XBOX 1 Memory Upgrade ??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 08-27-2008, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rfisher1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a old XBOX that I want to upgrade the memory to 128megs and want to know the best method to solder the chips. I already got the chips, just need to know the best method. I was thinking a hot air gun, but it might damage the chip.
rfisher1968 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 08-27-2008, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sunkist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
go to xbox-scene.com they have lots of modding help in their forum.

Gamertag: Ikazu
Sunkist is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 08-27-2008, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 4,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.youtube.com/user/stilts07

From what I've read, there isn't much point of doing this unless you are just looking for something to do. What are you hoping to gain from it?
rdank is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 08-27-2008, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rfisher1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdank View Post

http://www.youtube.com/user/stilts07

From what I've read, there isn't much point of doing this unless you are just looking for something to do. What are you hoping to gain from it?

Well i'm running a MAME emulator and with some of the games the XBOX runs out of memory. So if I increase the memory those game can be played.
rfisher1968 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-27-2008, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
markc72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have MAME and they all work fine plus all my other console emulators. Why waste your time.

Come join our adult gaming community at www.syndicatedgaming.net


XBL and Steam: diehardcubfn
markc72 is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 08-27-2008, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rfisher1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markc72 View Post

I have MAME and they all work fine plus all my other console emulators. Why waste your time.

Well I'm using mameox128plus emulator and set the options to use virtual memory and I have slow response when playing. At first the emulator wasn't using any virtual memory and it wouldn't load the game.

I just thought the best solution would be to add the extra memory. It was only $5.25 per chip.
rfisher1968 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 08-27-2008, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 4,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good luck. Hopefully it works out for you.
rdank is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 08-27-2008, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RTRic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfisher1968 View Post

I have a old XBOX that I want to upgrade the memory to 128megs and want to know the best method to solder the chips. I already got the chips, just need to know the best method. I was thinking a hot air gun, but it might damage the chip.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunkist View Post

go to xbox-scene.com they have lots of modding help in their forum.

Seriously...you will get more and better help there. This is not the forum for this kind of talk.
RTRic is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-07-2013, 08:27 AM
Newbie
 
SONIC FIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You dont need to do this anymore... (if you have a modded xbox) and i asume you do as you are playing Mame smile.gif

Here is a program called " RAM LIMMIT REMOVER " that allows you to access more of that xbox memory. - (Download Link Below)


LINK:

http://www.xbox-scene.com/tools/tools.php?page=xbexbx#newsitemEpFVplyEpujTqBIzpD


smile.gifsmile.gifsmile.gifsmile.gifsmile.gif


PS, other programs have this already impremented, like xbox1 CPS3 emulators.. and they work smoothly at 60fps.

tongue.gif
SONIC FIVE is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off