ColorHCFR v2.0 Available... - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 985 Old 02-06-2008, 07:28 AM
Member
 
Killerbeenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by laric View Post

Yes, the entry il labeled "Rec601 (NTSC)" we know it is a bit confusing, may be we should have labeled it "Rec601 (SD)"... or find a better name for the old EBU "Pal/Secam" one...

--Patrice


Patrice,

I will use the REC601 from now on,thanks

greetzzz,

Danny

Sometimes you are 1 click away from pulling your hair out and bang your head against the wall
Killerbeenl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 985 Old 02-06-2008, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Thanks!

I just used the latest HFCR with the 709 disc also available from this forum to run through a calibration of my pj. It looks great and maybe I'll try again soon to make it even better (the calibration file doesn't look to be perfect but I made a few passes and it's not too bad.)

This was lots of fun and the pj looks great. Thanks Again.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #183 of 985 Old 02-06-2008, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That is the end goal, glad you enjoy the experience... and results !
(And tool )

--Patrice

French speaking home theater
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

laric is offline  
post #184 of 985 Old 02-06-2008, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Losha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: how should i know your location ???
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
would it be possible to support irradiance and reflective measurement with the eye-one pro ? (i have an oem-version, so no imatch for me.. would be nice to measure other stuff too, e.g. in free measure)

It's a guy thing. We don't read. We do. We ask questions later. quote by Curt
Losha is offline  
post #185 of 985 Old 02-07-2008, 02:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
blutarsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post

Thanks!

I just used the latest HFCR with the 709 disc also available from this forum

Is there a DVD with 709 patterns usabel with plasma (small windows) somewehere? I have a PS3 and at the moment there's no Blu Ray disc patterns available...
blutarsky is offline  
post #186 of 985 Old 02-07-2008, 02:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There is, try this one : http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=948496

--Patrice

French speaking home theater
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

laric is offline  
post #187 of 985 Old 02-07-2008, 06:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
blutarsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I'd change that reference label in the next release to "REC 601 NTSC\\PAL" or "REC 601" or "REC 601 SD DVD".... btw, what chances we have to have the opportunity to access the ISF CCC interface
Or maybe the royalties are too high to keep HCFR freeware?
blutarsky is offline  
post #188 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 02:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
blutarsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,
some questions:

1) in the guide "pour nuls" it is showed the sensor attached to a plasma screen with some adhesive tape. How do you calibrate offsets keepeing the sensor attached to the screen? Some plasma screens, although turned off still emit some light...I'm asking because I'm not attaching the Eyone Display 2 sensor, just because every 10 minutes I want to recalibrate offsets (putting the sensor in a black plastic bag, with lights turned off, at night) and having the sensor attached with adhesive tape would uncomfortable....

2) I didn't understand how to run the ANSI contrast measurements: my sensor is attached in such a proper position for color/IRE window measurements, that when in the ANSI "chess table" windows, it as on the border of two squares one white one black.... what am I supposed to do?
blutarsky is offline  
post #189 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 03:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blutarsky View Post

Guys,
some questions:

1) in the guide "pour nuls" it is showed the sensor attached to a plasma screen with some adhesive tape. How do you calibrate offsets keepeing the sensor attached to the screen? Some plasma screens, although turned off still emit some light...I'm asking because I'm not attaching the Eyone Display 2 sensor, just because every 10 minutes I want to recalibrate offsets (putting the sensor in a black plastic bag, with lights turned off, at night) and having the sensor attached with adhesive tape would uncomfortable....

The Eyeone display2 does not need adhesive tape, it has smallsuction cups on it, and if you want to recalibrate it, just remove and put on planar surface and your good to go.

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #190 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 04:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
blutarsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rich,
in the guide they've tapered the sensor also to avoid ambient light interefering with measurements (I think )
blutarsky is offline  
post #191 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 05:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blutarsky View Post

2) I didn't understand how to run the ANSI contrast measurements: my sensor is attached in such a proper position for color/IRE window measurements, that when in the ANSI "chess table" windows, it as on the border of two squares one white one black.... what am I supposed to do?

I wouldn't worry too much about the ANSI measurement. It's just a number and doesn't help with picture quality anyway.
jvincent is offline  
post #192 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 05:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
blutarsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Noting can keep my mind away from thinking that, we, experimenting-users we will be constrained in the flaky-calibration domain, due to limited sensor accuracy.

Switching to a professional tool, means money.

At this point, we could be thinking, how much our sensor is keeping us away from a very good calibration.....

BUT.... ther is a "but"!

If someone had some seriuos equipment and made some tests and discovered that tipically some cheap sensors could benefit from compensated values, we could bring our tests, a step beyond.

So the qeustion is, if did anyone tested Eyeone Display LT/2 with some extremely costly equipment, to check accuracy?

If so, are those compensation values well known?

Can our best friend HCFR take thos compensations?
blutarsky is offline  
post #193 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
TomHuffman did this in his meter shootout. He compared the i1Pro to the D2 and Spyder.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=958099
jvincent is offline  
post #194 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
blutarsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about those 20k sensors..... did anyone compare?

And do you know if HCFR can take those compensation values in account?
blutarsky is offline  
post #195 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 06:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't think anyone did that comparison but don't forget you very quickly get to a point of diminishing returns.

As a hobbyist, if your measurements are within the range of human perception then it's probably not worth spending much more money.
jvincent is offline  
post #196 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 06:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
blutarsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't want to spend more, only thought if those shifts from reality could be taken in account from HCFR.
blutarsky is offline  
post #197 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You can adjust meter offsets in HCFR, but every probe is different. So you would need to have the reference probe to create the offsets.
jvincent is offline  
post #198 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 07:06 AM
Member
 
dooshorama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
question:
i've noticed with the eye-one sensor, during free metering, when transitioning from high contrast (say 80%) to low (say 20%), there is a long pause. the sensor seems to freeze. even when i click on "stop", the sensor does not respond. the work around is to switch to a high contrast image and (sensor responds immediately), stop measuring, switch to low contrast, and restart metering - then the sensor responds without delay.

is this due to the sensor or the software?
dooshorama is offline  
post #199 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 07:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
blutarsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvincent View Post

You can adjust meter offsets in HCFR, but every probe is different. So you would need to have the reference probe to create the offsets.

You mean, for example, that every Eyeone Displa LT is different?
blutarsky is offline  
post #200 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes


Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #201 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
blutarsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow! How do you know what your probe is reading an\\or if it is wrong?!?!?
blutarsky is offline  
post #202 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
laric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They are different to a certain extend...
BTW, all are... You just have to know the tolerances, and may be not look for an ultimate .5 dE with such probes.

--Patrice

French speaking home theater
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

laric is offline  
post #203 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blutarsky View Post

Wow! How do you know what your probe is reading an\\or if it is wrong?!?!?

Assuming it is not broken, it should read within it's tolerances, which are well below the human level of perception.

And following up, what you get with the $20K probes is tighter tolerances and things like the ability to calibrate to NIST verifiable references.
jvincent is offline  
post #204 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hey guys, I got an issue. version 2 keeps crashing. I have tried both vista and XP and it has the same issue on both. When I click on the grey scale measure I get the hour glass and the program stops responding. I am using the DTP-94 and using a macbook with VMware. Both vista and XP worked perfect before. I have also tried uninstalling and reinstalling and recopying over the DLL file for the probe and it still hangs up when I try to measure grey scale. Any ideas?
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #205 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholicJeffL View Post

macbook with VMware

If you have one of the Intel ones, can't you dual boot?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alluringreality is online now  
post #206 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 05:39 PM
Member
 
dooshorama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the individual meter offsets leaves room for someone with a more expensive "reference" probe to create HCFR offset files at a cost. meters would need to be sent back and forth. it's a business idea for a trustworthy individual with some free time.
dooshorama is offline  
post #207 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by alluringreality View Post

If you have one of the Intel ones, can't you dual boot?

Yes I can if I want to set it up that way. Really shouldn't have to it worked flawless with the other version. The program has no way of knowing it is running in VM ware. It is still windows running native.
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #208 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 08:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
stash64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Packer country
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I need a helpful little nudge. I thought I was ready to run through my first calibration using HCFR and my i1 Display LT, but I don't see any measurement tool for contrast in the HCFR menu. Do I use the "Measure Gray Scale" tool along with a 100% gray pattern ? And if so, what reading am I looking for ?

Tom Huffman's guide suggests measuring light output in "fL", and that light output in "fL" can be calculated as: 100%Y x .29. I have a rear projection set, so I want to set contrast at a level that produces 35 fL. However, I don't understand what units of measure correspond to "100%Y".

Lastly, I don't see a black level measurement tool either. Is black level to be set just by eye, not using the colormeter ?

Sean
stash64 is offline  
post #209 of 985 Old 02-08-2008, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sean

Just bring up 100% stimulus (the last white in a greyscale measurement), then increase contrast until you get about 120Y, this should equate to 35ftl..just remember any greyscale adjust will change this..so you might have to go back and forth to get close to that..

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #210 of 985 Old 02-09-2008, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
stash64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Packer country
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlo View Post

Sean

Just bring up 100% stimulus (the last white in a greyscale measurement), then increase contrast until you get about 120Y, this should equate to 35ftl..just remember any greyscale adjust will change this..so you might have to go back and forth to get close to that..


Thank You !!! That was where I was stuck. I did not think you could actually have a "Y" value over 100. I'm going to take a shot at calbrating with HCFR and the AVS HD patterns tonight. Fingers crossed.

How about black level ? Is this done without the colormeter ? I don't see a problem with running black level by eye only since it is the easiest setting to judge by eye.

Sean
stash64 is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off