Seperate Calibration for Inputs - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-15-2007, 08:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
johnarbour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denham Springs, La
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, my questions is this: I know I need to calibrate every input on my 42" LG plasma. I have used DVE and done a pretty good job on the component through the DVD player. But, if I want to calibrate my HD OTA antenna input for instance, would it work to hook the DVD player up to that input, and calibrate using DVE? Or do I have to have a test pattern from that source? Same with HD DirecTv...would it help to hook up DVD player to the HDMI input and calibrate, or use HDNETs pattern on Tuesday mornings? Thanks for the help!
johnarbour is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-15-2007, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joelc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Simple answers...you need a signal from the source....

Joel
Some people choose to have a pool, I choose to have a home theater!
Joelc is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-16-2007, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
johnarbour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denham Springs, La
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what's the best way to calibrate a source such as OTA or satellite?
johnarbour is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-16-2007, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
noizemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well the correct way to do it would be with the use of a designated signal generator. You must be aware of the fact that even a properly calibrated OTA or Satellite or Cable input may not yield desirable results however. Reason being that broadcast signals vary from channel to channel.

Just my 2 cents.
Carmine.
noizemaker is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-16-2007, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Greetings

Do it with a HD signal generator and cross your fingers that it gets close. (It usually gets close, but there will be channel to channel and program to program variations.) Fact of life.

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-16-2007, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
johnarbour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denham Springs, La
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like the easy way is to "eye-ball" it!
johnarbour is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-16-2007, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Greetings

You can eyeball it, but the grayscale is still wrong.

With stuff like cable ... you find that there is a bit of variability with brightness and color and tint from program to program. A couple of clicks one way or the other usually fixes the variance.

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off