AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration - Page 23 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 4034 Old 05-03-2008, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
ivo welch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: los angeles ca
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
does anyone have the md5 sum for the ISOs? (I am burning the hd dvd one, so naturally this is the one I would be most interested in.) mine is

58ba695205c9e0d5053979c91a9ad2b2

for the HD DVD iso file. is this correct? (my first attempt produced a coaster, but this could have been due to other issues.)

/iaw
ivo welch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 4034 Old 05-03-2008, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hwjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Down by the river
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivo welch View Post

does anyone have the md5 sum for the ISOs? (I am burning the hd dvd one, so naturally this is the one I would be most interested in.) mine is

58ba695205c9e0d5053979c91a9ad2b2

for the HD DVD iso file. is this correct? (my first attempt produced a coaster, but this could have been due to other issues.)

/iaw

Allluringreality is probably the one who would have to give you that. All the rest of us download it from a server.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

The 2007 Patriots: 18 -1
Tom who?
"...the small of napalm in the evening breeze, as I crouch behind a shopping cart in the parking lot..." - The Mall Ninja
hwjohn is offline  
post #663 of 4034 Old 05-05-2008, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
ivo welch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: los angeles ca
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I did download it from the server mentioned in the leading message of this thread, too. I downloaded the windows .exe form. I ran it on a notebook with windows. then I had a file that needed some unarchiver (rar?). I did that too. Then I had an iso file. I moved it over to my main linux machine. it was 3,521,341,824 bytes long. this is also the file for which I computed the checksum. I believe md5 is a pretty common standard to ascertain whether a file is correct and unmodified.

anyway, I then loaded it into linux's k3b dvd/cd application, but k3b did not recognize it as an .iso file. I burned it anyway, and promptly had a coaster.

let's hope alluringreality can tell me whether I have a mistake earlier in the chain, or at the burning stage.

regards,

/iaw
ivo welch is offline  
post #664 of 4034 Old 05-05-2008, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 34
If you use the exe on a windows machine then an unarchiver shouldn't be necessary. The exe should go to iso. If that doesn't happen then use the 7zip version. There are really only two steps: unarchive (either exe or 7z), then burn resulting iso. I could probably get the checksum if necessary (orignals are on a different computer), but the way I read what you said you unarchived the same file twice which doesn't seem right.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alluringreality is offline  
post #665 of 4034 Old 05-06-2008, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
ivo welch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: los angeles ca
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
ok, I downloaded the .7z file now, and ran it all through linux. so this was a completely different process from start to end. I am happy to report that both the md5sum and the file size that I reported for the HD DVD .iso file is correct.

so, my problem is in the burning stage. working on it next...

/iaw
ivo welch is offline  
post #666 of 4034 Old 05-15-2008, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 215
First of all, thank you guys this is great, and very much appreciate your work and contribution.

I downloaded the exe file and had some trouble burning the iso. First I tried using XPburningrom freeware and it did not recognized the file as an ISO file.

I used DVDDecrypter and everything is working to perfection.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

superleo is offline  
post #667 of 4034 Old 05-17-2008, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
creatine64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question, is there a DVD available with all these test patterns on it that will play on a standard DVD player?

I've got a Toshiba upscale DVD player connected via HDMI in our bedroom TV and I'd like to take some readings and do a calibration on it using HCFR, I've got DVE that is not for BR or HDDVD but it doesn't have the 0 IRE thru 100 IRE patterns that HCFR uses, is there something out like this or is there some settings that I can change within HCFR to use only certain patterns when take greyscale measurements?

Thanks
creatine64 is offline  
post #668 of 4034 Old 05-17-2008, 04:03 PM
Member
 
Robert_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by creatine64 View Post

I have a question, is there a DVD available with all these test patterns on it that will play on a standard DVD player?

I've got a Toshiba upscale DVD player connected via HDMI in our bedroom TV and I'd like to take some readings and do a calibration on it using HCFR, I've got DVE that is not for BR or HDDVD but it doesn't have the 0 IRE thru 100 IRE patterns that HCFR uses, is there something out like this or is there some settings that I can change within HCFR to use only certain patterns when take greyscale measurements?

Thanks

Check out this thread. Basic Guide to Color Calibration using a CMS. Tom Huffman has a DVD similar to the HD version. Not all the same test patterns, but very useful. Here is the link. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=852536
Robert_W is offline  
post #669 of 4034 Old 05-17-2008, 04:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
thomasl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by creatine64 View Post

I have a question, is there a DVD available with all these test patterns on it that will play on a standard DVD player?

In addition to Tom Huffman's dvd, there is also GetGray - which is $25 - but well worth it. It's thread should be fairly close to the top somewhere. Just do a search for GetGray - Tom may also have a link to it from his sticky thread.

cheers,


--tom
thomasl is offline  
post #670 of 4034 Old 05-17-2008, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
creatine64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thank you
creatine64 is offline  
post #671 of 4034 Old 05-17-2008, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CT_Wiebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
creatine64 -- The AVS HD 709 calibration disc is not designed to be used in non-HD players. It is set up for HD only (hence the Rec 709 color coding). As was recommended, use the GetGray caldisc for SD players (which use the Rec. 601 color encoding). The web page for it is www.calibrate.tv and the forum page is here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post7178409.

- Claus {non-Santa model}
CT_Wiebe is offline  
post #672 of 4034 Old 05-18-2008, 09:31 AM
Member
 
VA HDman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVA
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to everyone that has work hard to make this disc possible. I had no problems downloading it or burning it to a BlueRay disc.

I'm currently using some cheap color filters that came with an older version of Avia to adjust the color settings. What type of equipment are folks using to do their calibrations? I need to be able to perform a more complete calibration of my front projector and LCD flat panels, but I don't want to spend $3-$5k on high end equipment, if possible. I looked at the Spyder3 Elite but I don't think it will work with the front projector. Anyone have any experience with Spyders?

Thanks
VA HDman is offline  
post #673 of 4034 Old 05-19-2008, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I just use ColorHCFR with a Display LT that cost about $140. The DTP-94 generally also gets good comments in the price range of a Spyder3, and you would probably need Calman for software with that option. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=958099 has some comparisons of those colorimeters and the Spyder2 against the i1pro spectroradiometer which goes for a few hundred more. The major item in the charts is the delta E, where lower numbers would mean that the less expensive colorimeter compared favorably with the i1pro.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alluringreality is offline  
post #674 of 4034 Old 05-19-2008, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rayjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Send a message via AIM to Rayjr Send a message via Yahoo to Rayjr Send a message via Skype™ to Rayjr
The DTP-94 works fine with ColorHCFR.

RayJr

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
"

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Rayjr is offline  
post #675 of 4034 Old 05-19-2008, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 34
My mistake... the free colorHCFR software must support:

HCFR colorimeter (DIY)
i1pro
i1 display LT/2
Spyder2
DTP-94


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alluringreality is offline  
post #676 of 4034 Old 05-20-2008, 12:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's right and upcoming version add Spyder3 support (tests on-going).

--Patrice

French speaking home theater
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

laric is offline  
post #677 of 4034 Old 05-22-2008, 08:59 AM
Newbie
 
xberserker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PSN
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for this! Just got it burned, going to try this tonight on my PS3.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
xberserker is offline  
post #678 of 4034 Old 05-22-2008, 09:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
sperron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just a note for those using the PS3; With the latest firmware, if you uncheck 1080i as a video output option the PS3 no longer forces 1080p output. The PS3 will downres to 720p instead. This should really only be an issue for the resolution patterns, but you never know.
sperron is offline  
post #679 of 4034 Old 05-22-2008, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikeynavy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just want to thank Alluringreality for posting this and enabling so many people do a user-level calibration. Many people can't afford a full-blown ISF calibration and this helps get a little more out of the set than what comes out of the box. Luckily I must have a decent eye, as my initial user settings were very close to what the result was using your disk. I only had to adjust the brightness on my Sony A3000 down one and do some tweaks to the centering of the image (horizontal = -2 and vertical = +3). Thanks again. I'll be keeping this in my subscriptions for any updates
mikeynavy1 is offline  
post #680 of 4034 Old 05-24-2008, 03:39 PM
pbc
AVS Special Member
 
pbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,357
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Has anyone had success with this on a Samsung 1400 other than the guy who burned it using a Mac? I burned the ISO to a DVD-R but all the Sammy does is pop the tray open when I put the disc in (After trying to load it).

If I calibrate the color decoder using Getgray or some other SD disc, would this be an issue vs. using a true 709 HD disc?

Tx

 

My DIY Subs ...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:

J Dunlavy:.. if you stop to think about it, no loudspeaker can sound more accurate than it measures.

 

pbc is offline  
post #681 of 4034 Old 05-24-2008, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
angryht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had a 1400 for a short time and I got it to work without a problem. I don't have the 1400 anymore but it should work.

-Greg
angryht is offline  
post #682 of 4034 Old 05-24-2008, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 410
My copy works with BDP1400 no problem. Do you have the lastest firmware?

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

David Susilo is offline  
post #683 of 4034 Old 05-24-2008, 04:22 PM
pbc
AVS Special Member
 
pbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,357
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Ha, david, I was the one who bought your 1400! What did you use to burn the image?

 

My DIY Subs ...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:

J Dunlavy:.. if you stop to think about it, no loudspeaker can sound more accurate than it measures.

 

pbc is offline  
post #684 of 4034 Old 05-24-2008, 04:33 PM
pbc
AVS Special Member
 
pbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,357
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Ha, david, I was the o0ne who bought your 1400! What did you use to burn the image?

 

My DIY Subs ...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:

J Dunlavy:.. if you stop to think about it, no loudspeaker can sound more accurate than it measures.

 

pbc is offline  
post #685 of 4034 Old 05-24-2008, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 410
I use Nero 8, then choose "burn image", then choose the ISO image of the disc, burn the DVD-R at 4x on Taiyo Yuden media. How do you like the BD player? I still have another 1400 (this one is problematic) and won't play a lot of java discs. It's currently at Samsung being looked at.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

David Susilo is offline  
post #686 of 4034 Old 05-24-2008, 06:33 PM
pbc
AVS Special Member
 
pbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,357
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Don't have Nero unfortunately. Tried with image burn which worked in the past but no luck. So far so good with the 1400, had to downgrade to 1.6, and upgrade back to 1.7 to get some discs to work for some reason.

 

My DIY Subs ...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:

J Dunlavy:.. if you stop to think about it, no loudspeaker can sound more accurate than it measures.

 

pbc is offline  
post #687 of 4034 Old 05-24-2008, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Hmmmm weird!

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

David Susilo is offline  
post #688 of 4034 Old 05-26-2008, 11:08 PM
Newbie
 
billcarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thks to all the forum members involved with this calibration project.
billcarl is offline  
post #689 of 4034 Old 05-27-2008, 02:53 AM
Senior Member
 
DarthAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I downloaded the blu ray and hd dvd versions of this to calibrate my PS3 and my XBOX 360. Both are connected via HDMI to my Samsung 61A750. I was able to get the PS3 calibrated pretty good. When I went to do the XBOX 360 it looked like it does not output the same range as the PS3. When I am viewing the basic settings, I think it is the third pattern (the one that shows the white levels). I think this is the one where you set the contrast levels. On the PS3 I can see all of the blinking bars. On the XBOX 360, I can barely see one or two on the left hand side. I can not get any others to blink no matter how far I change brightness/contrast/dynamic contrast, etc, etc. Is this a limitation of the XBOX 360, am I doing something wrong, or could there be a problem with the HDMI port I have the 360 connected to?

Thanks for all of the help.
DarthAVS is offline  
post #690 of 4034 Old 05-27-2008, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthAVS View Post

When I went to do the XBOX 360 it looked like it does not output the same range as the PS3.

I don't have the HD DVD drive, but the Xbox console settings allow for you to choose different output levels. The way I remember it there are three options. One is typical video levels, one is computer levels, and I'm not sure what the third does. My first guess would be that changing the Xbox setting could very well change how the patterns display.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alluringreality is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , lg bp530
Gear in this thread - bp530 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off