Panasonic Plasma Calibration - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 16 Old 02-13-2007, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a TH-42PHD8UK that I have been using quite happily for over a year.
This year I added a second HDMI port to hook up my new blu-ray player (ps3)
and I now have the need to recalibrate.

General questions:
- Should a plasma display be recalibrated with every video source (IE: new dvd
player, DVR, etc) or should the same settings be used for every source?
- Do the two HDMI inputs need to be calibrated separately?

The reason I ask is my display seems to be way off when I use the same settings
for both video1 and video2 (now both hdmi inputs). Even when the same video
source is used.

In the past I have used two DVD calibration discs, the digital home essentials
and another no-name disc. But I am having some difficulty nailing down the
settings. Could be just me (Im part color blind) but I can still tell the settings
are off. So, naturally I am now looking into using a device as well as software.
I have read a few reviews on this forum and most people seem to like the
SpyderTV unit and the DisplayLT. They are both in my price range.

Specific questions:
- What unit would you recomend to calibrate this display? SpyderTV, DisplayLT
or something else?
- Do either of them use the serial input on the TV to save the settings exactly?
- Does the display allow you to set the more advanced settings? I have only seen
the basic brightness, color, tint and contrast.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 02-13-2007, 06:52 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Your display is capable of extremely accurate rendition of any given material with measured, then compensated adjustments for inaccuracies. Without actually measuring where you start from, where you end up is no more than a guess on your part.