AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration - Page 150 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 79Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4471 of 4487 Old 05-08-2017, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1381 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jive Turkey View Post
I need the full field 0 and 100%. I've found plenty of non-full field (amplitude box framed by black background) easy enough. I found a full field 100%, but a full field 0% has been a bit elusive for me. I think I found a way to get that, but it was a bit hidden for me in colorhcfr, so I thought someone might know where I can easily find the 0%, that I might have missed.
As mentioned in my previous post, the Contrast sections of both ChromaPure and ColorHCFR patterns contains both 0% and 100% full field.

JVC DLA-RS4910
HCFR Bug List
Dominic Chan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4472 of 4487 Old 05-08-2017, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: good old USA
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
As mentioned in my previous post, the Contrast sections of both ChromaPure and ColorHCFR patterns contains both 0% and 100% full field.
I found it from your advice.

It appears I have to hit the "popup menu" button on my remote to get a drop down menu to select 0 and 100% IRE fields. Found that by trial and error.

Thanks!

See ya. Dave

"High Fidelity audio has been like a dog chasing his tail. High Fidelity in my marriage has been much more rewarding because she knows where I sleep."
Jive Turkey is offline  
post #4473 of 4487 Old 05-21-2017, 08:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: good old USA
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 150
No pro here, but familiar, and not hesitant to ask dumb questions.

For setting up my UHD HDR profile on my projector, I can still use AVS-709 burned to DVD-R to set brightness and contrast, right? Just set it to 16-235 range; no practical reason to run BTB and WTW?

See ya. Dave

"High Fidelity audio has been like a dog chasing his tail. High Fidelity in my marriage has been much more rewarding because she knows where I sleep."
Jive Turkey is offline  
 
post #4474 of 4487 Old 06-06-2017, 02:14 PM
Newbie
 
agtjamesb007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
used for 4k?

My question is similar to the one above as well. Can this calibration tool burned to a dvd be used to help calibrate a 4k tv, or is it only for hdtv's?

Thanks
agtjamesb007 is offline  
post #4475 of 4487 Old 06-06-2017, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 4,951
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked: 1917
Quote:
Originally Posted by agtjamesb007 View Post
My question is similar to the one above as well. Can this calibration tool burned to a dvd be used to help calibrate a 4k tv, or is it only for hdtv's?

Thanks
Hi, the resolution is not related with calibration, the colorspace the content you want to watch matters only.

So for SDR (Blu-Ray) you aim for REC.709 colorspace, if you have 720p/1080p/2160p display, for this job you can use AVSHD.

For HDR, you can't use it, you need HDR patterns and aim for REC.2020 colorspace for calibration.
JimP likes this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #4476 of 4487 Old 06-07-2017, 10:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can be used this tool to check if the 4k tv overscan the image? or maybe we need a specific tool for 4k tv?
diezjackdaniels is offline  
post #4477 of 4487 Old 06-15-2017, 09:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi;
I downloaded AVS HD and burned it successfully to a DVD disc.

My TV is a SEIKI SE32HD07UK 32" LED TV.
Specs for TV are:

HD Ready 720p
Picture quality: 50 Hz

Finding myself overwhelmed as to how to optimally calibrate my TV/PS4, and very confused as to what benchmarks, settings to calibrate etc. Can anyone help, please?
humblemetsuke is offline  
post #4478 of 4487 Old 06-15-2017, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,087
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1544 Post(s)
Liked: 966
Without a light meter and special software, all you can do with the AVS HD709 disk is adjust the basics: color, aspect, sharpness, brightness, and contrast. That may be all you need. Just follow the pattern recommendations on the disk. If memory serves me correctly, there's a little tutorial on the disk as well.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #4479 of 4487 Old 06-15-2017, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Without a light meter and special software, all you can do with the AVS HD709 disk is adjust the basics: color, aspect, sharpness, brightness, and contrast. That may be all you need. Just follow the pattern recommendations on the disk. If memory serves me correctly, there's a little tutorial on the disk as well.
It doesnt seem to work, I do not seem to be able to alter variables. It is like a DVD movie, I can skip chapters, fast forward, rewind etc; but, in terms of actually altering values....no, I seem unable to :\
humblemetsuke is offline  
post #4480 of 4487 Old 06-15-2017, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,087
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1544 Post(s)
Liked: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by humblemetsuke View Post
It doesnt seem to work, I do not seem to be able to alter variables. It is like a DVD movie, I can skip chapters, fast forward, rewind etc; but, in terms of actually altering values....no, I seem unable to :\
The DVD itself doesn't do anything. It just displays patterns etc that you adjust what ever user controls are available to you. You may have to pause the DVD, go back to your tv's settings menu, make a change, and then go back to the DVD to see if the change made a difference. Some tv's offer better consumer controls than others. You should be able adjust the basics at least.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #4481 of 4487 Old 06-15-2017, 10:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
The DVD itself doesn't do anything. It just displays patterns etc that you adjust what ever user controls are available to you. You may have to pause the DVD, go back to your tv's settings menu, make a change, and then go back to the DVD to see if the change made a difference. Some tv's offer better consumer controls than others. You should be able adjust the basics at least.
Oh god; I get you now. What an idiot!

Thank you.
humblemetsuke is offline  
post #4482 of 4487 Old 06-15-2017, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,087
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1544 Post(s)
Liked: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by humblemetsuke View Post
Oh god; I get you now. What an idiot!

Thank you.
Not to worry. A lot of old time posters here will never admit to some of the things they did during the learning process
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #4483 of 4487 Old 06-15-2017, 02:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,222
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1559 Post(s)
Liked: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by humblemetsuke View Post
Oh god; I get you now. What an idiot!

Thank you.
You're not the only one.

I've read about others who thought playing a calibration disk on your player would calibrate your TV.

Given the self calibration nature of audio with Audyssey, its not that much of a stretch.

Klein K-10A, CR250, i1D3, i1Pro2, Calman Enthusiast, LG 65B6P, Panasonic 65VT50, and a great wife that puts up with all this.:)
JimP is offline  
post #4484 of 4487 Old 06-15-2017, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 4,951
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked: 1917
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #4485 of 4487 Old 06-17-2017, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Hi guys,

Quick questions: I m calibrating my black levels on my Samsung F6400 display that is connected directly to my Xbox One.

I get can 2-25 flash on the black clipping pattern, is this correct or do I need to to change my brightness more down to get only 17-25 flash?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #4486 of 4487 Old 06-17-2017, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 145
AVS HD 709 is video, so you want only 17-25 to flash.
sawfish is online now  
post #4487 of 4487 Old Today, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
proudx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Marietta, GA USA
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My understanding is you should always turn off dynamic contrast before adjusting color or tint using s blue filter? Why is that? if I want to use dynamic contrast it seems I should calibrate with dynamic contrast enabled as if I calibrate with dynamic contrast off the color saturation and tint saturation is off again once dynamic contrast is enabled.
proudx is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , lg bp530
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off