ColorHCFR v2.0 Available... - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 985 Old 02-23-2008, 03:11 AM
Member
 
timmorris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gary has posted several times in this thread about lack of Spyder accuracy. I've got some evidence that proves that unless you get a good one you might as well use it as a paperwieght. I calibrated a plasma with a Spyder and then some weeks later bought an Eye-One Pro. The Spyder results looked good on the face of it but when I measured the same display with the Eye One dE maxed out at 13 due to 10% measurement errors in two of the filters. Just to make sure I re-measured on the same day with the same ambient light (within 30 minutes). The results are attached.

The D2 is calibrated ex-factory so If you are going to bother going through the process then spend the extra.

Tim

 

Spyder vs Eye One.pdf 200.2822265625k . file
timmorris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 985 Old 02-23-2008, 03:29 AM
Ki_
Member
 
Ki_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killerbeenl View Post

Hello,

I have a feature request:

I have connected my laptop with a s-videocable and to my CRT directview tv and used the buildin patterns.
This was the first time because a prefer to use my DVD-player but a must say its
works like a charm.
There is one problem and that is the fullscreen patterns,i used the 10% windows from
the HCFR dvd because that's a better choice for crt televisions.

So my question is can u make 10% or 25 % windows for the automeasure of greyscale/primaries etc.

thanks,

Danny

Hi
You can select the pattern size in the measure/generator/configure/display menu.
(it doesn't work for the test patterns but only for measurement patterns)
Ki_ is offline  
post #273 of 985 Old 02-23-2008, 12:12 PM
Member
 
Killerbeenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ki_ View Post

Hi
You can select the pattern size in the measure/generator/configure/display menu.
(it doesn't work for the test patterns but only for measurement patterns)


owh... how dumb of me thanks for the quick reply

greetz,

Danny

Sometimes you are 1 click away from pulling your hair out and bang your head against the wall
Killerbeenl is offline  
post #274 of 985 Old 02-23-2008, 12:33 PM
Member
 
Killerbeenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmorris View Post

Gary has posted several times in this thread about lack of Spyder accuracy. I've got some evidence that proves that unless you get a good one you might as well use it as a paperwieght. I calibrated a plasma with a Spyder and then some weeks later bought an Eye-One Pro. The Spyder results looked good on the face of it but when I measured the same display with the Eye One dE maxed out at 13 due to 10% measurement errors in two of the filters. Just to make sure I re-measured on the same day with the same ambient light (within 30 minutes). The results are attached.

The D2 is calibrated ex-factory so If you are going to bother going through the process then spend the extra.

Tim

Hi Tim,

Did you measure with or without the filtre/baflle on the spyder and crt or lcd mode in HCFR ?
And was that the spyder2 hardware or the older spyder?

Greetz,

Danny

Sometimes you are 1 click away from pulling your hair out and bang your head against the wall
Killerbeenl is offline  
post #275 of 985 Old 02-23-2008, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

IF we have results to post and get input on, where should these be posted? Should the old thread using the previous version be used?

I actually posted here, and did get some feedback, but I think I shouldn't have posted actual calibration graphs here. Sorry about that.

bump
Where to post graphs and discuss things?
kjgarrison is offline  
post #276 of 985 Old 02-24-2008, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

bump
Where to post graphs and discuss things?

In the following thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=786966
jvincent is offline  
post #277 of 985 Old 02-24-2008, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvincent View Post

In the following thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=786966

tyvm
kjgarrison is offline  
post #278 of 985 Old 02-26-2008, 12:09 AM
Member
 
aoshiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

2.0.1 seems to crash with a .chc file, please, take a look to this post:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8#post13223358

I don't know if it was related to the program or to a bad generated zip file, anyway, I supposed you want to know.

Updated: The program crashes when double-clicking on the chc file but doesn't if you start the program and then choose File->Open.

Cheers.
aoshiken is offline  
post #279 of 985 Old 02-26-2008, 02:18 AM
Tux
Member
 
Tux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doesn't crash here. Double clicked on the FinalCal.chc file. All OK.
Tux is offline  
post #280 of 985 Old 02-26-2008, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
rmongiovi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 27
When I first installed 2.0, I could double click on a certain .chc and it would open fine. If I then closed HCFR and double clicked on the file again, it would tell me the file could not be found. Double clicking another .chc file would work fine, and using the "open" dialog box in HCFR would work fine. But only the first double click on this one .chc file would work.... It would take a reboot to be able to double click that one file again.

Then that just stopped happening. I just chalked it up to the wonders of Windows....
Roy
rmongiovi is offline  
post #281 of 985 Old 02-26-2008, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

No problem at all here also... FinalCal.chc works fine in any case, this either on XP or Vista Premium (SP1).

Btw, nothing similar was reported so far...

--Patrice

French speaking home theater HCFR Forum
laric is offline  
post #282 of 985 Old 02-26-2008, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is this intentional or is this a bug?

Cyan consistently shows up at or near the target postion on the "ideal or target" CIE chart between blue and green. The other secondary colors plot out on the lines appropriately, but not cyan.
kjgarrison is offline  
post #283 of 985 Old 02-26-2008, 09:25 PM
Member
 
Renovator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: League City, Texas
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've attempted to wrangle the original French manual into English.

Unfortunately, I don't speak French, and only recently started worrying with display calibration.

To that end, it's a work in progress. I tried to keep the tone and humor of the original authors, but slipped to local vernacular as the process went on.

I'm happy to host it on my server, I just ask that the links go to the download page rather than hot linking the file(s).

Two Office versions are available. One .docx for 2007 and a .doc for earlier flavors.

NiceFiles

(Any corrections can be mailed to me and the file(s) will be updated.)
Renovator is offline  
post #284 of 985 Old 02-27-2008, 05:11 AM
Member
 
timmorris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killerbeenl View Post

Hi Tim,

Did you measure with or without the filtre/baflle on the spyder and crt or lcd mode in HCFR ?
And was that the spyder2 hardware or the older spyder?

Greetz,

Danny

I measured in Calman V3 using plasma mode for both meters and with the filter in place for the Spyder 2. I'm not the only person to have noticed this. As the spyder isn't calibrated and uses filters which are by their nature variable there's no way that everyone can be accurate. Even the D2 which is calibrated ex factory is susceptible to drifting over time due to humidity.

Tim
timmorris is offline  
post #285 of 985 Old 02-27-2008, 08:01 AM
Member
 
Killerbeenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmorris View Post

I measured in Calman V3 using plasma mode for both meters and with the filter in place for the Spyder 2. I'm not the only person to have noticed this. As the spyder isn't calibrated and uses filters which are by their nature variable there's no way that everyone can be accurate. Even the D2 which is calibrated ex factory is susceptible to drifting over time due to humidity.

Tim


As far as i know you should take the baflle/filter off when measure CRT or plasma so maybe that's the reason.

I know that the spyder is not accurate but its just the numbers that are off
but the result is not that bad and much better than DVE and AVIA .

Sometimes you are 1 click away from pulling your hair out and bang your head against the wall
Killerbeenl is offline  
post #286 of 985 Old 02-27-2008, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
angryht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renovator View Post

I've attempted to wrangle the original French manual into English.

I like the title: Calibration for Zeros.......priceless. Please accept a thank you from a fellow zero.

-Greg
angryht is online now  
post #287 of 985 Old 02-27-2008, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
legierk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Elysian Fields, TX
Posts: 828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renovator View Post

I've attempted to wrangle the original French manual into English.

Unfortunately, I don't speak French, and only recently started worrying with display calibration.

To that end, it's a work in progress. I tried to keep the tone and humor of the original authors, but slipped to local vernacular as the process went on.

I'm happy to host it on my server, I just ask that the links go to the download page rather than hot linking the file(s).

Two Office versions are available. One .docx for 2007 and a .doc for earlier flavors.

NiceFiles

(Any corrections can be mailed to me and the file(s) will be updated.)

On a whim, I thought, maybe someone has translated the instructions for HCFR by now.....wow, too cool....thanks!
legierk is offline  
post #288 of 985 Old 02-27-2008, 09:18 PM
Member
 
timmorris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killerbeenl View Post

As far as i know you should take the baflle/filter off when measure CRT or plasma so maybe that's the reason.

I know that the spyder is not accurate but its just the numbers that are off
but the result is not that bad and much better than DVE and AVIA .

With Calman and Spyder TV the baffle should be ON for measuring CRT and plasma. I have no idea why it should be off for HCFR. Most people have at least a few thousand dollars invested so I can't see why they want to save $50 on a meter (or $200 on software that has help which holds your hand through the whole process, but that is just a personal thing). A dE of 13 is not just measurable but easily perceptible when you have seen the correct greyscale. I have confirmed the Eye One Pro measuremnts with a professional calibrator's Eye One Pro, and his measurements mirrored mine exactly.

Given this information that has been posted on AVSforums several times I can't see why anyone is still buying a Spyder.

Tim
timmorris is offline  
post #289 of 985 Old 02-28-2008, 01:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
blutarsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmorris View Post

With Calman and Spyder TV the baffle should be ON for measuring CRT and plasma.

Ouch!!! Can you confirm?


I own a Display LT sensor and I've been reading it shouldn't be on when using plasmas!!!

What changes when mounted or unmounted?
blutarsky is offline  
post #290 of 985 Old 02-28-2008, 03:21 AM
Member
 
timmorris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A Display LT sensor is a completely different thing, I don't know how HCFR addresses the D2 as it doesn't specifically have a plasma mode.

All I KNOW is that with both the Calman software and the Spyder TV software you are told to fit the filter when using the S2 meter. The S2 meter is not calibrated so unless you are very lucky the results are likely to be inaccurate.

Tim
timmorris is offline  
post #291 of 985 Old 02-28-2008, 03:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

Is this intentional or is this a bug?

Cyan consistently shows up at or near the target postion on the "ideal or target" CIE chart between blue and green. The other secondary colors plot out on the lines appropriately, but not cyan.

it happens..not abnormal to see this..what are you using to measure the gamut

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #292 of 985 Old 02-28-2008, 09:41 AM
 
mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently upgraded to Vista on my laptop. When using the old 1.22f version of HCFR I had no issues whatsoever. Now I've finally gotten around to upgrading to the newer version and it refuses to find my i1. I have tried both versions of eyeone.dll but neither works. When I uninstall and go back to the previous version of HCFR (1.22f) it works fine. I've uninstalled, reinstalled, cleaned the registry, shuffled files... is there something I'm missing?

Any advice?

mech
mech is offline  
post #293 of 985 Old 02-28-2008, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlo View Post

it happens..not abnormal to see this..what are you using to measure the gamut

If you mean what probe. DTR-94

Duh. DTP-94
kjgarrison is offline  
post #294 of 985 Old 02-28-2008, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

If you mean what probe. DTR-94

where is your file

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #295 of 985 Old 02-29-2008, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlo View Post
where is your file
internet probs with uploads

supposed to be fixed

 

kjg 2 27 DALLIGHT.zip 2.8662109375k . file
kjgarrison is offline  
post #296 of 985 Old 02-29-2008, 02:33 PM
Member
 
Killerbeenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmorris View Post

A Display LT sensor is a completely different thing, I don't know how HCFR addresses the D2 as it doesn't specifically have a plasma mode.

All I KNOW is that with both the Calman software and the Spyder TV software you are told to fit the filter when using the S2 meter. The S2 meter is not calibrated so unless you are very lucky the results are likely to be inaccurate.

Tim

With the spydertv software and measuring a CRT TV it ask me to REMOVE the baflle before measuring black and white and for colours it says to put the baflle ON?

This is with the newest version SpyderTV software.

greetz

Sometimes you are 1 click away from pulling your hair out and bang your head against the wall
Killerbeenl is offline  
post #297 of 985 Old 03-04-2008, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,605
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 167
I have a question that maybe someone could answer for me. When I'm doing my calibration is there a place where you can enter your target x,y,Y values so you can get a dE for each measurement when you are trying to dial things in. When trying to get white point squared away it's easy to just watch color temp, but when trying to nail down primaries/secondaires a dE value would go along way (with the x,y,Y that's already there).

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #298 of 985 Old 03-04-2008, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HiHoStevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas & Cedar Hills
Posts: 3,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by laric View Post

That is all explained in "ColorHCFR for dummies" (not yet available in English)...
But yes it should be made more obvious for beginners...

As for 75%, I thought it was allready possible, just can't figure if it really was or only in my mind !

--Patrice

Any idea when the English version might be available for the really dumb..........??

Also will this software work with the Progressive Labs CA-6X sensor?

There are just two theories for successfully quarreling with a woman -- neither one works!
The Barn - Use Password = AVSForum
HiHoStevo is offline  
post #299 of 985 Old 03-04-2008, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiHoStevo View Post

Any idea when the English version might be available for the really dumb..........??

Also will this software work with the Progressive Labs CA-6X sensor?

Heres a more than decent translation IMO. Just a few posts back up the page.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post13237045
kjgarrison is offline  
post #300 of 985 Old 03-05-2008, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Here is my Calibration (and Control) tool that ColorHCFR users may be interested in:

Since I have received several PM's regarding Calibration Automation with applications like ColorHCFR, the ControlCAL API Plugin is still in development and is not currently available to other Developers. Please don't send PM's requesting release dates and when and if other applications will support ControlCAL's API. Feel free to post in ControlCAL's Forum thread.

ControlCAL v1.4 RC1 is Now Available!

Download Link is available at http://www.ControlCAL.com

I'll be posting more information soon concerning the options available when creating and editing ControlCAL Display Profiles....

v1.4 RC1 - 03/05/2008
+NEW ControlCAL Display Profile File Format (.cdp extension).
+Create/Edit/View/Save ControlCAL Display Profiles Option.
+Load Display Profiles created by others.
+You can now toggle between ASCII and HEX Input Modes in the ControlCAL Terminal Window (Advance Mode).
+Internal Serial Command Format Support for many Manufacturers including BenQ, Epson, JVC, Panasonic, Pioneer, Mitsubishi, Sony (including Sony Checksum), Sharp and more....
+Internal Support for Mitsubishi HC Series Projectors - Profile can be used as a starting point for Creating a Profile for your Display.
+Many Internal Code Changes...
+More info Coming Soon......
*v1.4 RC1 is a Time Limited Version and will expire on May 31, 2008.

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off