here it is my file. Have look maybe u can advise me how to make it even better

 

Color.zip 0.90234375k . file
lukassk is offline  
post #189 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 03:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nice results !

I'd strongly encourage you (all) to measure RGB (we will then see the gammut) as well as secondary (YMC). I dunno your setup but I think you are pretty close to something well calibrated.

Also "Near Black" and "Near White" should help to fine tune your details (white crush and black details).

--Patrice

French speaking home theater HCFR Forum
laric is offline  
post #190 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 04:16 PM
Newbie
 
lukassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for reply !!

I am calibrating plasma screen. Someone all ready said something about Delta E. Could anyone one explain how this affects picture ? Any ideas how to lower it in 20 to 50 range. ??

Thanks
lukassk is offline  
post #191 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: RI, U.S. of A
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are my results after testing the program with my LCD monitor which has limited adjustability. How is near black, near white luminance adjusted? Also I wanted to point out that secondary colors are not registered in Saturation-luminace window. What about that?

 

color.pdf 261.421875k . file

 

luminance.pdf 206.5693359375k . file
HDholic is offline  
post #192 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 04:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Delta E is simply the differences between RGB levels, if your RGB are on top of each other, your Delta E is close to zero...

I dunno what setting you have on your plasma, if any, try to increase the R & B gain. need to raise a bit R & B levels on 20-40 range.

--Patrice

French speaking home theater HCFR Forum
laric is offline  
post #193 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 04:46 PM
Newbie
 
lukassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in good position as my plasma have all the setting I need (gains, cuts, RGB, CMY color settings) Also my dvd player have 10 point gamma setting plus black level and white level setting. I will try your advice later as I have no laptop and have to carry all the bits and pieces of my computer downstairs
lukassk is offline  
post #194 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here's what I've gleaned from using and reading about the Spyder2 sensors.

Do NOT take off the filter, unless the software specifically asks you to. Normal mode is too keep the filter on.

The low limit for the spyder sensor is .02 cdm^2.
Lee Bailey is offline  
post #195 of 3254 Old 11-20-2006, 07:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: RI, U.S. of A
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Bailey View Post

Here's what I've gleaned from using and reading about the Spyder2 sensors.

Do NOT take off the filter, unless the software specifically asks you to. In that mode, the sensor will match itself to the scan rate of the display. Normal mode is too keep the filter on.

The low limit for the spyder sensor is .02 cdm^2.

Are you refering to SpyderTV software or any calibrating software, including HCFR?
HDholic is offline  
post #196 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 01:08 AM
Member
 
Georges G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi HDholic

HCFR software will never ask you to remove the filter... We do not know exactly how to use the Spyder II probe... We just assume it returns correct values. I suppose a good advice would be to keep the filter on, and use the LCD calibration mode for everything except CRT, which need CRT calibration mode. That's all I can say.

Georges
Georges G is offline  
post #197 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 06:23 AM
Member
 
ellisda1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey all,
I've seen this question many times on the forum, and I ran into the same problems with ColorVision Tech support - you get different answers depending on who you talk to. If you're using the Spyder to do your greyscales and are NOT running Colorvision/Datacolor software, the baffle stays ON for all displays - CRT, LCD, projectors. (I did the DataColor ISF training, and the ISF pros who use this probe with Colorfacts also leave the baffle ON for everything). BUT - if you are running Spyder software (SpyderTV, Spyder2PRO) and are NOT getting into the Service Menu and adjusting drives/cuts, because these programs are designed to adjust only "user controls", follow the instructions given by the software. (In SpyderTV, I think they leave the baffle ON; in Spyder2PRO I think it's OFF for CRT computer monitors). I did a quick check of the HCFR software with my Spyder2, CRT displays, baffle ON, and the results match the reads from other calibration software.
Dan
ellisda1 is offline  
post #198 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 07:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Based on above, I'd bet it will be with filter on...

BTW, it'll be interesting to have a post of .chc files with and without filter...

--Patrice

French speaking home theater HCFR Forum
laric is offline  
post #199 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 07:45 AM
Member
 
ellisda1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
1) Unless you have an older Spyder, all of the probes are the same. The only difference is the color they spray onto the unit.
2) I'd bet that HCFR simply imports the data from the probe into their spreadsheet. If true, then all readings should be done with baffle ON.

You can always do the simple experiment: Display a white field on your TV. I'm betting that it will look... um... white. (If it looks RED, or BLUE, or CYAN, you're seriously out of calibration). Read this field with the Spyder and HCFR software, and look at the x,y numbers. They should be fairly close to .313, .329 (+/- .02 is not unreasonable). Take off the baffle and re-read the same field. You're likely to see x go to .430 or higher... Replace the baffle, re-read, and you'll see that this set-up is closer to reality. (Of course, you can also calibrate with baffle off - you should see that the grey scale is REALLY FAR off of grey, even though you meter reads .313, .329.

I would be interested in seeing if there are any corrections(ie, offsets...) built into HCFR for specific display types. Has anyone looked at different display types?
Dan
ellisda1 is offline  
post #200 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 08:56 AM
Member
 
Lyckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I now have both the Spyder2 and DTP-94 Sensor at hand.
I also have a Plasma display, a LCD display, CRT display, a DLP pj and a CRT pj.

I will try to go down to the bottom of this baffle/no baffle issue using Color HCFR.

// Lyckman
Lyckman is offline  
post #201 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Losha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: how should i know your location ???
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just did that myself

there is NO WAY you can set it to CRT and use it WITH the baffle
if you set it to LCD with baffle readings are close to crt-without baffle

this is monitor-X measured CRT - NO BAFFLE (hcfr 1.1)


this is monitor-X measured CRT - NO BAFFLE (hcfr 1.11)


this is monitor-X measured LCD - WITH BAFFLE (hcfr 1.11)


this is monitor-X measured CRT - WITH BAFFLE (hcfr 1.11)


this is monitor-X measured LCD - NO BAFFLE (hcfr 1.11)


if anyone has calibrated his 'whatever' @ CRT with baffle .. i don't wanna see that

(monitor-X is sort of profiled by spyder2 software... how well of a job that software does don't you DISagree )

It's a guy thing. We don't read. We do. We ask questions later. quote by Curt
Losha is offline  
post #202 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
HDholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: RI, U.S. of A
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What was changed in V1.11 that caused noticeable difference in readings from V1.1 @ lower IRE's?
HDholic is offline  
post #203 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Losha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: how should i know your location ???
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that was just a few post's ago, come on

It's a guy thing. We don't read. We do. We ask questions later. quote by Curt
Losha is offline  
post #204 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 10:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
HDholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: RI, U.S. of A
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I found the info, sometimes it's hard to keep up w/ frequent posts u know...
HDholic is offline  
post #205 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 10:33 AM
Member
 
Lyckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Losha!

I'm glad I took a short peak in the thread before doing all this boring stuff..
Now I can focus on Spyder2 vs DTP-92 instead!

// Lyckman
Lyckman is offline  
post #206 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 10:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just a word to tell you we simply use values that probes (either Spyder or DTP94) returns nothing is applied to them...

Afaik it works well, one guy in team use to build profiles (for our probe), he have Spyder, DTP94 and some more professional ones; all results are in perfect sync (each probes having their pro and cons as well as different level of precision)

--Patrice

French speaking home theater HCFR Forum
laric is offline  
post #207 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
<^..^>Smokey Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Well i built a second probe today....another dead duck, man I took hours going slowly and surely, the sensors I was twice as careful, not to overheat them. The first probe did seem to work at first, then failed, but the probe still runs the led and I can programme the IR led. The second probe just fails to work all together.
I checked the PICs and they are fine, even reflashed them verifyed the programming, checked the curcuits...fine, eveything is in the right place, resistors correct values, the only thing i can think the issue is, is different brand of capacitors. Slightly different voltage ratings, but they are meant to be voltage and value independant, ie voltage doesnt really matter.

The electro is a is a 16v 100uf, polar orientated as per the photographs and drawings.
The 100nf i have, on the bag, Cap Cer y5u 100n 50v 20%
The 33pf I have, on the bag, Cap Cer NPO 33p 50v 10%

I couldn't find anything that remotely looked the same as the ones in the photos, only the rating values. I checked these with electronics ppl and they thought they would be fine.

sigh. so frustrating. I moded PC boards with voltage mods which were more daunting, but worked fine. Really puzzled whats going wrong here as everything appears straight forward??

ANy ideas? Laric, George?

Masterpiece Calibration Ltd
Christchurch NZ
<^..^>Smokey Joe is offline  
post #208 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: RI, U.S. of A
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
laric- it would be interesting if you post your comments on each probe your team currently uses! Pros, Cons, Precision difference...
HDholic is offline  
post #209 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 12:31 PM
Member
 
Lyckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A quick comparison, Spyder II vs XRite DTP-94 (Monaco Optics XR)
* HCFR v 1.11
* Both sensors mounted 30 cm from 225 cm wide 1.0 gain screen (a little to the left, facing center screen)
* pj Samsung SP-H710A. Factory preset user1 ("Joe Kane D65 preset").



chc-files:
Spyder II
DTP-94

// Lyckman
Lyckman is offline  
post #210 of 3254 Old 11-21-2006, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: RI, U.S. of A
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, Spyder2 is way off 0-40IRE!
HDholic is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off