How do you assign a controller to another 360 without turning on the previous 360? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 02-12-2009, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 6,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Ok, that may sound confusing, but let me explain. I have two different Xbox 360 systems, and 3 controllers. The problem is, when my kids want to play Fifa 09 with me, we need all 3 controllers working on the same 360. So, I go get the controllers from the other room, and assign them to the 360 in the room we are playing in. Problem is, I don't know how to do this, without accidentally turning on the 360 in the other room (the one we aren't using).

Typically, the process of assigning a controller to another 360 is like this:

1. Take controller over to the 360 you want to assign it to

2. Turn on the 360 by hitting the power switch on the front of the 360

3. Press the guide button on the controller (big 360 button)

4. Press the sync button on the console, and the sync button on the controller

5. Wait a few seconds.


If you follow that, you can sync the controller very easily, the only downside, is the byproduct of the fact that when you hit that big guide button on the controller, it will also turn on the 360 system it was previously assigned to (if within wireless range), before syncing with the new 360.

Is there any way around this? Once in awhile, I will find myself forgetting about the other 360, and then later realizing that it was left on all day when nobody knew it.
Anthony1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 01:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RTRic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony1 View Post

Ok, that may sound confusing, but let me explain. I have two different Xbox 360 systems, and 3 controllers. The problem is, when my kids want to play Fifa 09 with me, we need all 3 controllers working on the same 360. So, I go get the controllers from the other room, and assign them to the 360 in the room we are playing in. Problem is, I don't know how to do this, without accidentally turning on the 360 in the other room (the one we aren't using).

Typically, the process of assigning a controller to another 360 is like this:

1. Take controller over to the 360 you want to assign it to

2. Turn on the 360 by hitting the power switch on the front of the 360

3. Press the guide button on the controller (big 360 button)

4. Press the sync button on the console, and the sync button on the controller

5. Wait a few seconds.


If you follow that, you can sync the controller very easily, the only downside, is the byproduct of the fact that when you hit that big guide button on the controller, it will also turn on the 360 system it was previously assigned to (if within wireless range), before syncing with the new 360.

Is there any way around this? Once in awhile, I will find myself forgetting about the other 360, and then later realizing that it was left on all day when nobody knew it.

Why are you hitting hitting the guide button on the controller? Skip step three.
RTRic is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTRic View Post

Why are you hitting hitting the guide button on the controller? Skip step three.

Probably too....ohhh....turn the controller on so he can sync it with the new 360? Possibly? Maybe?

Really, I don't believe what he's asking is possible. The 360 the controller is assigned to will always turn on, and it's not like it's IR where you could block the signal. Really, he'll have to to reassign the controller, and then go turn off the old 360 (since turning it off prior to controller re-assign will also turn off the controller)
mproper is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 05:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Daekwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Only thing I can think of is the using the Play & Charge cable plugged into the 2nd 360. And letting that power on the controller.

Xbox Live & PSN gamertag- Daekwan
www.facebook.com/Daekwan
Daekwan is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Fargus777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daekwan View Post

Only thing I can think of is the using the Play & Charge cable plugged into the 2nd 360. And letting that power on the controller.


this is how i do it everytime.

Gamertag: Fargus
Playstation ID: Fargus79
Fargus777 is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 06:35 AM
Senior Member
 
truck-a-sauras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
why not just unplug the 2nd 360 for 10 seconds while you do this process. problem solved.
truck-a-sauras is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ripeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
turn on the 360, then hold hit connect/sync on desired 360.
Hit/hold sync button on 360 controller. (it's tiny little [controller colour] button to the left of where you plug in the controller.
Ripeer is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripeer View Post

turn on the 360, then hold hit connect/sync on desired 360.
Hit/hold sync button on 360 controller. (it's tiny little [controller colour] button to the left of where you plug in the controller.

but he has to turn the controller on before hitting the controller sync.... right? turning the controller on is wirelessly turning the OTHER 360 on, which is his problem.

can you use the sync without turning the controller on?

No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by formulanerd View Post

but he has to turn the controller on before hitting the controller sync.... right? turning the controller on is wirelessly turning the OTHER 360 on, which is his problem.

can you use the sync without turning the controller on?

I don't think he read the original post. I don't think you can sync without the controller being on, which is the problem and why the other 360 turns on.
mproper is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mproper View Post

I don't think he read the original post. I don't think you can sync without the controller being on, which is the problem and why the other 360 turns on.

yea, i know.

crappy thing is, he could turn the controller on @ xbox 2, then turn that xbox off right away, but it'd turn the controller off

my vote is for a 4th controller.

No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
SQUIDWARD360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just turn the other Xbox off when it turns on? Is this really that big of a problem?
SQUIDWARD360 is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SQUIDWARD360 View Post

Just turn the other Xbox off when it turns on? Is this really that big of a problem?

Most of the things discussed here are not that big of a problem, but that doesn't mean we still don't want to help people out, especially when the OP is asking politely and asking for a workaround for an inconvenience.

I also vote for a 4th controller if you can. Alternatively the best solution is to do your syncing, then remember to turn the other xbox off. Unless you want to deal with the play-n-charge hassle, which I would find more inconvenient.
mproper is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SQUIDWARD360 View Post

Just turn the other Xbox off when it turns on? Is this really that big of a problem?

wont that turn the controller off that he just turned on? wouldn't he be right back as square one?

sounds like a problem to me.


#1. Go downstairs and grab extra controller
#2. Go upstairs and sync controller
#3. Go downstairs and turn off extra xbox
#4. Go BACK upstairs and play.


seems like a LOT of work EVERY time you want to play xbox with the kids.

thats like me saying that you dont need a remote for your cable box, you can just get up and change the channel every time.... i mean you could, but why would you want to?

No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
post #14 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
How about this? Go to your console settings (the one you don't want to stay on) and change this:
Quote:
Auto-Off
Enable auto-off to automatically turn your console off after six hours of inactivity. The default setting is Auto-Off Disabled.

Sure, it'll stay on for 6 hours, but at least it won't be on all night if you forget to turn it off....
mproper is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadADHD View Post

Hold the Guide button down for 5 seconds. It will turn on the XBox 360 and sync the controller at the same time.

if 2 360's are in range, will it sync to both? just one? which one?

i dont think thats a solution that will flawlessly work. especially if it's already paired to the "wrong" xbox... wouldn't it just turn that on?

No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 08:52 AM
Member
 
MadADHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you manually turn on the 2nd XBox and just tap the guide buttons (for less than a second) to turn on the controllers and therefore not turn on the 1st XBox? Then pair the controllers. As I understand it, you have to hold down the guide button for 3 seconds in order to turn on an XBox wirelessly.
MadADHD is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadADHD View Post

Can you manually turn on the 2nd XBox and just tap the guide buttons (for less than a second) to turn on the controllers and therefore not turn on the 1st XBox? Then pair the controllers. As I understand it, you have to hold down the guide button for 3 seconds in order to turn on an XBox wirelessly.

I'm not at my 360, but I don't think you can "tap" the guide button to turn on the controller. You have to hold it down for a couple seconds, which turns on the system.
Maybe tapping works if the system is already on, but even so, the system the controller is synced to won't be on, so you wouldn't be able to and would have to hold it down (turning on the system).
mproper is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i turn my 360 on with my controller exclusively... many times i have hit the button and nothing turned on, and never once has my controller turned on without my console.

No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 09:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
chiliDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just unplug the 360 your not using?

chili
somebody set up us the bomb
chiliDog is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiliDog View Post

Just unplug the 360 your not using?

if you dont want to buy anything, this is probably the best way, plug the 360 into a power strip and just click the power strip off when you grab the controller.

No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So to recap, it looks like the options are:

1) Remember to turn off the 360.
2) Use the play-and-charge kit
3) Buy another controller
4) Set up the original 360 for auto-off after 6 hours (so if you forget to turn it off, it won't stay on for the entire day).
5) Use a powerstrip and just turn it off when you grab the other controller.

I'd probably just go with a combination of 1&4. Or #2 if you have some money sitting around.
mproper is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 09:27 AM
Member
 
ibuycheap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What about put the controller in an area that blocks rf like inside an old pc case and then do the normal steps.
ibuycheap is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
TRALFAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SQUIDWARD360 View Post

Just turn the other Xbox off when it turns on? Is this really that big of a problem?

I've got 5 360s in the house and this happens all the time with controllers, I'm with squid. Turn the controller on when you
pick it up instead of taking where you are going to use it. But make sure all boxes are set to auto off as well, just in case.
TRALFAZ is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ripeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by mproper View Post

I don't think he read the original post. I don't think you can sync without the controller being on, which is the problem and why the other 360 turns on.

I did.

I decided to try this out with controller from my other xbox which has never to my knowledge been used with my main xbox.
I turned on my 360 via power button.
Hit sync on 360
Held down Sync on controller, with that held down pusheed & Held guidee and it appeared to go straight into connect mode.
But other 360 isn't here so I can't verify 100%

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiliDog View Post

Just unplug the 360 your not using?

Ripeer is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lord Flatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vista, CA
Posts: 2,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripeer View Post

I did.

I decided to try this out with controller from my other xbox which has never to my knowledge been used with my main xbox.
I turned on my 360 via power button.
Hit sync on 360
Held down Sync on controller, with that held down pusheed & Held guidee and it appeared to go straight into connect mode.
But other 360 isn't here so I can't verify 100%

So what you're really saying is that you have absolutely nothing to report? Please check the other Xbox and get back to us.
Lord Flatus is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 02-13-2009, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripeer View Post

I did.

I decided to try this out with controller from my other xbox which has never to my knowledge been used with my main xbox.
I turned on my 360 via power button.
Hit sync on 360
Held down Sync on controller, with that held down pusheed & Held guidee and it appeared to go straight into connect mode.
But other 360 isn't here so I can't verify 100%

I see what you're saying, and the OP should give that a shot. What you are saying is that you hold down the sync button on the controller, and then turn the controller on (with the sync button held down). That might bypass turning on the original 360 that the controller is currently sync'd to, and the controller might just "boot up" in sync mode with the new 360.

That is definitely worth a shot. I'd love if the OP could report back, as I anticipate having similar issues if we get a second 360.
mproper is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 02-14-2009, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 6,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiliDog View Post

Just unplug the 360 your not using?

This is actually what I've been doing. I just think constantly unplugging and plugging in the power thing isn't such a good idea in the long run. Plus, it's kinda a pain in the arse to do it, the way I have the 360's situated in the entertainment centers. I'm going to try using the play n charge kit. I also have two PS3 systems, and they are sharing two DS3 controllers, so whenever I need two of them on one of the PS3's, I just use the little link cable thing to link it to the other PS3.
Anthony1 is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 02-16-2009, 03:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RTRic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mproper View Post

Probably too....ohhh....turn the controller on so he can sync it with the new 360? Possibly? Maybe?

Really, I don't believe what he's asking is possible. The 360 the controller is assigned to will always turn on, and it's not like it's IR where you could block the signal. Really, he'll have to to reassign the controller, and then go turn off the old 360 (since turning it off prior to controller re-assign will also turn off the controller)

Well the last time I did it I could have sworn that it would go into search mode when you pressed the sync button. After testing it once I got home I found I was incorrect. My bad. Carry on...
RTRic is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 02-17-2009, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ripeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Anyone checked to see if its possible to turn off the auto on from controller somewhere in the dashboard?
I know you can turn off auto launch of games/discs
Ripeer is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 01-25-2013, 10:54 AM
Newbie
 
sadotear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
wow this is a really old thread, but i was trying to figure out how to do the same thing. anyways:

http://support.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-360/console-power/turn-on-off-console-wireless-controller

says that you can turn on the controller without turning on the xbox by pressing start instead of the guide button. seems to work for me.
ileff likes this.
sadotear is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off