HDMI question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2009, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jkspinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am thinking of getting an XBOX Elite, and had a quick question. If I hook the Xbox up to my Denon 2310 receiver via HDMI, and hook my Denon receiver to my Samsung LCD via HDMI, do I have to get the Optical adapter also, or will the HDMI carry the video and audio to the Denon.
jkspinks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2009, 03:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Scottyb09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Great White North!
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
HDMI cables carry both audio and video. DVI cables carry only video (which isn't a concern in your situation).
Scottyb09 is offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Scottyb09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Great White North!
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Oh yeah- while you may already know this, the newer Elites no longer come with an HDMI cable in the box. So, you'll need to purchase one separately (unless you buy an older Elite).
Scottyb09 is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 06:07 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jkspinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if I want to hook up an XBOX with HDMI, I don't need to buy one of the specific XBOX HDMI cables? Any HDMI cable should work?
jkspinks is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 06:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I'm pretty sure you need to buy the XBOX cable.
goros is online now  
Old 11-11-2009, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sirjonsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 94
If you don't need optical out, then any HDMI cable will do. There is no such thing as an Xbox-specific HDMI cable.
sirjonsnow is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
browerjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 1,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
monoprice.com is your friend...

XBL GT: DMBFiredancer
browerjs is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 08:19 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jkspinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would there be any need to use the optical portion if the HDMI cable is running from an XBOX to my Denon receiver? Would I get better sound by using the optical portion?
jkspinks is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 08:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,064
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 250
HDMI carries all the stuff if your Denon receiver supports HDMI audio. There is no need for optical audio connection which is identical to HDMI audio. Besides, the new Elite no longer comes with the special (slim) optical audio dongle. So you can't connect an optical cable even if you wanted to without spent $$ to buy a Microsoft HDMI kit (which comes with the cable as well as the special dongle) or mod an existing dongle in order to fit underneath the HDMI port.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 11-14-2009, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I do the dongle because I have lip sync issues from my receiver.

You actually get the same quality sound with a toslink/optical cable that you do with HDMI, just less of it. HDMI can carry 8 channels of discrete audio data (7.1), optical/toslink can only carry 6 (5.1). It's all just 0's and 1's being sent across the wire either way, but HDMI can do more.

With the Xbox this isn't an issue because games are not assembled with 7.1 audio and chances are the system wouldn't support it if they did exist.
goros is online now  
Old 11-14-2009, 11:04 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Goros - Please stop trying to help in this thread. You are only doing a pretty good job of lying to this poor man.

jkspinks - Do yourself a huge favor and ignore Goros.

Your receiver does audio over HDMI. This means you can use any HDMI cable (monoprice.com!), and get audio+video to your receiver. Then the receiver will pass the video out to your display. The audio quality compared between the 360's HDMI connection and optical is exactly the same. It is the same DD5.1 bitstream coming out of the Xbox, either way.

Yes, HDMI is capable of different audio types than optical/coax supports, but none of those are used on the 360.
darklordjames is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

Goros - Please stop trying to help in this thread. You are only doing a pretty good job of lying to this poor man.

jkspinks - Do yourself a huge favor and ignore Goros.

Your receiver does audio over HDMI. This means you can use any HDMI cable (monoprice.com!), and get audio+video to your receiver. Then the receiver will pass the video out to your display. The audio quality compared between the 360's HDMI connection and optical is exactly the same. It is the same DD5.1 bitstream coming out of the Xbox, either way.

Yes, HDMI is capable of different audio types than optical/coax supports, but none of those are used on the 360.

Wow, you are a douchebag. Nothing you said disagrees in any way with what I said. All I did was offer other information above and beyond what he was looking for.

Yes, the receiver does audio over HDMI, and in the case of the 360 it's identical. I use the dongle because I have a 35ms delay from my BD player to my TV through MY receiver, and wanted to avoid the chance of delay with the Xbox.

I even use monoprice cables. Go figure.
goros is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off