AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration - Page 69 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2041 of 4000 Old 04-11-2010, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by alluringreality View Post

Seeing pink would be what I called color shift. At the 21 setting if you see pink then you need to turn down contrast, because you do not want 230-235 showing pink. Turning down contrast will cause any color shift toward pink to happen at higher video levels, and you want to try to keep any shift toward pink above white (235). Using the contrast setting of 13 would probably be a generally safe setting where 230-235 will not have much color shift. If you want to go higher than 13, to have brighter whites, just try to limit any color shift near white. The Grayscale Ramp pattern from the Misc Patterns can also be used to look at any shift toward pink near white.

Thanks. Why am I also seeing all the bars at the -1,1 and 7 settings? This is why I don't know where to set contrast(-1, 1, 7 or 13).
Jim McC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2042 of 4000 Old 04-11-2010, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

Why am I also seeing all the bars at the -1,1 and 7 settings?

The bars disappear as the display runs out of available contrast. Generally at a low contrast setting you should see all the bars. I would suggest to get the maximum contrast and brightest whites out of the display you will want to try to use a high contrast setting.
alluringreality is online now  
post #2043 of 4000 Old 04-15-2010, 07:35 AM
Member
 
Larry L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

Thanks. Why am I also seeing all the bars at the -1,1 and 7 settings? This is why I don't know where to set contrast(-1, 1, 7 or 13).

Have you adjusted your gray scale? If you have not, you may just have too much red at the higher white levels.
Larry L is offline  
post #2044 of 4000 Old 04-15-2010, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry L View Post

Have you adjusted your gray scale? If you have not, you may just have too much red at the higher white levels.

I don't know how to adjust the gray scale. And I have no special equipment. For Blu-ray, I have the S&M disc, and the AVS709 test patterns.
Jim McC is offline  
post #2045 of 4000 Old 04-15-2010, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jkcheng122's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

I don't know how to adjust the gray scale. And I have no special equipment. For Blu-ray, I have the S&M disc, and the AVS709 test patterns.

For contrast you should be increasing until you see white flashing bars disappear, not lower. It sounds like you're going backwards.
jkcheng122 is offline  
post #2046 of 4000 Old 04-17-2010, 03:45 PM
Newbie
 
justqt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just uploaded it to my website server. I am going to give this program a try.
Here is link for fast download:
http://www.cwarmob.com/files/AVCHD-v1_3.exe

P.S. Ignore my website, its just an xbox 360 gaming site.
Hope you guys like the speed!
justqt is offline  
post #2047 of 4000 Old 04-19-2010, 03:14 AM
Member
 
NABCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portugal
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello,

I have a strange problem.

I want to calibrate my projector contrast and brightness with Arcsoft TMT3, but in basic settings of the AVCHD 709 software in disc/folder mode I dont see any flashing bar...only black (brighness) or white (contrast).

I can see the bars flashing in TMT3 file mode but I know to setup brightness and contrast for bluray I have to run AVCHD 709 in disc/folder mode in TMT3 or other BluRay software.

File mode is good to setup movies in MKV.

Any help please?....thank you.

NABCS
NABCS is online now  
post #2048 of 4000 Old 04-19-2010, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by NABCS View Post

I want to calibrate my projector contrast and brightness with Arcsoft TMT3, but in basic settings of the AVCHD 709 software in disc/folder mode I dont see any flashing bar...only black (brighness) or white (contrast).

I can see the bars flashing in TMT3 file mode but I know to setup brightness and contrast for bluray I have to run AVCHD 709 in disc/folder mode in TMT3 or other BluRay software.

In Total Media Theater 3 I'm getting matching gray levels regardless if I play the patched disk or a file. I'm using an old ATI HD 2600XT card with current drivers on Windows 7 x64. There was a possibly similar report with the same program, but a different ATI video card at http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post18218821 There are a lot of things that you can do with software on a computer, and I know it took a while for some driver issues to be sorted out for my card. According to http://www.upsilonsoftware.com/blog/...nt-levels.html the software uses a different renderer between the two modes. I probably can't give any better overview depending on the video adapter than the last link.
alluringreality is online now  
post #2049 of 4000 Old 04-21-2010, 04:08 AM
Member
 
NABCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portugal
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you for your help, but my problem is different.

I dont see any flash bars even I set maximum brightness (this is in TMT3folder mode).

I can setup without problems in file mode (see the flashing bars), but for bluray I have to setup in folder mode.
NABCS is online now  
post #2050 of 4000 Old 04-21-2010, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I do not have the stated issue. http://www.upsilonsoftware.com/blog/...nt-levels.html lists the program as using a different renderer depending on the mode selected. Without any further information I have to assume that the video chain is reacting differently depending on the renderer. Basically my best guess is that what you're seeing is probably related to the graphic card you're using. A thread on your graphic card or the prior link is the best guess I have to start troubleshooting what your computer is doing. The only other thought that comes to mind is to try another calibration disc and see how the disc mode reacts http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=852536 includes a free DVD that should have basic grayscale settings patterns, but unless Digital Video Essentials HD Basics happens to react differently I cannot expect that the issue is with the disc at this time.
alluringreality is online now  
post #2051 of 4000 Old 04-22-2010, 09:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
biomed_eng_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a WDTV Live and i1 Display 2.

Which of the below test files is best compatible with it?
Thanks!

AVCHD (.exe)

HDMV (.exe)

PATCHED (.exe)

HD DVD (.exe)

MP4 (.exe)
biomed_eng_2000 is offline  
post #2052 of 4000 Old 04-23-2010, 06:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Looking at the online specifications for the WDTV Live it appears that it will play MP4.
alluringreality is online now  
post #2053 of 4000 Old 04-23-2010, 08:10 AM
Member
 
pppp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Panasonic DMP-BD30 BD player connected to my Yamaha RX-V1800 AV Receiver and the receiver to my Pioneer KURO plasma all using HDMI. How do i know that the Pioneer is showing the AVSHD709 disc using the correct standard (Rec. 709) and not Rec. 601 or PAL. Does the Yamaha recognize the Rec. 709 and pass it on to the TV as it is? And if that's true does the TV recognize it as Rec. 709? Does the format used help (AVCHD or PATCHED)?
pppp1 is offline  
post #2054 of 4000 Old 04-23-2010, 09:14 AM
Member
 
Robert_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alluringreality View Post

Looking at the online specifications for the WDTV Live it appears that it will play MP4.

Let us know if it works. I've been thinking of purchasing a WDTV Live just for that purpose.

Bob.
Robert_W is offline  
post #2055 of 4000 Old 04-23-2010, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by pppp1 View Post

I have the Panasonic DMP-BD30 BD player connected to my Yamaha RX-V1800 AV Receiver and the receiver to my Pioneer KURO plasma all using HDMI. How do i know that the Pioneer is showing the AVSHD709 disc using the correct standard (Rec. 709) and not Rec. 601 or PAL. Does the Yamaha recognize the Rec. 709 and pass it on to the TV as it is? And if that's true does the TV recognize it as Rec. 709? Does the format used help (AVCHD or PATCHED)?

The easiest way to find out what is going on with the decoding is to measure colors. There is a pattern in Digital Video Essentials that is meant to be looked at by eye that has both the 601 and 709 colors, and the description there goes over what you may be able to notice depending on decoding. Personally I find the DVE description hard to understand on its own, so I recommend measurements if you really want first hand info on what's going on with colors on your display.

Somewhere in the video chain the YCrCb from the disc will be decoded to RGB. How the conversion takes place will depend on the device doing the decoding. By default most Blu-ray players will probably pass the info from the disc without converting to RGB. There are devices that can decode and pass RGB, but typically most standalone players will output YCrCb. Again there are probably receivers that can also decode, but by default a receiver would be expected to pass the video without conversion. So if commonly the player and receiver are not used for decoding, then the conversion happens at the display. My TV is a Sony and it decodes the colors depending on how it is set. By default my TV will decode depending on the resolution, so a HD input is decoded with Rec 709. In short how the conversion is handled will depend on where the conversion is taking place and how that device is doing the conversion, but in the quoted example the TV is most likely doing the conversion.
alluringreality is online now  
post #2056 of 4000 Old 04-24-2010, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I decided to look further into how Digital Video Essentials would measure with a slightly different gamma when compared to measurements from v1.3 of AVS HD 709 (current known issue #1). It appears that DVE uses Y values 1 lower from 5% to 50% compared to what is currently on AVS HD 709. The AVS values are generally closer to the stated percentage, but the DVE values place the unusual step near black in a 5% or 10% series.

NOTE: 235-16=219, and 219 is not an even number so it doesn't allow for an even number of steps from black to white.

 

Comparison.zip 2.474609375k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Comparison.zip (2.5 KB, 3 views)
alluringreality is online now  
post #2057 of 4000 Old 04-24-2010, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I don't understand why all the calibration discs aren't standard or uniform.

STUPID!!
Jim McC is offline  
post #2058 of 4000 Old 04-24-2010, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
jherring69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: pei, canada
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by biomed_eng_2000 View Post

I have a WDTV Live and i1 Display 2.

Which of the below test files is best compatible with it?
Thanks!

AVCHD (.exe)

HDMV (.exe)

PATCHED (.exe)

HD DVD (.exe)

MP4 (.exe)

I have the WDTV Live running to a Benq W5000 Projector. I used the MP4 files. The play fine as long as you don't FF/Rew, which isn't much good. I used a program called Make MKV and converted just the parts I needed. The files play perfectly when in the MKV container.

I just wanted to say thank you to everyone involved in this project, and a big thank you to alluringreality. Great work.

Jason
jherring69 is offline  
post #2059 of 4000 Old 04-25-2010, 02:33 PM
Member
 
umass66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
could you please help with this issue.

I have a Pioneer KRP-600m display connected directly to a Pioneer bdp-51fd blu ray player via hdmi and playing the AVSHD 709 disc with the pattern to set brightness ( shows digital 1 to 25 ramp ). Irrespective of how high i go on brightness i can't show below digital 16. how do i set up the display and blu ray player to show below digital 16 so that i can accurately set the brightness control.
thanks.
umass66 is online now  
post #2060 of 4000 Old 04-26-2010, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by umass66 View Post

I have a Pioneer KRP-600m display connected directly to a Pioneer bdp-51fd blu ray player via hdmi and playing the AVSHD 709 disc with the pattern to set brightness ( shows digital 1 to 25 ramp ).

I am not familiar with the player or display to comment if it's possible to show 1-15. You don't have to be able to show 1-15, it's just easier to see what's going on if you can display 1-15. Since you're not able to see 1-15, I would suggest using the APL pattern and setting brightness no lower than where you can see somewhere around 20 and up flash.
alluringreality is online now  
post #2061 of 4000 Old 04-26-2010, 08:26 AM
Member
 
umass66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by alluringreality View Post

I am not familiar with the player or display to comment if it's possible to show 1-15. You don't have to be able to show 1-15, it's just easier to see what's going on if you can display 1-15. Since you're not able to see 1-15, I would suggest using the APL pattern and setting brightness no lower than where you can see somewhere around 20 and up flash.

Thanks for helping me out
umass66 is online now  
post #2062 of 4000 Old 04-30-2010, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

I don't understand why all the calibration discs aren't standard or uniform.

STUPID!!

Along with explanations of how to use the things too. I downloaded one of these and got lost. I didn't have the manual at the time, but I later read it and still aren't sure what to do.
MRM4 is offline  
post #2063 of 4000 Old 04-30-2010, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Aside from things like copyrights, part of the reason why test patterns and descriptions aren't entirely uniform is that TVs vary to some extent. Generally though there is some amount of agreement for setting brightness, contrast, color, and sharpness controls. I know that I found patterns frustrating the first time I looked at DVE and Avia, so asking questions on how to make adjustments or stating specific issues is welcome.
alluringreality is online now  
post #2064 of 4000 Old 05-14-2010, 06:39 AM
Newbie
 
sniper60190's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
boujour je vient de telecharger le fichier AVS HD 709 que jai mis sur dvd qui passe tres bien dans mon blu ray mais je ne comprend pas comment sa marche et la notice est en anglais quelqu un pourait il m aider svp
merci de vos reponse
sniper60190 is offline  
post #2065 of 4000 Old 05-14-2010, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
tranle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sniper60190 View Post

boujour je vient de telecharger le fichier AVS HD 709 que jai mis sur dvd qui passe tres bien dans mon blu ray mais je ne comprend pas comment sa marche et la notice est en anglais quelqu un pourait il m aider svp
merci de vos reponse

Sorry for the reply in French.

Le disque AVS HD 709 n'est pas un film. Il contient juste différent écran ou mire pour pouvoir régler ton écran télé ou projecteur. Il y a certain mire plus facile a utiliser que d'autre. Les testes de contraste et de brillance peuvent être fait visuellement, mais la pour plus part des testes couleurs il faut avoir une sonde de colorimétrie.

Il y a aussi le site http://www.homecinema-fr.com/forum/ en Francais qui peuvent peut etre t'aider.
tranle is offline  
post #2066 of 4000 Old 05-25-2010, 10:27 AM
Newbie
 
Love India's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys - I just downloaded the PATCHED version to calibrate my Vizio M220VA with my Sony BR BDP-S300 and need a bit help here. I got all the software running on my player, I'm just unsure of how to use it. Which tests should I use? There seems to be so many. If it matters, I will mainly be using this TV for gaming. I also don't have a blue filter so how do I adjust the color settings?
Love India is offline  
post #2067 of 4000 Old 05-25-2010, 03:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Thornhill, ON
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Love India View Post

Hey guys - I just downloaded the PATCHED version to calibrate my Vizio M220VA with my Sony BR BDP-S300 and need a bit help here. I got all the software running on my player, I'm just unsure of how to use it. Which tests should I use? There seems to be so many. If it matters, I will mainly be using this TV for gaming. I also don't have a blue filter so how do I adjust the color settings?

The patterns are intended to be used with a colorimeter and corresponding software. The colorimeter measures the amount of light and red, blue, and green being displayed from the various greyscale patterns. You can read the thread on HCFR for more information.

If you are not prepared to spend a lot of time learning the process and couple of hundred dollars for the meter, then you can do one of the following (listed in lowest to best results)
- use setting posted by other users with the same model TV and adjust by eye to a acceptable level of display
- purchase one of the calibration DVD that come with red, blue, and green filters
- hire a profession to calibrate the TV
BPlayer is offline  
post #2068 of 4000 Old 05-25-2010, 03:45 PM
Newbie
 
Love India's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh wow, I was not aware that I needed to purchase a colorimeter. Is there a thread on this forum identifying users with the same TV model as me?

Also, if I purchase the DVE HD Basics DVD will I need a colorimeter for that too?

http://www.walmart.com/ip/8462130

I'm really just looking for a cheap and simple way to calibrate my new TV. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Love India is offline  
post #2069 of 4000 Old 05-25-2010, 04:17 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Love India View Post

Oh wow, I was not aware that I needed to purchase a colorimeter. Is there a thread on this forum identifying users with the same TV model as me?

Also, if I purchase the DVE HD Basics DVD will I need a colorimeter for that too?

http://www.walmart.com/ip/8462130

I'm really just looking for a cheap and simple way to calibrate my new TV. Any help is greatly appreciated.

If you look at the end of the first post in this thread there are links to "Patterns" documents which have instructions on using the disc without meters.

DVE HD Basics is the same sort of thing; it has more onscreen help and audio tests.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #2070 of 4000 Old 05-25-2010, 04:27 PM
Newbie
 
Love India's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh ok, so with DVE I will still need a colorimeter?

And are you talking about the .pdf's at the end of the first post? If so I downloaded those and am still a bit confused. Where am I supposed to start?
Love India is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , lg bp530
Gear in this thread - bp530 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off