To Spyder2 or not to Spyder2? - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 87 Old 01-31-2007, 04:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,954
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Did you attempt to calibrate the plasma in CRT mode? If not, can you give it a shot? Both charts look pretty bad for the Panasonic.
D-Nice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 87 Old 01-31-2007, 06:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Bear5k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tom - The reality is which calibration table better models the light source the meter is measuring. It could be that the CRT mode is the better choice for the phosphors in the plasma.

D-Nice - the goal here is to see how closely the D2 tracks the i1 Pro. Whethe the display is calibrated or not is largely irrelevant.

Bill

Color accuracy evangelist and CalMAN insider
Bear5k is offline  
post #63 of 87 Old 01-31-2007, 06:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,954
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear5k View Post

D-Nice - the goal here is to see how closely the D2 tracks the i1 Pro. Whethe the display is calibrated or not is largely irrelevant.

Bill

My bad. However, I would like him to test the CRT mode as I'm interested in getting either the i1pro or Display2 to calibrate plasmas.
D-Nice is offline  
post #64 of 87 Old 01-31-2007, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post

Derek: I ran this in test Normal mode. That is correct, yes? The CRT mode is just for CRTs and not for other types of direct view displays?

Tom - from everything I have read we will want to use CRT mode on the D2 for Plasma. Because the Plasma's are refreshed just like a direct view CRT tube, so we need the rate sync, which is very important for accuracy in the D2. Also for the phosphor cal table in the D2.

So Tom if you could run this again using CRT mode and let me know, thanks.

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #65 of 87 Old 02-01-2007, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 225
I'm scheduled to work on a Pioneer plasma Saturday. I'll test it again then with the CRT option.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #66 of 87 Old 02-01-2007, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I did a very quick test on my plasma with my DisplayLT before going to bed last night.

Connected the DisplayLT, configured it for CRT, did a reading. Immediately followed that by a reading when calibrated for LCD.

The results were indeed different. Of course silly me forgot to save the results but the biggest difference was in the blue. I believe that the CRT reading of blue was lower than LCD. I'll try and confirm post results tonight.
jvincent is offline  
post #67 of 87 Old 02-01-2007, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just reran the same test.

The readings for CRT mode result in a consistently HIGHER reading (about 2%) for blue than for LCD mode.

Red was closer, anywhere from equal to 2% or so LOWER in CRT mode.

Green was essentially dead on.
jvincent is offline  
post #68 of 87 Old 02-03-2007, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 225
The Display 2 problem with plasmas is confirmed.

Display 2 Gray scale



i1Pro Gray Scale



Note: Strangely, this problem manifests itself with gray scale readings only. Chromaticity readings seem fine. Using the CRT mode changes the reading somewhat, but it doesn't make it obviously more accurate. Furthermore, it reports an inability to read the scan rate.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #69 of 87 Old 02-03-2007, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looking at the charts it appears that RED is being over reported for the D2 vs the i1Pro.

The differences between GREEN and BLUE look to track pretty well.

Speculating, is it possible that the D2 is more sensitive to infra red than the i1Pro?

And along the same lines, this would be likely be different from plasma model to model.
jvincent is offline  
post #70 of 87 Old 02-03-2007, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 225
If you look closer the difference is more profound than that. At 100 IRE

Display 2
R 114%
G 97%
B 89%

i1Pro
R 106%
G 100%
B 93%

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #71 of 87 Old 02-04-2007, 05:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The delta between the G and B differences is only 1.5% , which is probably withing the accuarcy of the probes. I think some normalization of the RGB % happens as well which may throw things off a bit.
jvincent is offline  
post #72 of 87 Old 02-04-2007, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Mist8rioso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone besides software developers with a D2 that can compare results between Calman and HCFR?
Mist8rioso is offline  
post #73 of 87 Old 02-04-2007, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mist8rioso View Post

Anyone besides software developers with a D2 that can compare results between Calman and HCFR?

I know that this doesn't really address your question, but you might want to know that I went back and forth between CalMan and ColorFacts and got essentially the same results. You really shouldn't see any difference between competently engineered software packages. The real differences show up when you use different hardware.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #74 of 87 Old 02-04-2007, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Mist8rioso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It answers somewhat . On page 2 there was some debate stating that Calman was the only one providing accurate results w/ D2 compared to HCFR. If anyone else can test this, please inform us all .
Mist8rioso is offline  
post #75 of 87 Old 02-05-2007, 05:34 AM
Member
 
Georges G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Mist8rioso

It wasn't a debate, it was just a claim from Calman authors

Regards
Georges
Georges G is offline  
post #76 of 87 Old 02-10-2007, 05:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
benven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Total noob here with calibration. But I have a SpyderII and HCFR. DLP front projector, LG upconverter DVD player. I nailed down grayscale a few weeks ago, but went to recheck last night and I am not even close anymore. Reds are way down across the entire IRE spectrum. Really frustrating. This isn't the first time I have recehcked and got a different result. The good thing is the picture looks great to me now and that's what matters. But, I am going to change my screen and would like to recalibrate but I can't trust this thing. Any suggestions other than buying another probe? Anyone else experience this? Thanks.

Meow.
benven is offline  
post #77 of 87 Old 02-10-2007, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it's a new projector, it could be your lamp is in the rapid-initial-decay mode....


Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #78 of 87 Old 02-10-2007, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
greeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 2,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
It might also be the S2 probe. It can give you variations that might be big just from temperature variations.

Best,
jeff
greeno is offline  
post #79 of 87 Old 02-10-2007, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
benven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Projector bulb has over 800 hours on it. And I hadn't changed a single thing with the PJ setup. When I turned on the room lights red did go up as it should have. So it is responding. If I try to adjust GB down or R up, I will end up with an overly red image.

greeno, can you please further explain what you mean by temperature variation? Is it bulb temperature, room temperature, colour temperature?

Are any of the other probes more repeatable?

Meow.
benven is offline  
post #80 of 87 Old 02-10-2007, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 98
The Spyder2 is very sensitive to ambient temperature changes, as little as 5 degs you can get 5% change in readings. So it's not a problem as long as your ambient temperature is not changing with you are calibrating and not trying to compare day to day readings.

Yes the Display2 has been very good on all display types except Plasma because it does not have a IR filter like most other tristim meters. But we do have a plan for that

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #81 of 87 Old 02-11-2007, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
benven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Derek. I guess I shouldn't have been cheap!

Meow.
benven is offline  
post #82 of 87 Old 02-18-2007, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 225
I had a chance to test the Display 2 against the i1Pro on an uncalibrated LCD flat panel. It does quite well

i1Pro Grayscale



Display 2 Grayscale



i1Pro Chromaticity



Display 2 Chromaticity



They deviate a little with respect to green, but not enough I think to be perceptible. All in all, very good performance with this inexpensive colorimeter.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #83 of 87 Old 02-18-2007, 05:59 PM
Member
 
Mist8rioso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tom,

Would you mind doing a quick run on ColorHCFR with a Display2 and compare its result to Calman? I really want to see how they compare. PM me if need be. Hope it's not much to ask .
Mist8rioso is offline  
post #84 of 87 Old 12-13-2007, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Najeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone try either of these two yet?

Thanks,
Najeeb
Najeeb is offline  
post #85 of 87 Old 12-14-2007, 05:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Bear5k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Najeeb View Post

Anyone try either of these two yet?

Thanks,
Najeeb

Yes. The Spyder3 is a bit faster than the Spyder2, but cannot use its internal CRT calibration table (as of 12/14/07). I would not recommend it for anything other than a direct-view LCD given some of the issues we've seen with ours. This is only a sample of 1, so take this with the grain of salt. The deactivation of the CRT table is done via the Colorvision software, so that is not something that varies from meter to meter.

The Platinum are the "hand picked" Spyders, and they test well. The only issue is filter degradation over time. At the pricing for these, though, you are getting fairly close to an i1 Pro...

Bill

Color accuracy evangelist and CalMAN insider
Bear5k is offline  
post #86 of 87 Old 02-09-2008, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Curious, is there a way to get into support mode with the Mac software?
SnakeEyes is offline  
post #87 of 87 Old 03-04-2009, 01:52 AM
Newbie
 
williswine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Derek,

Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post

Yes the Display2 has been very good on all display types except Plasma because it does not have a IR filter like most other tristim meters. But we do have a plan for that

I know it has been a while but has Calman been confirmed to work fine, eventually modified since then, with an EyeOne Display 2 and a plasma? I would be interested in calibrating my Kuro Pro-111fd with Calman and the Display 2 but don't know whether this makes sense due to that problem with red.

Thanks,
Williswine
williswine is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off