AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration - Page 129 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3841 of 4075 Old 02-04-2014, 05:00 AM
Newbie
 
Magnuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh dear, the download link appears to be dead now!

Edit : Found the mirror links in the 1st page!
Magnuz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3842 of 4075 Old 03-08-2014, 06:48 AM
Newbie
 
harryccf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

thx share

harryccf is offline  
post #3843 of 4075 Old 03-08-2014, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Orta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey guys, has anyone converted this suite of patterns into a compilation of images (presumably PNG or BMP) as it's wildly unnecessary and cumbersome to burn and navigate a disc with the proliferation of HTPC's and mHDMI/MHL/Slimport mobile devices.
Orta is offline  
post #3844 of 4075 Old 03-08-2014, 02:54 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orta View Post

Hey guys, has anyone converted this suite of patterns into a compilation of images (presumably PNG or BMP) as it's wildly unnecessary and cumbersome to burn and navigate a disc with the proliferation of HTPC's and mHDMI/MHL/Slimport mobile devices.

Try the MP4 version. Links are on the first page. Once you unzip, you'll find each pattern as a stand-alone video file.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #3845 of 4075 Old 03-09-2014, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Orta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post

Try the MP4 version. Links are on the first page. Once you unzip, you'll find each pattern as a stand-alone video file.

Thanks, yea I've been using that for a while. In practice though it's not quite as simple or streamlined as images would be where you could just swipe or hit an arrow key for the next slide and I'm not entirely trusting that video players may or may not be mucking with the output. The video file sizes, while manageable, are also a little bloated for portable or cloud use.
Orta is offline  
post #3846 of 4075 Old 03-09-2014, 02:56 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orta View Post

Thanks, yea I've been using that for a while. In practice though it's not quite as simple or streamlined as images would be where you could just swipe or hit an arrow key for the next slide and I'm not entirely trusting that video players may or may not be mucking with the output. The video file sizes, while manageable, are also a little bloated for portable or cloud use.

In my opinion, the problem with patterns as images is that a lot of players, stand-alone or HTPC, display images in a different color space (RGB full, for example, vs. YCbCr for video files). Keep in mind that you are calibrating the display to the player, after all, so you have no choice but to "trust" the player biggrin.gif
ConnecTEDDD likes this.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #3847 of 4075 Old 03-10-2014, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orta View Post

Hey guys, has anyone converted this suite of patterns into a compilation of images (presumably PNG or BMP)

The video patterns are based on images, which can be downloaded from:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/948496/avs-hd-709-blu-ray-mp4-calibration/3390#post_22305141

Personally I have setup my computer incorrectly at times to use these images for some tasks, but generally I agree that for most people the images are of limited use. For example typical 8-bit video uses 16 for black and 235 for white, which is how the images are setup, but typically images use 0 and 255 to represent black and white. It would be possible to expand the range of the images, but I don't know how that would necessarily be very valuable or in line with the original intent of the thread.
alluringreality is offline  
post #3848 of 4075 Old 03-11-2014, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Is it possible to put this calibration pattern into Skydrive, and run it on my xbox one? If so how

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
post #3849 of 4075 Old 03-11-2014, 12:38 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodean View Post

Is it possible to put this calibration pattern into Skydrive, and run it on my xbox one? If so how
It's probably better to just put the extracted MP4 version on a USB drive and connect that to the Xbox. Uncompressed, the MP4 version is roughly 1.6GB in size.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #3850 of 4075 Old 03-13-2014, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
mbze430's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone here try using the MP4 version on the Sony Bravia TV using the internal player?
mbze430 is offline  
post #3851 of 4075 Old 03-14-2014, 12:57 PM
Member
 
tbaudoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Apex, North Carolina
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yep, I recall the levels matching just fine, but it has been a little while. BTW, 41XBR929. I use the MP4s on a stick all the time to check and setup the basics plus verify that the settings are similar memory modes, and etc..
tbaudoin is offline  
post #3852 of 4075 Old 03-18-2014, 12:49 PM
Member
 
gearskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yea i really wanna re use this on my xbox one to calibrate my tv again....
put i dont think you can play mp4 on xbox one yet???

Gamer
XBL: GearskiN
PSN: GearskiN

TV: Samsung UN46D7000

Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS3, PS4.
gearskin is offline  
post #3853 of 4075 Old 03-18-2014, 01:11 PM
Member
 
tbaudoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Apex, North Carolina
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gearskin View Post

yea i really wanna re use this on my xbox one to calibrate my tv again....
put i dont think you can play mp4 on xbox one yet???

Does this help?
http://gaming.stackexchange.com/questions/143408/how-can-i-play-my-video-files-on-the-xbox-one

Maybe there is a way to stream the patterns via this method?
tbaudoin is offline  
post #3854 of 4075 Old 03-22-2014, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
azcoug1104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Newb here.

If my computer is connected to my TV can I just download the software to my computer and run the calibration that way, or does it have to be done through a blu-ray player?

Does the CD run you through everything step by step or is it a bunch of menus that I have to know where to go and what I want to input?
azcoug1104 is offline  
post #3855 of 4075 Old 03-22-2014, 10:44 AM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by azcoug1104 View Post

Newb here.

If my computer is connected to my TV can I just download the software to my computer and run the calibration that way, or does it have to be done through a blu-ray player?

Does the CD run you through everything step by step or is it a bunch of menus that I have to know where to go and what I want to input?
You can use the MP4 version or the disc versions, if your computer also has a Blu-ray drive. The important thing is to play the patterns in the software player you normally use for video playback. There are no instructions on the disc itself, but you can download the manual, which explains everything in great detail.
ConnecTEDDD likes this.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #3856 of 4075 Old 03-22-2014, 01:01 PM
Newbie
 
azcoug1104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post

You can use the MP4 version or the disc versions, if your computer also has a Blu-ray drive. The important thing is to play the patterns in the software player you normally use for video playback. There are no instructions on the disc itself, but you can download the manual, which explains everything in great detail.

So will the improved picture only be visible in the device I use for the calibration or will the whole TV be calibrated whether I'm watching cable, blu-ray, xbmc?

I use Xbmc for a lot of our video playback, when the calibration work with that software?
azcoug1104 is offline  
post #3857 of 4075 Old 03-22-2014, 01:16 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by azcoug1104 View Post

So will the improved picture only be visible in the device I use for the calibration or will the whole TV be calibrated whether I'm watching cable, blu-ray, xbmc?

I use Xbmc for a lot of our video playback, when the calibration work with that software?
That depends on whether your computer outputs at the same levels as your other sources. It is always best to adjust for each input, but in the case of a cable box, for example, you just have to hope that it's not too far off. Generally speaking, if you calibrate your TV to your Blu-ray player, all other HDMI sources should be fairly close, if you use the same mode and settings on the TV.

XBMC should work just fine with the AVS patterns.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #3858 of 4075 Old 03-22-2014, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
praz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post

Generally speaking, if you calibrate your TV to your Blu-ray player, all other HDMI sources should be fairly close, if you use the same mode and settings on the TV.

Hello

This is assuming that the Blu-ray player's output is bit perfect which many are not.
praz is offline  
post #3859 of 4075 Old 03-22-2014, 01:29 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by praz View Post

Hello

This is assuming that the Blu-ray player's output is bit perfect which many are not.
Understood. That's why I said fairly close smile.gif

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #3860 of 4075 Old 03-23-2014, 12:34 PM
Newbie
 
Jeff Lane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello!

 

I'm sorry if this question has been asked before. I did a search and didn't find an answer.

 

I've burned the HDMV-2d.iso file to a DVD but when I insert it in my PS3 I see a list of folders with a bunch of files and am unable to actually navigate the DVD. Some of the files appear to be test patterns, but the filenames are just numbers (and there's too many to go through one by one). What am I doing wrong?

 

Thanks!

Jeff Lane is offline  
post #3861 of 4075 Old 03-23-2014, 07:04 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Lane View Post

Hello!

I'm sorry if this question has been asked before. I did a search and didn't find an answer.

I've burned the HDMV-2d.iso file to a DVD but when I insert it in my PS3 I see a list of folders with a bunch of files and am unable to actually navigate the DVD. Some of the files appear to be test patterns, but the filenames are just numbers (and there's too many to go through one by one). What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!
The HDMV version won't work when burned to a DVD. It's meant to be burned to a Blu-ray disc. You need to burn the AVCHD ISO to a DVD. That will play just fine in the PS3. I've used it myself.
tbaudoin likes this.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #3862 of 4075 Old 04-01-2014, 06:47 PM
Newbie
 
savedbyhim01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I downloaded the MP4 file and burned the files/folders to a writable DVD. When I attempted to play it with the XBOX360, it said "mixed media disc" and wouldn't let me open it. Did I do something wrong? Should  I use one of the other files instead? Thanks!

savedbyhim01 is offline  
post #3863 of 4075 Old 04-01-2014, 06:51 PM
Newbie
 
savedbyhim01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I tried playing it with the video player and it works now. Problem solved. Thanks again.

savedbyhim01 is offline  
post #3864 of 4075 Old 04-04-2014, 12:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 195
In the Calman section, there are groups labeled 75% Color and 100% Color.

Does this refer to saturation or intensity?

Within each group, how are the 2 subgroups different?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #3865 of 4075 Old 04-04-2014, 12:45 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

In the Calman section, there are groups labeled 75% Color and 100% Color.

Does this refer to saturation or intensity?

Within each group, how are the 2 subgroups different?
Those two refer to luminance, not saturation. The disc also has separate saturation patterns.

EDIT: It seems the saturation patterns aren't meant to be used with CalMAN. At least they're not in the CalMAN section, but both ChromaPure and HCFR sections have them.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #3866 of 4075 Old 04-07-2014, 02:54 PM
Member
 
5h4d0w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Austria
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm just preparing to calibrate two projectors and while trying out this disc on my PC monitor, I came across a curious issue.

No matter what I do, I can't get it to display values below 17. Even though e.g. in Photoshop, I am able to differentiate between 0 and 1. Same goes for the White Clipping test. Photoshop goes up to 254 but the White Clipping only to 234.

I've tried MPC-HC with CoreAVC and madVR, MPC with CoreAVC and VLC. madVR is set to 0-255 and I tried all possible combinations of input/output levels in CoreAVC.
Also, I have the video output range in my graphics card driver (AMD Catalyst) set to 0-255.
What else could be at fault here?
5h4d0w is offline  
post #3867 of 4075 Old 04-08-2014, 09:41 PM
Member
 
Kele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Aloha
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
@5h4d0w (above)...
I get the same thing showing on TV (clipped or "crushed" below 17) when setting a source component (BDP and WDTVhub) to RGB-limited. RGB-Full and YCbCr both show full-range of gradients with brightness turned up.
Kele is offline  
post #3868 of 4075 Old 04-09-2014, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
bepsea83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Good morning ladies and gents, I've been toiling with this for the past three days and seem to be either incapable of doing it correctly (completely plausible) or am going about it the wrong way.

 

I have my XBR-55X850A connected to a media center pc running windows 7. The computer is connected to the TV via a Monster ISF 2000HD 5ft HDMI cable, and video is produced via a GEForce 210 graphics card. I have the Nvidia control panel set to YCbCr444 as opposed to RGB, and the dynamic range set to Full on the tv. I play the set up chapters via VLC media player in full screen mode directly from the computer to the TV. 

 

I cannot, for the life of me, seem to get the blacks and whites to align correctly. I get the black to where the proper numbers flash, but when I try to balance the contrast via chapter 3, it doesn't seem to adjust at all. It doesnt matter how far up or how far down I ramp the "picture" setting, the bars don't seem to change, yet the picture still looks kinda crappy...

 

My wife wont buy into the idea of having an ISF certified tech out to calibrate it, so I need to figure out how to do it myself. 

 

Can anyone give me a little bit of insight into what I'm doing wrong?

 

Thank you in advance :)

bepsea83 is offline  
post #3869 of 4075 Old 04-09-2014, 09:22 AM
Member
 
5h4d0w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Austria
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kele View Post

@5h4d0w (above)...
I get the same thing showing on TV (clipped or "crushed" below 17) when setting a source component (BDP and WDTVhub) to RGB-limited. RGB-Full and YCbCr both show full-range of gradients with brightness turned up.

Which would make sense. However, like I said - in my case:

5h4d0w is offline  
post #3870 of 4075 Old 04-09-2014, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by bepsea83 View Post

Good morning ladies and gents, I've been toiling with this for the past three days and seem to be either incapable of doing it correctly (completely plausible) or am going about it the wrong way.

I have my XBR-55X850A connected to a media center pc running windows 7. The computer is connected to the TV via a Monster ISF 2000HD 5ft HDMI cable, and video is produced via a GEForce 210 graphics card. I have the Nvidia control panel set to YCbCr444 as opposed to RGB, and the dynamic range set to Full on the tv. I play the set up chapters via VLC media player in full screen mode directly from the computer to the TV. 

I cannot, for the life of me, seem to get the blacks and whites to align correctly. I get the black to where the proper numbers flash, but when I try to balance the contrast via chapter 3, it doesn't seem to adjust at all. It doesnt matter how far up or how far down I ramp the "picture" setting, the bars don't seem to change, yet the picture still looks kinda crappy...

My wife wont buy into the idea of having an ISF certified tech out to calibrate it, so I need to figure out how to do it myself. 

Can anyone give me a little bit of insight into what I'm doing wrong?

Thank you in advance smile.gif

I'd just leave the Nvidia card on RGB unless you've demonstrated that the YCbCr option is better somehow, say, by using the ColorSpace Evaluation pattern in Spears and Munsil 2nd ed.

As for seeing the BTB and WTW bars, if your PC is outputting RGB Full in the proper way, and it needs to be since you've configured the TV that way, you will never see them, because that information was lost in expanding Video Levels to PC Levels.
sawfish is online now  
Reply Display Calibration

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , lg bp530
Gear in this thread - bp530 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off