HDCP required For Xbox 360 Netflix HD streaming - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DaMan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new HD Netflix streaming service on the Xbox 360 requires an HDCP compatible display device. If you try play a movie while not connected to an HDCP compatible display, you will get the Secure HDCP Link Not Found error.

HDCP required For Xbox 360 HD streaming
DaMan1970 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Already debunked:
http://www.engadget.com/2008/10/30/d...ent-just-fine/

Move along, nothing to see here. Don't Panic.
mproper is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
jremy510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Woah...hold on--so non-HDMI consoles (yes, some of us still have them), can't use the service at all?
jremy510 is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ripeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
read above.
Ripeer is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
logicalnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 5,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jremy510 View Post

Woah...hold on--so non-HDMI consoles (yes, some of us still have them), can't use the service at all?

you're fine teh HD streaming will work on odler 360's(I own one myself).
logicalnoise is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Goatse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pineapple under the sea
Posts: 3,875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
it works fine with component and 1080i.
Goatse is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slordak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Already debunked above; proven to output just fine at 1080i. Now, is the Xbox 360 taking the high definition content, downrezzing it, then scaling it back up again to the output resolution? Probably not, but that's what folks will cry next. Someone would have to do an image analysis to determine the answer to that, if anyone's really worried.
Slordak is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fjtorres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Video Marketplace does nothing funky over component so why would Netflix?
For that matter, why such a fuss over 300 movies and TV shows (probably more of the latter than the former)?
Its just a place-holder until real broadband gets here anyway...
Mind you, its a great placeholder and something to be encouraged but to hear the gnashing of teeth and wringing of hands you'd think the service was going to dish out sub-vhs quality instead of DVD-plus...
fjtorres is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm guessing that DVDs don't play on non-HDCP DVI devices either. Same situation and no big deal.
chrisherbert is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sirjonsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 81
someone want to edit "Debunked" into the thread title?
sirjonsnow is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cuco33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
+1 on the debunked title

The brand loyalists are going crazy all over the web. If you're a gamer and a movie fan, owning both consoles is the best thing right now. HD streaming via Netflix via the crashbox and Bluray via the PStriplez.

I don't have much info on the audio side of the NXE/Netflix thing yet... As long as it sounds great I'm all for it. Please, no 2ch audio *cough* PSN *cough*



I read somewhere that it might be region locked.. Can anyone give any insite? I'm going away to europe for 6 months and the 360 might be the console that comes with me. I'ld LOVE to have movie rentals over the service if it's open to all customers

Onkyo 605 / Paradigm Titan / Paradigm CC Center / Paradigm ADP rear / HSU STF-1 / HD-A2 / 40gbPS3 / 360elite / Wii / PC
I hate fanboys..
anti-GT5:P-er ;)
eurokult.com
cuco33 is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Valence01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisherbert View Post

I'm guessing that DVDs don't play on non-HDCP DVI devices either. Same situation and no big deal.

I can't say for standard def DVDs, but the 360 will not play HD-DVDs over non-HDCP protected HDMI or DVI link. The 360 plays both standard and HD-DVDs with no issue over component or VGA though.

P.J.
Valence01 is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 7,926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valence01 View Post

I can't say for standard def DVDs, but the 360 will not play HD-DVDs over non-HDCP protected HDMI or DVI link. The 360 plays both standard and HD-DVDs with no issue over component or VGA though.

P.J.

There is no non-HDCP HDMI link

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is online now  
post #14 of 22 Old 10-30-2008, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post

There is no non-HDCP HDMI link

extremely uncommon, but it exists in some monitors... it's also no different than running an hdmi cable from the xbox into a non-hdcp dvi port on a 16:10 monitor.

i know what the spec for hdmi says... i also know that supporting audio is a requirement, though ms says the 360 doesn't officially support it.

No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 11-24-2008, 05:49 PM
Member
 
Billkwando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, I'm confused.

Just got the 360 HDMI cable and tried to watch Heroes over Netlix streaming on our brand new LG 19LG30, and we're getting the HDCP warning and just a big Xbox logo on the screen.

http://www.amazon.com/LG-19LG30-19-I.../dp/B0016PCHL8

The TV is supposed to be HDCP compliant (HDMI 1.3...does that mean the same thing?) but for some reason they don't seem to be jibing.

There's no "HDCP On/Off" is there? Haha.

I have the 360 resolution set to 1400x900.

Any ideas?
Billkwando is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 11-25-2008, 07:16 AM
Member
 
DialItUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ft Wayne, Indiana
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having similar problems to Billkwando. HDCP issue with the NXE and Netflix, as well as upconverting DVDs. Never had the issue prior to NXE on my RCA 50" DLP using HDMI-DVI adapter.
DialItUp is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 11-25-2008, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Slordak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Odd. Do we think that Microsoft enabled HDCP between the time when reviewers were previewing the NXE and when it finally released? Or was it always required on the HDMI output, but understandably not an issue for HD viewing via component?
Slordak is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 11-25-2008, 08:13 AM
Member
 
kinggabbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what's the deal? Will it stream HD over component or not? I have a non-HDMI 360 and an HDMI TV.
kinggabbo is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 11-25-2008, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ballen420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South of Boston
Posts: 3,744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Yes it will. I only have component cables and have already watched HD streaming through Netflix.

XBL & PSN - Harpua77
ballen420 is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 11-25-2008, 08:31 AM
Member
 
excitedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an hdmi to dvi cable for my 360, trying to connect it to my 16:10 monitor, won't let me watch netflix because of this. It's ok though, since this is also my PC monitor and I can just open IE and watch online the same way lol. With HDMI to my 1080p lcd tv though, I can watch it just fine.
excitedguy is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 11-25-2008, 08:40 AM
Member
 
Tree Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So did NXE add HDCP then? Why would they add it now?

I won't have my gold account until tomorrow, I hope I don't have any Netflix issues. My roommate has an older DLP with DVI (manual says it is HDCP compliant) that we use for my Xbox. I suppose I could just switch to component if we run into trouble. I hope they work these bugs out soon.

Gamer Tag: Atomic TreeDude
Tree Dude is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 11-25-2008, 08:45 AM
Member
 
Billkwando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The HDCP issues were ONLY with Netflix.

So apparently it was seeing the HDMI as VGA and that's why it was showing PC resolutions.

All I needed to do was turn off the 360 and the TV, and turn them back on (really I power-cycled/unplugged everything for a minute).....and streaming worked.

That was not a fun way to waste my night.
Billkwando is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off