Calibration Tools - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-04-2007, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
snash22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rockbridge County, VA
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am about to purchase the Eye-One Display 2 colorimeter and I want to ensure before I make the purchase, that it is all I will need to purchase to help me do what I am expecting.

1. calibrate gamma
2. calibrate grayscale
3. calibrate color temp

I currently have GetGray (and AVIA) and have done basic calibrations.

A) Will Eye-One + GetGray be all I need for this?

B Do I need something like ColorHCFR? I'm not sure where this fits in the calibration toolbox.

C) I have an LCoS set, does this impact any of my decision? (I am aware of no blooming issues)
snash22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-05-2007, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
snash22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rockbridge County, VA
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did my question display such a level of cluelessness that no one knows where to start?

Wouldn't be the first time
snash22 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-05-2007, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
noizemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You would need some aort of calibration software, ie HCFR or CalMAN. With that plus your eye-one & get gray you would be all set. Also, knowledge of navigating within your sets service menu is also needed.

Good Luck
Carmine.
noizemaker is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 03-05-2007, 03:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
snash22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rockbridge County, VA
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks noizemaker. I'll look into Calman and HFCR.
snash22 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-05-2007, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
noizemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anytime. What type of set are you going to be calibrating? Specifically, what brand?

Carmine.
noizemaker is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-05-2007, 07:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
snash22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rockbridge County, VA
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Sony KDS-60A2000. January build. I've had it for about 3 weeks. It is a very nice set. My old set is a 36" Sony Wega, that was nice too, but it didn't even accept progressive scan. It was very nice for its day.

I did a lot of Service Menu adjustments on it though I stuck with the adjustments that were based on the test patterns on the Avia disk and experimented based on some items I read about on another forum.

I've checked out the Service Menu on the new set and made a few recommended tweaks I read elsewhere in the this forum. I'm hoping based on my increased investment, that spending a little extra money and time will really make this stunning.
snash22 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-05-2007, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Actually, the main purpose of the sensor + software is to adjust the unit's color performance. This particular set has almost perfect color temperature at the Warm2 setting. It has an inaccurate color gamut, which the Display 2 would be useful for in theory, but unfortunately this parameter is not adjustable on this set.

In short, I think that the calibration disc and a blue filter is really all you need.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-08-2007, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
snash22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rockbridge County, VA
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TomHuffman - Color Gamut, A new term for me. I checked it out on Wikipedia. At least it is not adjustable on my set so I won't agonize over it.

Does the sensor help with setting the gamma? If not, then what does?

I'm getting the impression that grayscale & color temp are the same. True?
snash22 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-08-2007, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by snash22 View Post

Does the sensor help with setting the gamma? If not, then what does?

I'm getting the impression that grayscale & color temp are the same. True?

After setting Brightness and Contrast correctly and then putting the set into Warm2 the gamma should be fine.

Yes.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-08-2007, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
snash22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rockbridge County, VA
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which brings me full circle in my calibration quest. I started my lines if inquiry in an earlier post with the attached images of my gamma.

Brightness and contrast set using Avia. Color temp Warm2. It loks to be a gamma of about 1.8 or 1.9.
LL
LL
snash22 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 03-08-2007, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 216
If the display has custom gamma presets then experiment with those. If not, that's the best you can do.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 03-09-2007, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
rickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by snash22 View Post

Which brings me full circle in my calibration quest. I started my lines if inquiry in an earlier post with the attached images of my gamma.

Brightness and contrast set using Avia. Color temp Warm2. It loks to be a gamma of about 1.8 or 1.9.

My set also shows about ike this for gamma. I don't beleive I have any setting in SM for gamma itself (Tosh 65HX93).

So what is the result of having a gamma as shown in above pics?

( I raised this about a year agao, and a few posters indicated that using the pattern in AVIA for gamma was very innacurate. But would it be that far off?)

Also, does anyone know temperature setting in usually closest to D6500 on the Tosh 65HX93? (cool, medium, warm are choices).

Thanks,
Rick
rickie is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 03-10-2007, 05:51 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
snash22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rockbridge County, VA
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


If the display has custom gamma presets then experiment with those. If not, that's the best you can do.

I tried the custom calibration settings and it did not improve it. There are also calibration settings in the SM, and quite possibly there is a combination between the two that will work, but it is difficult to toggle between the two and there would be something over 100 combintions to try. Doable, I'll see when I have a spare weekend!

TomHuffman - Your posts seem to imply that even a professional calibration would do me no good. Am I reading too much into what you said?
snash22 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 03-10-2007, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 216
No, you correctly read what I wrote. So often it's not a problem with the calibrator or the tools he uses. If the display lacks the necessary controls, then there's nothing you can do about it. Actually a gamma of 1.9, though a little low, is not too bad. The target is 2.2-2.5. I've seen gammas in the 3.5-4.0 range.

Gamma is just a number that mathematically describes the rate at which the display produces increasing light output as the voltage is increased. You could always lower your brightness control at little to raise your gamma, but this will probably sacrifice shadow detail.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off