AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration - Page 63 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 3971 Old 11-21-2009, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
It's 75% similar to the commercial patterns.
alluringreality is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 3971 Old 11-21-2009, 11:32 AM
Member
 
Polcius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there an easy way to calibrate the gamma?

What about saturation? (I don't have any blue filters)
Polcius is offline  
post #1863 of 3971 Old 11-29-2009, 04:24 PM
Newbie
 
sheezy6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i cannot get any of the .pdf pattern manuals to work. they all say they are an incorrect file type or corrupted. i have the newest version of adobe reader.
sheezy6 is offline  
post #1864 of 3971 Old 12-02-2009, 04:47 AM
Member
 
billcushman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have detailed instructions for unzipping the 7zip AVCHD file when using a new MacBook. This is my first Mac and I am not familiar with entering Unix commands. I have successfully made copies of my HD709 v1.2 disc, but would like to create a HD709 v 1.3 disc.
billcushman is offline  
post #1865 of 3971 Old 12-02-2009, 04:54 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by billcushman View Post

Does anyone have detailed instructions for unzipping the 7zip AVCHD file when using a new MacBook. This is my first Mac and I am not familiar with entering Unix commands. I have successfully made copies of my HD709 v1.2 disc, but would like to create a HD709 v 1.3 disc.

On linux I do:


7za x

filename
-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #1866 of 3971 Old 12-02-2009, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by billcushman View Post

Does anyone have detailed instructions for unzipping the 7zip AVCHD file when using a new MacBook. This is my first Mac and I am not familiar with entering Unix commands. I have successfully made copies of my HD709 v1.2 disc, but would like to create a HD709 v 1.3 disc.

Do you have p7zip? 7za is the command line tool.
bodosom is offline  
post #1867 of 3971 Old 12-02-2009, 12:16 PM
Member
 
billcushman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

Do you have p7zip? 7za is the command line tool.

I went to the link supplied on the main HD709 page and downloaded p7zip for the Mac. It contains a license agreement and the 7za command line version. Apparently you can enter command line instructions using Terminal. I believe the correct command line instruction is 7za e avchd-v1_3.7z but I have not tried it since I am unfamiliar with both the Mac, Unix, and Terminal on the Mac. What I really need is step-by-step instructions from someone with a Mac who has successfully created the disc.
billcushman is offline  
post #1868 of 3971 Old 12-02-2009, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by billcushman View Post

I went to the link supplied on the main HD709 page and downloaded p7zip for the Mac. It contains a license agreement and the 7za command line version. Apparently you can enter command line instructions using Terminal. I believe the correct command line instruction is 7za e avchd-v1_3.7z but I have not tried it since I am unfamiliar with both the Mac, Unix, and Terminal on the Mac. What I really need is step-by-step instructions from someone with a Mac who has successfully created the disc.

Mount the p7zip dmg, copy 7za to your home directory, start a terminal, run ./7za e , burn the .iso file with DiskUtility.
bodosom is offline  
post #1869 of 3971 Old 12-02-2009, 06:04 PM
Member
 
billcushman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

Mount the p7zip dmg, copy 7za to your home directory, start a terminal, run ./7za -e , burn the .iso file with DiskUtility.

Thanks for your help. I did not know to add the ./ without your help. I burned the discs without any problems, and made 5 copies for several friends.
billcushman is offline  
post #1870 of 3971 Old 12-03-2009, 10:28 PM
Newbie
 
soupnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Instead of burning to a disc, can I put it on a usb stick plugged into my ps3 and run it from there?
soupnuts is offline  
post #1871 of 3971 Old 12-04-2009, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chad473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Comcast-Lancaster, PA
Posts: 2,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
if you want to use a usb stick, download the mp4 fileset. you can use this on a ps3

xbox live/PSN: Chad473
chad473 is offline  
post #1872 of 3971 Old 12-05-2009, 09:06 PM
Member
 
Razz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung LN55A950. Calibration was accomplished via the test disk run on a PS3. I also have a question about using a USB stick. For cable viewing the television is hooked up to a HD box Motorola DCT 6200. There is a USB plug-in on the HD cable box.

My question is: Would it be preferable to calibrate an HDMI input setting via the cable box for viewing with this device (provided that this is even possible) as opposed to calibrating one input with the PS3 and then copying the settings over to the other input used for cable viewing?
Razz1 is offline  
post #1873 of 3971 Old 12-09-2009, 08:18 PM
g4s
Senior Member
 
g4s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St. Charles, MO
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by billcushman View Post

Thanks for your help. I did not know to add the ./ without your help. I burned the discs without any problems, and made 5 copies for several friends.

Just a tip, if you're new to Macs. Check out the Unarchiver. It opens just about anything with a double click, including 7zips. http://wakaba.c3.cx/s/apps/unarchiver.html
g4s is offline  
post #1874 of 3971 Old 12-10-2009, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rajdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just downloaded the HDMV 7-zip version from the first post here.

link goes to http://www.sendspace.com/file/8ialp6

But when I extract the 7zip file I dont see the ISO image. I see the BD's file structure instead.

Am I missing something?

-Rajiv
rajdude is offline  
post #1875 of 3971 Old 12-10-2009, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The example steps for burning don't apply to the HDMV version. The HDMV is generally intended to be burned to BD-RE or BD-R with a Blu-ray burner. Just copy the files to disc and by default it should be formatted as intended. In Windows 7 or Vista SP3 you can copy files to Blu-ray media with Windows Explorer, or with ImgBurn the "Write files/folders to disc" option should work.

EDIT: If you want an image file, for example to work with PowerDVD, you can create an image with "create image from files/folders" in ImgBurn. Doing that or using the PATCHED image works with Virtual CloneDrive. For one of the other virtual drive programs it required the image to go over Dual-Layer DVD size before the program would identify the virtual disc as Blu-ray so that PowerDVD would read it.
alluringreality is offline  
post #1876 of 3971 Old 12-13-2009, 06:58 AM
Member
 
ness88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

i cant download i also don't want to upgrade to the paid version of the sendspace, can anyone help e-mail to batibot8888@yahoo.com the mp4 version
ness88 is offline  
post #1877 of 3971 Old 12-14-2009, 05:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rajdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what is the problem? Just click on the free version button on sendspace.

BTW, You gotta read the very first post here carefully first.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ness88 View Post

Hi guys,

i cant download i also don't want to upgrade to the paid version of the sendspace, can anyone help e-mail to batibot8888@yahoo.com the mp4 version


-Rajiv
rajdude is offline  
post #1878 of 3971 Old 12-14-2009, 05:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rajdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! I downloaded the patched version ISO...works fine!

This version works perfectly with PDVD. The older versions' menus never worked.

BTW what is the "patch" anyway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alluringreality View Post

The example steps for burning don't apply to the HDMV version. The HDMV is generally intended to be burned to BD-RE or BD-R with a Blu-ray burner. Just copy the files to disc and by default it should be formatted as intended. In Windows 7 or Vista SP3 you can copy files to Blu-ray media with Windows Explorer, or with ImgBurn the "Write files/folders to disc" option should work.

EDIT: If you want an image file, for example to work with PowerDVD, you can create an image with "create image from files/folders" in ImgBurn. Doing that or using the PATCHED image works with Virtual CloneDrive. For one of the other virtual drive programs it required the image to go over Dual-Layer DVD size before the program would identify the virtual disc as Blu-ray so that PowerDVD would read it.


-Rajiv
rajdude is offline  
post #1879 of 3971 Old 12-17-2009, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
AVCHD-Patcher was a program that can be used to make non-Java HDMV (Blu-ray) more similar to AVCHD. For example if you put basic Blu-ray (HDMV) files on DVD a US PS3 will not play it, but after the changes AVCHD-Patcher makes the files will play from DVD media. Having a second AVCHD style of disc is also necessary because a few different Blu-ray players either will or will not play HD video on DVD media depending if some extra empty folders are included.
alluringreality is offline  
post #1880 of 3971 Old 12-18-2009, 01:19 PM
Member
 
dthree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there an SD DVD or mpeg version of the calibration files?
dthree is offline  
post #1881 of 3971 Old 12-18-2009, 02:56 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by dthree View Post

Is there an SD DVD or mpeg version of the calibration files?

The GetGray disc is what I was using for DVD: http://www.calibrate.tv/. Some of its patterns made it onto AVS HD 709.

It's downloadable, but not free. The manual is available if you want to check that first.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #1882 of 3971 Old 12-20-2009, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
MacHound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by g4s View Post

Just a tip, if you're new to Macs. Check out the Unarchiver. It opens just about anything with a double click, including 7zips. http://wakaba.c3.cx/s/apps/unarchiver.html

Great tip. I consider Unarchiver to be an essential Mac utility. I've been using it for years and it's still one of the best freeware programs around. Just to note, the current version of Unarchiver (2.2) includes XAD libraries that work beautifully with .7z files but some earlier versions (1.x) do not work well with 7-zip. There should be no problem as long as you are using Unarchiver 2.2 or later.

To be crystal clear for Mac beginners, once you extract the *.7z file to an *.iso file on your desktop, drag that *.iso file onto Disk Utility's icon (the disk with stethoscope icon in the Mac dock). Disk Utility's icon will bounce a couple of times while the program launches. Select the *.iso file below the gray separator bar in Disk Utility's left pane, insert a blank DVD, wait a few moments for the blank DVD to be recognized, then hit the black-and-yellow burn button. After Disk Utility completes the burn, it will typically spit out your newly burned disk (unless you clicked the "Mount on Desktop" option.) Trying to play this disk in your Mac's DVD player is pointless; it's designed for Blu-ray players.

Once you've confirmed you have a working AVSHC 709 disk in your Blu-ray player, you can safely trash the *.iso file. Keep the .7z file around if you want to make further copies in the future.

I hope that helps AVS Mac users. It really could not be simpler.
prodan and TheDaveAbides like this.
MacHound is offline  
post #1883 of 3971 Old 12-20-2009, 11:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
MacHound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just to add further confirmation that AVCHD v1_3.7 works perfectly on my JVC XV-BP1 Blu-ray deck running the current 2009-11-13 firmware. I didn't test it with the player's original firmware.
MacHound is offline  
post #1884 of 3971 Old 12-21-2009, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
jeffrylp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can confirm that the PATCHED version, burned to a DVD-R, will play on a Denon DVD-1800BDCI.

Jeff
jeffrylp is offline  
post #1885 of 3971 Old 12-21-2009, 06:38 PM
Newbie
 
ARF2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the HDMV files be used straight from media on a new Windows 7 laptop with HDMI port?
I could burn it to DVD, but I wonder if it would work straight from the hard disk in the machine?
(edit) The reason I ask is that I don't have a bluray player yet.
ARF2010 is offline  
post #1886 of 3971 Old 12-22-2009, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
kyle454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NOR CAL
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how does this compare to DVE on Blu ray?
kyle454 is offline  
post #1887 of 3971 Old 12-22-2009, 04:30 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle454 View Post

how does this compare to DVE on Blu ray?

Check the downloadable manual for details, but this disc has no tutorial material or audio tests. It's just patterns.

I have DVE but almost never use it, preferring this along with the Spears & Munsil disc.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #1888 of 3971 Old 12-22-2009, 05:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
MacHound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle454 View Post

how does this compare to DVE on Blu ray?

Adding to what wmcclain said, AVSHC 709 has no audio calibration, no support for 480i/p or 720p in some of the tests, no tutorial, etc. I'm not knocking AVSHC 709 -- it's great at what it does, and you can't argue with the price -- but this is no substitute for one of the commercial calibration discs if you're just starting out and need some hand holding. DVE could certainly use more hand holding itself. I'll probably pick up a copy of Spears and Munsil soon.
MacHound is offline  
post #1889 of 3971 Old 12-23-2009, 01:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
MacHound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Spears & Munsil High-Definition Benchmark Blu-ray Disc Edition for $25 with SuperSaver shipping at Amazon -- got mine ordered. I don't see any more discs there with the free shipping, but check back later. Amazon can behave strangely sometimes with searches not revealing items that are there or only showing "affiliated vendors."

Back on topic, each disc has its own advantages. At 1/20th the cost of a professional calibrator visit why not own all three?
MacHound is offline  
post #1890 of 3971 Old 12-24-2009, 05:58 AM
Member
 
Shepardos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Experts,

I try to calibrate my Popcorn Hour C-200 to correct some strange color decoding issues. The problem is that the C-200 use BT601 internally to decode un-flagged HD content (for example MKV's) but for flagged content it use the correct matrix of BT709.

Now I downloaded the non-flagged (1.2b) and the flagged (1.3b) version. I try to see the difference on my C-200 and also on the PS3.

Unfortunately I cant measure any difference between this two versions.

A test with this file:

http://www.cypheros.de/files/Testbil...ting_120sec.ts

It shows me that the colors a flashing if the BT709 flag is set or not but I cant see this with the AVCHD test disk.

Maybe I make some errors!? Can somebody help me?

The reason why I try to correct this are this two screenshots (form Highlander) where you can see that wrong color decoding is used:

Popcorn Hour C-200 or WDTV live


Panasonic BD35


Here are the details:
http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?...26980#msg26980

Cheers
Shepardos
Shepardos is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , lg bp530
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off