Video Essentials Vs Digital Video Essentials - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-30-2006, 12:04 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SunKing9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an old dvd copy of Video Essentials from Joe Kane Productions that I bought years ago to calibrate a rear projection tv.

I am now trying to calibrate a 50" plasma display.

Do I need to buy the newer DIGITAL Video Essentials or is the old Video Essentials the same thing?

Thanks.
SunKing9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-30-2006, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Greetings

Older version had errors ... associated with early DVDs. You can still use it for the plasma. but it won't be as close ... (from an instrumentation stand point)

It does have more test patterns than the normal DVE though since it was a professional tool versus DVE being a common man item.

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Michael TLV is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-01-2007, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SunKing9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, thanks. DVE is ordered and on its way.

I went ahead and calibrated using the old disk. It will be interesting to see the difference in the two Video Essentials.
SunKing9 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-01-2007, 06:26 PM
Member
 
jakekit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does this compare to just using the THX settings stuff found on Star Wars Ep3 disc? I did get considerably different settings from the THX setup than from my old VE disc.

I'm also just waiting for the hdnet test pattern to tivo so i can setup other input from the cable box.
jakekit is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-02-2007, 10:50 AM
 
D-6500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakekit View Post

How does this compare to just using the THX settings stuff found on Star Wars Ep3 disc? I did get considerably different settings from the THX setup than from my old VE disc.

I'm also just waiting for the hdnet test pattern to tivo so i can setup other input from the cable box.


Color to me is already over exaggerated at midpoint. The color ended up so high with the THX optimizer I knew something was wrong. People have enough problems setting contrast with DVE and Avia; THX is hopless there. One standout: THX has patterns to check if your monitor ratio is correct for what you are watching the film on, 4:3 or 16:9. AVIA and the others already have those.
D-6500 is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off