Xbox 360 - Can You Rip CD's to it? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Fit2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have xbox 360 and I am hooking it to my home theater shortly. I want to be able to rip all my cd's to it.

#1 can xbox 360 do that?
#2 how long per cd to rip?
#3 will it show the song, album cover etc on the screen (50")
#4 how much will it hold (assuming I have nothing else on it)
#5 Does 360 make sense for this application.

Otherwise I may by the escient vision se-80
Fit2Run is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 10:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 4,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
1 Yes, you can rip CDs to it.
2 Been a while since I did it but it seemed comparable to PC times... 3-5 mins maybe?
3 Not sure about the album art but I think not.
4 The drive for a standard 360 is 20GB. You might consider an elite with a 120GB drive
5 Not really. The best way to do it would be to rip them to your Windows PC or Mac and then stream them to your 360 via ethernet. You definitely get album art then... well you do if you do a media center PC and connect it to the 360.
reaper is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
alucard_x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by reaper View Post

5 Not really. The best way to do it would be to rip them to your Windows PC or Mac and then stream them to your 360 via ethernet. You definitely get album art then... well you do if you do a media center PC and connect it to the 360.


using this method you can't play the music while playing games or as a custom soundtrack.

the best way is to just hook up a usb harddrive or ipod and play the music that way, you can get to it right under chat and im settings while in any game by hitting the xbox button.
alucard_x is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
logicalnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 5,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alucard_x View Post

using this method you can't play the music while playing games or as a custom soundtrack.

the best way is to just hook up a usb harddrive or ipod and play the music that way, you can get to it right under chat and im settings while in any game by hitting the xbox button.

nope I stream from my PC while playing Puzzle Quest all the time(the soundtrack gets repetitive).
logicalnoise is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 11:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 4,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Agreed. You can indeed stream music from a PC both through media center and through the guide button which works in-game.
reaper is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jasonstiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NW Las Vegas
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
What you lose by streaming is the custom playlist feature so youll have to either listen to the songs in whatever order the xbox has them in or pause the game everytime you want to skip a song your not in the mood for. The best way is to rip your favorites to the 360 HD and make a some sweet playlists base on the action content of the game
jasonstiller is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sunkist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by logicalnoise View Post

nope I stream from my PC while playing Puzzle Quest all the time(the soundtrack gets repetitive).

So have I, I was streaming the spice girls while playing Halo3 split screen just to piss of my friends. Works way better than putting all of your music on the HD.

Gamertag: Ikazu
Sunkist is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
hotdogwater2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alucard_x View Post

using this method you can't play the music while playing games or as a custom soundtrack.

I do it all the time with no problems -- go try it

XBL Gamertag: The Abuser

hotdogwater2 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 11:09 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 4,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonstiller View Post

What you lose by streaming is the custom playlist feature so youll have to either listen to the songs in whatever order the xbox has them in or pause the game everytime you want to skip a song your not in the mood for. The best way is to rip your favorites to the 360 HD and make a some sweet playlists base on the action content of the game

Also not true. I believe you can simply create a playlist on the PC and you can play that if you want to. It will synch to your playlist and play only those songs.
reaper is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Fit2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont have any songs on my PC. They are all on CD's. Now do I rip my cd's onto my computer and then through the network play them on xbox? Eventually I can add songs using Itunes.
Fit2Run is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fjtorres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by reaper View Post

Also not true. I believe you can simply create a playlist on the PC and you can play that if you want to. It will synch to your playlist and play only those songs.

Correct.
The 360 native media player knows playlists and will load them correctly.
You just need to create them on the PC and be very careful about the path names. It even recognizes autoplaylists (recentlt added, most played, etc) on my Gigabeat.
The trade off between the native media player and the MCE client is album art via MCE vs visualizations via native dashboard player.
And, of course, you are limited to 100 songs inside games.
They've covered most of the bases, although it would be nice if they updated the player to allow local album art as "visualization" option...
fjtorres is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fjtorres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fit2Run View Post

I dont have any songs on my PC. They are all on CD's. Now do I rip my cd's onto my computer and then through the network play them on xbox? Eventually I can add songs using Itunes.

Yes, you can do that. There's about 5 or 6 ways to do it. Easiest is via WMP or Zune software.
You can also burn a data CD or DVD and play the ripped music off that.
Or you could copy ripped music to an external USB-connected HDD.

BTW, if you haven't started ripping and you have the space, consider ripping each CD twice: one at whatever data rate and format you prefer for portable use and a second time in either WMA lossless (preferred) or high bit-rate WMV VBR (say, 320KBPS). Low-bit-rate files really show their limits when played through a good sound system...
fjtorres is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Savageone79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carbondale IL
Posts: 2,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
also if anyone doesn't know already you don't have to pause your game to skip a song in a playlist you can just use the skip forward button on the xbox remote and it will skip the song without interupting your gameplay.
Savageone79 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 03-14-2008, 11:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 4,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
FYI: Beware of iTunes content. If it contains DRM, it will not play on the 360.
reaper is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off