AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration - Page 73 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2161 of 4003 Old 07-31-2010, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
mike81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Sony KD-46S504 1080p LCD and a Sony BDP-S560 Player. The player is set to output 1080p and is connected via HDMI. The TV is set on full pixel so it displays the image in it's native resolution. All the enhancements are turned off.

I'm using the patched version of the disc. When looking at the pattern labeled Small 1080p Crosshatch it does not appear to be displaying correctly. It appears something like the attached image. I just did this quickly in Windows Paint. The white horizontal lines are 2 pixels wide and appear to be grayish. The vertical lines are 1 pixel wide like they are supposed to be. There are 2 white dots in the center of the squares. Each is 1 pixel and stacked one on top of the other.

The same type of thing happens with every pattern that is similar to this. Every time there are supposed to be horizontal white lines made of a certain number of pixels, it is not correct. One pattern is supposed to show alternating black & white horizontal lines. Each line is supposed to be 3 pixels wide. However the first line is made of 2 rows white pixels & then 1 row grayish. The next line is 2 black rows and 1 grayish. It then repeats.

Another pattern is supposed to be a checkerboard pattern. 1 white pixel and then 1 black, etc. However, the whole screen has a grayish color. I'm getting right up on the screen and as far as I can tell, there are no alternating black and white pixels.

Now, both the LCD panel and video processor have been replaced, so why do the patterns not display correctly? Any help at all would be appreciated.
LL
mike81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2162 of 4003 Old 08-01-2010, 12:51 AM
Member
 
Bluematches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vosges (France). Close to the beast...
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I would like to calibrate my TV (Panasonic 50G20) through its USB input. Where can I get the 100% window patterns (primary, secondary colours and greyscale by step of 10%) in jpeg format (1920x1080)?
Cheers
Bluematches is offline  
post #2163 of 4003 Old 08-01-2010, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike81 View Post

I'm using the patched version of the disc.

There have not been any relevant issues reported regarding the Patched disc, but you might want to try the AVCHD and see if it performs the same. The AVCHD video may look the same, but I'm just suggesting to try the AVCHD to rule out any cause related to the disc with that player.

Quote:
The white horizontal lines are 2 pixels wide and appear to be grayish. The vertical lines are 1 pixel wide like they are supposed to be. There are 2 white dots in the center of the squares. Each is 1 pixel and stacked one on top of the other.

Assuming the AVCHD performs the same, the next item would be some sort of scaling. I'd probably guess at any scaling being from the TV, but I suppose it could be from the player. Personally my Sony can't display one of the patterns correctly with how it deals with video. Having access to multiple displays, like at a store, would be the easiest way to look at how different TVs can display the same signal differently.
alluringreality is online now  
post #2164 of 4003 Old 08-01-2010, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluematches View Post

I would like to calibrate my TV (Panasonic 50G20) through its USB input. Where can I get the 100% window patterns (primary, secondary colours and greyscale by step of 10%) in jpeg format (1920x1080)?

Much of the video is created from images. The project is on another computer, but I think .png is used. Generally I'm scratching my head trying to come up with a situation where it would be beneficial to calibrate a TV to images (corresponding with video levels) from a USB input.
alluringreality is online now  
post #2165 of 4003 Old 08-01-2010, 02:59 PM
Member
 
Bluematches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vosges (France). Close to the beast...
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In fact, I use the USB input to watch avi files (720p) and I assume that if I calibrate the USB input, it would also be useful for TV programs. Calibrating the input through a dvd/BR player, seems not that close because of the player settings.
Png files are fine. I would convert them in jpeg or gif files. Would it be possible to get them? It would be very much appreciated
Bluematches is offline  
post #2166 of 4003 Old 08-01-2010, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluematches View Post

In fact, I use the USB input to watch avi files (720p) and I assume that if I calibrate the USB input, it would also be useful for TV programs.

You need to be sure that still images (gif, jpg, png etc.) are processed in the same color space as video (avi, mpg, mov etc.). Since non-video sources are expected to be full range (e.g. output from digital cameras) they are typically displayed in the so-called IT color space which is incorrect for video (which nominally displayed in the so-called CE color space).

IT: full 8-bit RGB 0-255
CE: limited to 220 levels RGB 16-235.
bodosom is offline  
post #2167 of 4003 Old 08-01-2010, 09:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluematches View Post

I use the USB input to watch avi files (720p)
Calibrating the input through a dvd/BR player, seems not that close because of the player settings.

Have you tried the MP4 files with the USB? On some skimming it appears that AVI is a container and not standardized to one single video format, so assuming the display correctly matches levels between different video formats then MP4 would be as good as any if the TV will play it. Of course the ideal would be AVI with the same video format as what you'll be watching, but transcoding and verifying video levels can be somewhat involved.
alluringreality is online now  
post #2168 of 4003 Old 08-01-2010, 10:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Edo Glvez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The MP4s work great for me, even if I get the *unsupported audio codec* thing, I asume it's because there is no audio stream in the container.

Calibrating the screen for TV channels will be pretty much impossible tho, best you will be able to do is wait until late night for a pattern, and there is no guarantee that those settings will be the right ones for other stations.
Edo Glvez is offline  
post #2169 of 4003 Old 08-02-2010, 06:07 AM
Member
 
Bluematches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vosges (France). Close to the beast...
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alluringreality View Post

Have you tried the MP4 files with the USB? On some skimming it appears that AVI is a container and not standardized to one single video format, so assuming the display correctly matches levels between different video formats then MP4 would be as good as any if the TV will play it. Of course the ideal would be AVI with the same video format as what you'll be watching, but transcoding and verifying video levels can be somewhat involved.

I converted the mp4 into avi and I will try if it works. Thanks
Bluematches is offline  
post #2170 of 4003 Old 08-02-2010, 11:46 AM
Member
 
Bobster231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, just bought a Samsung UC40C5000 LED television, I cannot however get the contrast (white bars) pattern to work. No matter what I do raising the contrast or lowering it the bars are always there and not dissapearing. Its almost as if its working as a backlight. Very weird. However I got the brightness pattern to work perfectly. I have all extra enhanced features turned off. Any ideas? I really want to set my contrast!

Thanks guys.
Bobster231 is offline  
post #2171 of 4003 Old 08-02-2010, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,608
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobster231 View Post

Hey guys, just bought a Samsung UC40C5000 LED television, I cannot however get the contrast (white bars) pattern to work. No matter what I do raising the contrast or lowering it the bars are always there and not dissapearing. Its almost as if its working as a backlight. Very weird. However I got the brightness pattern to work perfectly. I have all extra enhanced features turned off. Any ideas? I really want to set my contrast!

Thanks guys.

It's quite possible that your set will never clip below 100%.
You may want to pull up one of the patterns that ramps all the way to 254 and see if the ramp discolors at all. typically one channel will start clipping before the others. For instances if red clips first (typical), the upper end will get a little blue, turning the lower pink looking. Back the the contrast down till the whole ramp has a consistent tone.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #2172 of 4003 Old 08-03-2010, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AVS HD was recommended on HDNation's calibration episode: http://revision3.com/hdnation/hdcalibration
Sujay is offline  
post #2173 of 4003 Old 08-03-2010, 12:49 PM
Newbie
 
chrismas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have TotalMedia Theatre 3 and I'm curious how you play it off of the hdd.
chrismas is offline  
post #2174 of 4003 Old 08-03-2010, 01:06 PM
Newbie
 
chrismas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nevermind I figured it out lol
chrismas is offline  
post #2175 of 4003 Old 08-03-2010, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobster231 View Post

No matter what I do raising the contrast or lowering it the bars are always there and not dissapearing.

This is how my TV performs by default. Not allowing the bright grayscale to clip may make sense. It's possible that by not allowing the grayscale to clip the manufacturer could have tried to avoid some issues, like items mentioned in http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post18771039 The issues from the link are easier to look at by taking measurements, but there are some sections in Misc Patterns as mentioned in http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post18770474 for further looks at high contrast settings. Anyway the way my TV works is that by not really allowing the high grayscale to clip then the display avoids most issues up to white (235) at even the highest contrast settings, so the further checks from Misc Patterns don't show much of anything when using even the maximum contrast. Honestly if I decide to revise the disc again I may primarily suggest to consider setting contrast no higher than where most all the bars remain flashing, which is the recommendation from the DVE Blu-ray.
alluringreality is online now  
post #2176 of 4003 Old 08-03-2010, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Edo Glvez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sujay View Post

AVS HD was recommended on HDNation's calibration episode: http://revision3.com/hdnation/hdcalibration

Sweet! Grats!
Edo Glvez is offline  
post #2177 of 4003 Old 08-04-2010, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
Odonata_00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both the AVCHD file and the PATCHED file work on the LG BD550.
Odonata_00 is offline  
post #2178 of 4003 Old 08-05-2010, 07:09 PM
Newbie
 
omiez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

Is there a way to calibrate connecting an external Hard Disk to my TV, a Samsung LN40C530 to calibrate ?

At the moment i don´t have Blueray Player.
omiez is offline  
post #2179 of 4003 Old 08-06-2010, 06:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Edo Glvez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by omiez View Post

Hello

Is there a way to calibrate connecting an external Hard Disk to my TV, a Samsung LN40C530 to calibrate ?

At the moment i don´t have Blueray Player.

Tried a USB stick and the MP4 files?
Edo Glvez is offline  
post #2180 of 4003 Old 08-06-2010, 12:12 PM
Newbie
 
omiez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Going to try after work,i let you know. Thank You
omiez is offline  
post #2181 of 4003 Old 08-06-2010, 10:55 PM
Senior Member
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio Metro: North Baltimore
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sujay View Post

AVS HD was recommended on HDNation's calibration episode: http://revision3.com/hdnation/hdcalibration

Just watched that episode tonight. I didn't even know this existed. Anyway I had my plasma almost perfect before and fine tuned it with this but what exactly am I looking for in the interlaced part? I think I'm just looking for how the TV deinterlaces the 1080i source.

EDIT: Also, using PATCHED the PS3 had no problems displaying pop-up menus.
skatingrocker17 is offline  
post #2182 of 4003 Old 08-10-2010, 09:57 AM
Member
 
SemperFiavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to adjust color/tint without using a blue filter? My Panasonic
S2 doesn't have a blue mode and I don't have blue filter glasses.
SemperFiavs is offline  
post #2183 of 4003 Old 08-10-2010, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 142
^Sorry, but no.

You can buy some on line at various places such as this:
http://www.costore.com/thx/producten...=87&pid=930793

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is online now  
post #2184 of 4003 Old 08-10-2010, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm just trying this set of test patterns (great by the way)

question on my PF11UK Panasonic though - I'm running XBMC on my HTPC - Nvidia drivers set to "full range RGB" - and "RGB" output

yet at my normal viewing (which I thought was ok) I could not see any of the black bars flashing in the brightness test

if I ramp up brightness to be really excessive 19 upwards become visible

seems to be the output from my Nvidia card itself - at +7 brightness I could still only see 19 - and 18 needed even more (this is on my TV) - and at +7 you could start to see "noise" in the black background across the whole screen

bumped the Nvidia brightness setting to 58 instead of 50 (in Nvidia drivers) and suddenly at +7 brightness on TV I could see down to 10 or 11 in the test - so the output from my Vidieo card must have been odd levels wise and TV was working too hard to correct
markabuckley is offline  
post #2185 of 4003 Old 08-10-2010, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
aaargh - I just tried same with Contrast in Nvidia settings - as I couldn't get to see anything about 232 or so even with contrast way down on the TV - bumped the Contrast back up to normal levels - then adjusted the Nvidia driver Contrast setting - not much - only from 50 (normal) to 45 - and instantly I could see all the way up to 243 !

frustrated as I've been watching from my HTPC with severely clipped blacks and whites because of these settings in the driver itself

btw my TV was ISF calibrated by previous owner, and I had only ever adjusted contrast/brightness to my taste - but now I've adjusted these driver settings - the PQ looks so much better

I've only had my HTPC like this for a year ! lol
markabuckley is offline  
post #2186 of 4003 Old 08-10-2010, 11:16 PM
Member
 
SharksFan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to calibrate my LG 42LB5DF. I am using my PS3 and the AVS HD 709 AVCHD on a DVD+R I burned. I'm using the Overscan video (the last one on the basic settings) and can not get my TV to show the full picture, with no overscan. I tried adjusting the "Aspect Ration" but none of the options give me the full picture. I have a little more than 2.5" overscan, so maybe 3" then. I have looked at the setting on my PS3 and can't find any way to fix it there.

Does any know how I can fix this?
SharksFan1 is offline  
post #2187 of 4003 Old 08-11-2010, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
d3193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I can't believe I have only just discovered this on AVS.

Thank you. Thank you.
Thank you for sharing this calibration disc with us.
Thank you for your generosity and hard work.
d3193 is offline  
post #2188 of 4003 Old 08-11-2010, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hi All,

Hope this question hasn't been answered before: I just got my first LCD TV yesterday (other TV is a DLP rear projection). How do I calibrate (with your superb disk) the backlight?

Thanks,

Jim
JimLely is offline  
post #2189 of 4003 Old 08-12-2010, 06:22 AM
Member
 
louerhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a helpful pattern generator to output from a PC. And ...completely FREE!!

http://spectracal.com/download_HTPC.html

Lou Erhardt, ISF-C
SpectraCal, LLC
louerhardt is offline  
post #2190 of 4003 Old 08-12-2010, 06:31 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,149
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post

Hi All,

Hope this question hasn't been answered before: I just got my first LCD TV yesterday (other TV is a DLP rear projection). How do I calibrate (with your superb disk) the backlight?

Thanks,

Jim

Have a look at the backlight threads in the Calibration forum: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/searc...rchid=15743043.

The usual advice is to set the backlight as low as is pleasing to you (LCD black levels are better at lower levels) and begin your calibration of the other display settings from there.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
Reply Display Calibration

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , lg bp530
Gear in this thread - bp530 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off