Samsung Calibration Failure - Page 8 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2015, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy

It looks like things that should be Grey are Brown .
Any body knows how to fix this iTS making me crazy.
Cgdj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2015, 08:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
toneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northern California
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 37
First off, I should mention that my display is a PN58C8000 so any answers to the following questions about running the ADC/WB calibration option for the various inputs (HDMI, AV, Comp, PC) need to be applicable to it--

1) Should the RGB color range for the 8x8 black/white checkerboard pattern be 0-255 or 16-235? I've read through this entire thread and see that one or the other has been used, but no clear explanation as to why either one was chosen over the other.

2) Notwithstanding whatever the right answer to #1 above may be, I've used both 0-255 and 16-235 successfully on both the AV and HDMI calibration options but I keep getting "Failure" on the Comp (component) calibration; what am I missing/doing wrong in trying to get the Component input to calibrate successfully? FYI--not only have I tried both RGB ranges, I've also tried them with both black and white in the upper-left corner (i.e., 4 different pattern combos in all)...still no dice.

3) This may be moot given the results in #2 above, but I've read posts where some folks detailed their instructions by stating that the source needed to be connected to HDMI1 (HDMI/DVI) and others who stated that the source needed to be connected or HDMI2 (ARC)...so, which input should the HDMI source be connected to...or does it technically even matter?

Observations during/after performing the ADC/WB calibration:

a) I do not see/get the bouncing small square during the calibration process that others have reported in previous posts; I do not know if the bouncing square is displayed only on LCD/LED and/or older plasma models, but I did notice during the process that the screen intensity brightens in small and infrequent steps before I am eventually presented with "Success"; subsequent attempts to (re)calibrate HDMI (and AV) after an initial successful calibration take but a few seconds before those attempts return "Success" as well.

b) After I had obtained a successful calibration, upon performing a factory reset and/or power-cycling my display via the remote I discovered that the calibration didn't take hold as the images were still dark (I did an A/B comparison using a movie scene I put on screen right after the calibration but before exiting the Service Menu). I redid the calibration except this time I did a Mute-Mute-Power Off afterwards since supposedly that keypress combo saves (any?) changes made in the Service Menu; dunno if that really did the trick but whatever--this time the image wasn't dark.

I don't really use the Component (and PC) inputs a whole lot but the OCD in me still wants to get at least the Comp calibration to pass successfully since every once in a blue moon my kids want to play their Xbox360 on my display and as such, I connect the 360 using its component cable--thus it would be nice if I can get the Component input calibrated successfully/correctly.

Thanks in advance!

P.S.--LOL this was my 777th post...if only that meant I hit some sort of jackpot!

Tony

Last edited by toneman; 01-28-2015 at 08:41 AM.
toneman is offline  
Old 01-30-2015, 08:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BigMikeATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kennesaw, GA, USA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Thank you to whoever recommended the checkerboard pattern! I made the same mistake as the OP and wound up with the pink screen, too.

I pulled up the video linked below on my Xbox One and kept backing it up so it stayed up for the duration of the calibration run. Voila! Problem fixed!

BigMikeATL is offline  
 
Old 03-29-2015, 09:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
1st_Y_GL is grayed (Disabled)

Hellow everyone, I'm happy to have found this page because i just mess up my parent's tv.

I did the AV Calibration and all that stuff. The TV is a Samsung UN40EH5300; I have tried with the Four square black and white pattern but it continues showing "Failure".
I have read all the post, and I think the problems is that the "1st_Y_GL" in ADC Results iS NOT enable, so it is impossible to change that value.

is there any solution?

I hope you can help me, i really appreciate it.

Thanks.
David Castaño is offline  
Old 03-29-2015, 09:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Could you help me please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sxman View Post
I also made the mistake to run the "av calibration" test to get better PQ on my TV. after calibrating with chessboard pattern i was able to get 'success' (with too many effort) but the picture is still dark. also second option in ADC Result (1st_Y_GL) is disabled and cannot be changed. Is there any relation between other menus and options with this that might be changed?

Please help.
Hello SXMAN, i have the same problem right now, ADC Result (1st_Y_GL) is disabled and cannot be changed, and i think it is the core problem, and the reason why my AV calibration Fails.

Do you find the solution?
Could you help me please?

Thanks a lot.
David Castaño is offline  
Old 04-22-2015, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,435
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2921 Post(s)
Liked: 2236
Quote:
Originally Posted by specd_out View Post
I just did this exact same stupid move on my 1 day old 64f8500. after researching around, I found that in the service menu under the SVC tab there are test screens.

These might not be call the same tabs in all samsung tvs but I am pretty sure I have seen test patterns in many samsungs.

mute-1-8-2- pwr
SVC tab
Look for test patterns
scroll through the patterns until you see the checkerboard pattern
select that pattern **
go back to the ADC/WB
ADC
hdmi calibration
start the calibration.

Took about 3 seconds and it brought my tv right back to how it was before.

Hope it helps
Thanks - this suggestion helped a lot. Please note my additional additions

ALL HDMI Inputs populated, with, on my set, HDMI 3 (ARC) connected to my AVR.
All Colour Custom Values, 2/10 Point were all set to Zeroes, or Factory Reset Values
Then I did the ADC HDMI Calibration with the Checkerboard Pattern after writing down the current ADC Result Values FIRST! (Sometimes values get Zeroed with the failure, or changed to 255 or some other value. So better safe than sorry!)
Mine `Passed' and that cleared the `Failure' Beautiful results! Will let run today then calibrate tonight.

** PN64F8500: SVC > Test Patterns > HDMI Pattern Select > 6

UN65HU9000 - No Patterns coming up under Patterns. Can change values but nothing showing to get to CheckerBoard. Inputting external checkerboard pattern gets upconverted to the 4K version and results in Failure.

Due to there being no Patterns, ended up with Purple Screen:
Fix: ADC/Results. Before HDMI Calibration: 131/131/131:69/69/69 after and getting Purple Screen: 131/131/131:255/69/255. Just put the 255s back to the Center Value - Voila - Purple Screen gone.

Addendum on the PN64F8500 - had to balance between the SM WBs and the ADC Results. Below 40% is falling off and had to be boosted the max I could go. It appears something going on in the set. 40% and up OK - will just leave the set alone. When it quits, then I'll worry. I'm hearing other 8500 owners also starting to have issues. (Heat kills!)
KONICA TECH likes this.

Last edited by p5browne; 04-28-2015 at 07:30 AM.
p5browne is offline  
Old 08-31-2015, 01:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HDMI Calibration Fails Samsung LN-T4661F

Hello,

I replaced blown capacitors on the main board for startup problem. Now the set turns on and now the HDMI Calibration fails. It looks like it tries to Calibrate, the picture becomes nice and clear for a split second then goes back to a Blue overall tint on a very washed out picture. I don't see anything in the service menu for displaying a checkerboard test target like some posts have talked about. When I select Calibrate it just runs through them and they all pass except HDMI

Any thoughts?

Thanks, Dan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SS1.jpg
Views:	971
Size:	81.2 KB
ID:	917346   Click image for larger version

Name:	SS2.jpg
Views:	1048
Size:	97.6 KB
ID:	917354  
DanoMaui is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 03:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, My Tv is Samsung 55H6400. I want to make a HDMI calibration with checkpattern(in the service menu) but and i don't now how to adjust brightness, contrast, colour, etc., before the calibration. what you sugest? Thanks
masterleo66 is offline  
Old 12-27-2015, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by specd_out View Post
I just did this exact same stupid move on my 1 day old 64f8500. after researching around, I found that in the service menu under the SVC tab there are test screens.

These might not be call the same tabs in all samsung tvs but I am pretty sure I have seen test patterns in many samsungs.

mute-1-8-2- pwr
SVC tab
Look for test patterns
scroll through the patterns until you see the checkerboard pattern
select that pattern
go back to the ADC/WB
ADC
hdmi calibration
start the calibration.

Took about 3 seconds and it brought my tv right back to how it was before.

Hope it helps
HI..I have unfortunately joined the HDMI Calibration Failure ranks. My model is UN55ES7100. I tried using the method of bringing up the built in checkerboard pattern (called a "cross" pattern on my SVc menu, but when I back out to go to ADC/WB the pattern disappears. Am I doing a wrong key sequence, or is it just a particularity of my model and I will have to try and use a static test pattern from an external source? One thing I noticed is if I activate the HDMI Calibration sequence, the little box does not move.

Thanks..Steve
Steve2Q is offline  
Old 01-02-2016, 12:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Failed calibration, pattern dissapears, pink box doesn't move...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve2Q View Post
when I back out to go to ADC/WB the pattern disappears. Am I doing a wrong key sequence, or is it just a particularity of my model and I will have to try and use a static test pattern from an external source? One thing I noticed is if I activate the HDMI Calibration sequence, the little box does not move.
Steve, I'm having the exact same issues as you... Don't know where to go from here as I've tried an external test pattern which fails all the same... Can anyone shed some light?
Mo Hirt is offline  
Old 03-21-2016, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you very much, I successfuly solved Av calibration problem for le40B553W3M Samsung lcd tv. You must careful this point: 8x8 checkerboard pattern's top left and bottom right corners is black, top right and bottom left corner is white!! Invertes checkerboarsd picture is failing.
hokolomon is offline  
Old 05-07-2016, 08:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there anyway to get the PS1D550 to enable usb Recording ? from the box my remote has the option but when I press it it pops up "Not Available" on the screen..

does the 7000 hack unlock this ? or is it missing the hardware ?
Faust Vercetti is offline  
Old 06-04-2016, 01:28 AM
Member
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello to all, I have been reading this whole thread and one thing that I can report back on is that you guys have been using the incorrect patterns. I have attached the correct ones to use ie. 6 x vertical squares and 8 x horizontal squares with black square top left, if your result is failure invert the pattern for top left to be a white square. Btw these patterns are a replica of the ones residing on the tv, only slightly better and cleaner. If you want the ones with colour pm me.

Proper method that works for my set being in an area (South Africa) with a PAL tv system.

The patterns have to be displayed in full ie. no black spaces on the sides or the top and bottom.

Input all the results from the service manual for 2nd R,G,B_L and 2nd R,G,B_H across the sources of AV, Componenet and HDMI

1.
Apply the Chess SD pattern to AV input (composite) of your display confirm that the source is set to AV enter service menu. Go to adc/wb -> adc result and write down all the value's, you need to confirm that the result is more or less the same as that specified in the service manual for your model tv. If in a PAL area apply the pattern in PAL format from your dvd player or bluray player if in a NTSC area apply in NTSC format, go to calibration and calibrate wait a short while and you will be presented with success.

NOTE, Y_GL is of utmost importance, it has to match or be above that specified in the service manual. The only way of confirming if greyed out, is rooting the tv and using some code. Pm me if you need assisteance with this.

2.
Apply the Chess HD pattern to the component input at 720P 60Hz and calibrate.

3.
Apply the Chess HD pattern to HDMI/DVI input YCbCr 444 at 720P 60Hz and calibrate.

Power cycle tv set your favourite settings and enjoy.

I am sure this will help a lot of people, all that remains is to calibrate the pc input, any idea's as to how to get the tv to accept a pc input signal for pc ADC calibration of the pc input?

Please could someone post their tv's untouched pc ADC results.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PATT_Chess_HD 1360_768.png
Views:	503
Size:	18.5 KB
ID:	1477073   Click image for larger version

Name:	PATT_Chess_SD_1024_768.png
Views:	2664
Size:	15.9 KB
ID:	1477081  
ivan2011 is offline  
Old 06-04-2016, 02:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,275
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1316 Post(s)
Liked: 1055
zoyd is offline  
Old 06-04-2016, 02:41 AM
Member
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes but still can not access pc adc calibration that way. To access that you need to add pc as a source input in the config menu, you will then be able to view the adc result for pc after selecting it in the service menu. Unfortunately however unable to get it to link to any input source when pc source is selected.
ivan2011 is offline  
Old 06-07-2016, 11:45 PM
Member
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It seems that there are 2 steps to the ADC calibration for the AV input.

Once again 1st Y_GL is of utmost importance for the AV result BEFORE performing the calibration.

Step 1 - apply a NTSC (not NTSC-J) checker pattern to the AV input and perform the ADC calibration for that input.

Step 2 - apply a PAL checker pattern to the AV input and perform the ADC calibration again for that input.

Step 3 - apply a 1280 x 720 60P checker pattern to the componenet input and perform the ADC
calibration for that input.

Step 4 - apply a 1280 x 720 60P checker pattern to the HDMI/DVI input and perform the ADC calibration for that input.

My understanding for the NTSC pattern before the PAL pattern on the AV input is first to map the 7.5 IRE NTSC analogue input to digital level 16 and then the 100 IRE PAL analogue input to map to digital level 235.

It also seems that the AV ADC calibration affects the HDMI PQ and perhaps the black/brightness/luminance level. After following the above procedure PQ for HDMI is amazing, colours appear natural, shadow detail natural and the least amount of banding that I have ever noticed. My satellite stb using 1080i 50 resolution PQ is also looking so much better.

I hope this helps someone.
ivan2011 is offline  
Old 07-31-2016, 08:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hdmi failure calibration, solution work for me. :)

gracias a este foro tambien he solucionado problema hdmi failure en samsung tv 46

imagen del milagro
uavsforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=1477073&d=1465026497

conexion pc con gtx pantallas clonadas w10.

*dvi/hdmi1 de tv46 conectado a pc w10 2 monitores imagen clonada y la imagen de tablero de a cuadros blanco negro abierto

* hdmi2 conectado a pc gtx1060 y la misma imagen de tablero de a cuadros blanco negro (clonar pantalla)

mando tv acciones:
en la tv46 entro en menu de imagen / imagen de pantalla tamaño inteligente2 ( se ve el tablero muy pequeño)
apagamos tv
combo para modo ajustes INFO – MENU – MUTE – POWER.
acceder a test hdmi y probar
a mi me funciona y ya no se verde la tv46 samsung
alex gregori tomas is offline  
Old 08-28-2016, 08:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everybody.
This post dedicated to unlucky people who has killed AV calibration and can’t perform it with success result because of 1st_Y_GL parameter locked. It is not a manuals, but my own experience only.
I hope that if you read this words, you know what you do and you have all necessary things (AV composite source, cables, proper chess pattern etc). If you haven’t, please, pay attention to the post #223 of ivan2011.
We will use one trick. If we can not change result value, let’s change a target. To do this, go to ADC/WB → ADC Target and check the value of 1st_AV_Low parameter. In my case it was 64. Just increase it (to 128, for example). Return to ADC level menu and launch AV calibration. I’m sure, that purple square will start jump from black to white fields and after a while you’ll see a long expected “success”. If not, try to increase 1st_AV_Low more and repeat calibration again till get success result.
Actually, you can quit exercises on this step, reboot TV and watch analogue channels like you did it before, because “killed AV calibration” issue seems to be solved. But the best way is to restore factory value of 1st_AV_Low.
To do this go to ADC/WB → ADC Target and decrease 1st_AV_Low parameter a little bit. I used 16 points step (128 – 16=112 in my case). Perform AV calibration. I think it will be success. Repeat this step as many times as you reach factory value of 1st_AV_Low (64 in my case).
In conclusion for the best result you can use advise of ivan2011 post #226.
That’s all what I’d like to tell you, friends. Good luck and be careful with service menu.
PS: my TV LT23B550
yefalex is offline  
Old 08-30-2016, 12:35 AM
Member
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by yefalex View Post
Hello everybody.
This post dedicated to unlucky people who has killed AV calibration and can’t perform it with success result because of 1st_Y_GL parameter locked. It is not a manuals, but my own experience only.
I hope that if you read this words, you know what you do and you have all necessary things (AV composite source, cables, proper chess pattern etc). If you haven’t, please, pay attention to the post #223 of ivan2011.
We will use one trick. If we can not change result value, let’s change a target. To do this, go to ADC/WB → ADC Target and check the value of 1st_AV_Low parameter. In my case it was 64. Just increase it (to 128, for example). Return to ADC level menu and launch AV calibration. I’m sure, that purple square will start jump from black to white fields and after a while you’ll see a long expected “success”. If not, try to increase 1st_AV_Low more and repeat calibration again till get success result.
Actually, you can quit exercises on this step, reboot TV and watch analogue channels like you did it before, because “killed AV calibration” issue seems to be solved. But the best way is to restore factory value of 1st_AV_Low.
To do this go to ADC/WB → ADC Target and decrease 1st_AV_Low parameter a little bit. I used 16 points step (128 – 16=112 in my case). Perform AV calibration. I think it will be success. Repeat this step as many times as you reach factory value of 1st_AV_Low (64 in my case).
In conclusion for the best result you can use advise of ivan2011 post #226.
That’s all what I’d like to tell you, friends. Good luck and be careful with service menu.
PS: my TV LT23B550
Your post has opened some new doors for me that I have peviously been blind to. I am going to share some of my theory here.

For AV ADC calibration the TV is expecting levels 16 and 220 for NTSC, 0 and 220 for PAL. Hence the calibration target for 1st YGh 880 ie 220 x 4 = 880 (converting from 8 bit to 10 bit) 1st YGl 64, my theory here is this is for PAL to set the black 0 IRE level to 10 bit level 64. For NTSC, as mentioned by yefalex the target for 1stYgl should be 128, this sets black level "setup" 7.5 IRE to 10bit level 128. Keep in mind that the 1st Y's referred to in the target are input levels that are mapped to 2nd ACH levels 4 and 940.

Now, with the tool mentioned here https://wiki.samygo.tv/index.php5?ti...and_BD_players it is possible to check the input levels via the serial consol. From the top debug menu 11.TD debug -> 3.SDAL -> 19.Pre_Misc_Debug and then select the number for whatever source you wish to check while displaying the pattern that I posted in an earlier post the return will be in hexadecimal. For AV PAL return should be 0 80 80 for black and DC 80 80 for white, for NTSC you should get 10 80 80 for black and DC 80 80 for white.

As mentioned, the tv is expecting white level 220 input, most players, if not all will convert a RGB level 255 to YCbCr level of 235 automatically, therefore the pattern that I posted earlier for AV composite is wrong. Update is at the bottom of this post, I have tested the input levels using OPPO BDP-83 player and can confirm that I am getting the correct levels for NTSC. BTW NTSC = 60hz, PAL = 50hz.

Unless you can find a way of inputting the pattern with PAL levels 0 to 220 I strongly suggest that you perform the ADC calib in NTSC even if in a PAL area find a way to input NTSC. The tv also needs to be prepared for a NTSC input, select analogue tv source then go to manual tuning, select a new channel to tune, under colour system select NTSC 3.58, I use m for sound system and store. Power cycle tv and perform ADC with only the composite cable connected.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PATT_Chess_SD_1024_768 0-237.png
Views:	244
Size:	12.9 KB
ID:	1630905  
ivan2011 is offline  
Old 08-30-2016, 03:34 AM
Member
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Okay, just tested my theory with the new pattern in post 229.

Step 1
Set 1st YGL target to between 126 and 128

Step 2
Set analogue tv source to NTSC 3.58

Step3
Set player/source to output NTSC
Perform ADC of AV source in NTSC

Step 4
Power cycle tv

Step 5
Change colour system of analogue tv source to PAL
Set 1st YGL target back to 64

Step 6
Set player/source to PAL
Perform ADC of AV source in PAL

Step 7
Power cycle tv

Observing the serial output of the tv, 1st YGL was set at 127 for NTSC, ignore the rest of the results from the NTSC ADC.

Upon Pal ADC 1st YGL remained at 128, it needs to be equal to or lower than 1st YGL of NTSC ADC.

I used the 6th pattern of the AVS hd disc HCFR contrast patterns, this passes levels 0 to 255! Perform calibration, results will change dramatically, then use the brightness and contrast controls of the player/source to bring down the values until 1stYGL changes to 126 and then perform ADC with the normal pattern. Power cycle tv.
ivan2011 is offline  
Old 09-04-2016, 10:44 PM
Member
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have been tinkering around some more and found the best way, as close to the factory calibration as possible. It really is quite simple, from default values of adc first set 1st av low target to 127, set 1st av high target to 940. Apply chess pattern in NTSC format and run adc calibration ONCE only. Set 1st av low and 1st av high target back to default 64 and 880, apply chess pattern in PAL format and run adc calibration. This should return correct result.

You may need to change the values of the pattern as the calibration procedure sets the maximum and minimum luminance levels. For instance 1 and 255, 1 and 251..... until you get the result that you are happy with using the 1024x768 pattern.

My calibration result for NTSC and then to PAL was 1st YGH=266 -> 243, 1st YGL=127 ->126, 2nd RGBL=70 ->135, 2nd RGBH=70 ->67 using values of 1 and 251 for black and white.
ivan2011 is offline  
Old 09-17-2016, 03:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone, I also ended up in the pool of unreturnable factory setting, though managed to get back out, so I thought, I would share my experience on fixing it.
My story is this. The TV's tuner started to have an intermittent issue, where it randomly looses signal for several hour, even days. Being an electronics hobbyist I took a look inside to see if I can find the issue, but couldn't. Then I saw you can enter the factory menu, so I gave it a try, and while going through it I managed to unintentionally run the HDMI calibration. I thought that the arrows work as a back key. So it goofed up the image a bit, since I had an Xbox 360 dashboard on there, it tried to color correct it presumably and I was left with a significant red tint.
How did I go about it? I saw this forum, read a couple of posts, and understood that you need a calibration image to spring it back to life. I tried to download the 100IRE test pattern and testing it Fullscreen on my Xbox 360, but without success, so I then searched on Google images this phrase: "samsung test pattern calibration" and downloaded the very first image that popped up. And what do you know, after feeding this image into the HDMI port made the calibration result successful! Before I also tweaked the factory settings for white balancing in the effort to fix the tint, but this was an easy fix, as the default values seems to be 128 for every category in the factory menu.
So I hope I have contributed at least some useful information for anybody, that encountered this issue.
angelioto007 is offline  
Old Today, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hi guys there is a easy solution

i have samsug fhd ue55b7000wwxxc and uhd ue55ju7500

i test it both of them

first you have to device(even satellite,ps3-ps4,xbox360 etc) to resolution 1080p /30/50/60 8X8(PATTERN CHESS) because the tv background have 8x8 pattern chess then ofcourse we have now info menu mute power.

service menu>ADC/WB>ADC>HDMİ CALİBRATİON>SUCCESS ) AFTER sleepless 2 days

i can help for that fproblem :karaaslanahmet@windowslive.com(free)

------------------------------
Amuqlar Sizi
Ahmetcan KARAASLAN is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off