Mass effect 3 - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 09:37 AM
Member
 
xMEATx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to obtain the bonus power reave without Kaiden in ME 3? I had it ME 2, but it didn't import I guess.
xMEATx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lord_Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 69
concussive is more focused on barriers and flesh, however can be augmented with the 6th level unlock to pick up ammo powers. So on Gold, say you run armor piercing ammo. It's more effective against armor. This means it's GREAT against phantoms and banshees. It can also do a good job of pushing people back, forcing them to stop shooting.

When I rebuild my soldier class, here's how I'm doing it:

Turian Soldier
1 pt marksman (default)
Max out Concussive Shot (Damage/Recharge/Ammo Powers)
Max out Health (shield/health choices)
Max out Turian soldier [not sure yet how, probably focus on carry capacity and damage]
1 pt on proximity mines

Remainder points wherever it seems to work, probably proximity mines, as marksman is kinda negated with Turian soldier buffs.

Human soldier
1 pt adrenaline rush (default)
Max out Concussive Shot (Damage/Recharge/Ammo Powers)
Max out Health (shield/health choices)
Max out soldier [not sure yet how, probably focusing on power damage and carry capacity]
All remaining points on frag grenades [not sure yet how, probably focusing on damage and number of grenades]
Lord_Zath is offline  
post #813 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 10:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
spinoza_43221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ohio, Columbus
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JUST AN FYI....if you use the respec card it removes all the points even the level 1 default point so that you can change it to what ever setup you want.

TV - Samsung DLP 4674W
Receiver - Pioneer 1015-K
Speakers - Polk 6901 (7.1 setup)
Sub - PSW303
DVD - LG 3510A
spinoza_43221 is offline  
post #814 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lord_Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinoza_43221 View Post

JUST AN FYI....if you use the respec card it removes all the points even the level 1 default point so that you can change it to what ever setup you want.

OOH THANKS!

That sounds perfect then on my soldier. max out frag grenades instead and ignore adrenaline rush!
Lord_Zath is offline  
post #815 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotoman View Post

I put a few points in overload but I'm not a fan.

It is awesome, but only when you are fighting the Geth. Then it rapes them big time, two blasts is usual death. Plus it can take down the shields of the banshee!

WilliamR is offline  
post #816 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rotoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamR View Post

It is awesome, but only when you are fighting the Geth. Then it rapes them big time, two blasts is usual death. Plus it can take down the shields of the banshee!

I think that's why I don't like it...its too situational. Whereas the cryo blast seems to work on just about everything.

Xbox handle: TheRotoman
Rotoman is offline  
post #817 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 353
If you put more points into Overload it will stop anyone for a minute. Overload works great against Marauders, Centurions, and if you advance it to chain you can stop a couple of people easily. My first character was an engineer, and I maxed out overload.
spid is online now  
post #818 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lord_Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Doesn't cryo require shields/barriers to be gone first before it works?

Overload works well even on organics - at the very least, it forces them to stagger around while you shoot them in the face. Chain overload for more fun.

That said, yeah, I probably don't use it as much as I could/should!
Lord_Zath is offline  
post #819 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
benjamin-benjami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: edmond, ok
Posts: 4,142
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 682
couple of questions
1. got 97% readiness and numerous war assests, how beneficial is it for me to scan and investigate?? is it worth the time.
2. maybe dumb question, but i hit L1 50 times scanning and found nothing?? do you just fly around and scan?? i can't find anything
3. i am a soldier and need to pick an ammo upgrade to level up, what is the best? also is it automatically activated or is it only good for a period of time like your other powers??


sorry for all the questions, just been playing a bunch of MP and no SP!!!
benjamin-benjami is online now  
post #820 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rotoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjamin-benjami View Post

couple of questions
1. got 97% readiness and numerous war assests, how beneficial is it for me to scan and investigate?? is it worth the time.
2. maybe dumb question, but i hit L1 50 times scanning and found nothing?? do you just fly around and scan?? i can't find anything
3. i am a soldier and need to pick an ammo upgrade to level up, what is the best? also is it automatically activated or is it only good for a period of time like your other powers??

sorry for all the questions, just been playing a bunch of MP and no SP!!!

1. You need a certain EMS level (the bar under war assets)
2. Try all of the systems within each sector. The mission objectives from the Citadel missions will help show the percentage of assets found in that system.
3. Pick your ammo based on expected enemies. You have to activate it in mission and it will last the entire mission.

Xbox handle: TheRotoman
Rotoman is offline  
post #821 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjamin-benjami View Post

couple of questions
1. got 97% readiness and numerous war assests, how beneficial is it for me to scan and investigate?? is it worth the time.
2. maybe dumb question, but i hit L1 50 times scanning and found nothing?? do you just fly around and scan?? i can't find anything
3. i am a soldier and need to pick an ammo upgrade to level up, what is the best? also is it automatically activated or is it only good for a period of time like your other powers??

1) Scanning will also lead to an Achievement, so if you want it, scan. The stuff you find is kinda important to build up your forces.

2) I *think* you need to be close enough to the found item for the waves you emanate to touch it, so just move to a spot you didn't cover and try again. Sometimes, there's nothing to locate. Save first, so if you attract Reapers and they catch you, you can try again.

3) I picked Soldier in ME1 when she did better with the assault rifles that seemed important early in the game, so I've used that class all along. I found cryo ammo decent, but stick to pyro until you burn enough folks to get that Achievement. Talking to your shipmates unlocks Powers you can buy. Some of them are ammo, which isn't quite as neat as biotic blasts but are different from what you already have available. Until I unlock Carnage for a trial run, I'm using Warp ammo which is OK. Not sure there's one universally best ammo, so save before you start a mission, try out ammo on that run, then reload and get something else if it sucks. Apparently, ALL ammo powers last until you change them so there's no power cooldown involved in Warp ammo...

LIVE: mikepaul
PSN: mikewpaul
mikepaul is online now  
post #822 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rotoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Victory packs are up for the weekend mission for everyone. Commendation packs coming later tonight for those that finished a silver Reaper match.

Xbox handle: TheRotoman
Rotoman is offline  
post #823 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mark_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nyc
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikepaul View Post

2) I *think* you need to be close enough to the found item for the waves you emanate to touch it, so just move to a spot you didn't cover and try again. Sometimes, there's nothing to locate. Save first, so if you attract Reapers and they catch you, you can try again.

What happens when they catch you, game over? They were chasing me twice while I was scanning but was able to get away both times.

XBL : lowgn
mark_j is offline  
post #824 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
exojam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 2,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
It just restart's the game in that same area, just like a save would.

James
exojam is offline  
post #825 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by exojam View Post

It just restart's the game in that same area, just like a save would.

Awwww, I was expecting more. Joker wishing Shepard hadn't pinged so often, then the ship exploding. Darn...

LIVE: mikepaul
PSN: mikewpaul
mikepaul is online now  
post #826 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
exojam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 2,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Nope, nothing so fun. It's just like pacman getting eaten by the ghost's.

James
exojam is offline  
post #827 of 2267 Old 03-20-2012, 11:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
so glad the N7 weapons are all **** except for the valiant sniper... should be a very long time and many community events before I get one.... hopefully by then it'll be nerfed and useless as well.


also, overload is infinitely better than cryo blast.

No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
post #828 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 04:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sirjonsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Couple clarifications: there are a couple systems with nothing to scan. Tip for scanning - if there are multiple planets near each other, position yourself to scan as many as you can at once.

Ammo powers last until you change to another ammo power, change guns, or the mission ends.
sirjonsnow is offline  
post #829 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 05:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lord_Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I like using armor piercing ammo, especially later in the game. It makes a HUGE difference against the larger armor carrying enemies.

Scanning - who cares if the Reapers get you? You save when you enter the system, so you just reload entering the system. Chances are you already know where one artifact is, so you can save some time and just go to it. Pretty useless if you ask me - why not have a minigame or something where the Reapers board the ship? That was one of my favorite parts of ME2.
Lord_Zath is offline  
post #830 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 06:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rotoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by formulanerd View Post

so glad the N7 weapons are all **** except for the valiant sniper... should be a very long time and many community events before I get one.... hopefully by then it'll be nerfed and useless as well.


also, overload is infinitely better than cryo blast.

Yeah I probably need to clarify. My human infiltrator has cryo blast, cloak and sticky grenade...not overload. Was confusing my engineer with my infiltrator. My engineer(s) have overload maxed.

Got the Salarian engineer and started using him last night. Decoy, Overload and Incinerate. Was alternating between assault rifles and pistols. Decoy works awesome as long as they don't see you deploy him. Then you can just blast away with overload and incinerate.

I think I found my new best buddy.

Xbox handle: TheRotoman
Rotoman is offline  
post #831 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
the red worm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Reedsburg, WI
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
got the n7 eagle in my commendation pack, I like my carnifex way better

was hoping for a new sniper rifle
the red worm is offline  
post #832 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lord_Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Yeah Salarian Engineer is just great for any enemy. Though I haven't quite figured out what weapon I want to use with him...
Lord_Zath is offline  
post #833 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rotoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord_Zath View Post

Yeah Salarian Engineer is just great for any enemy. Though I haven't quite figured out what weapon I want to use with him...

Yeah that's the issue I'm having too. Been using an assault rifle mostly because they're leveled the highest and allow for the quickest power recharge.

Xbox handle: TheRotoman
Rotoman is offline  
post #834 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 09:16 AM
 
spyder696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of many wives
Posts: 9,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord_Zath View Post

Yeah Salarian Engineer is just great for any enemy. Though I haven't quite figured out what weapon I want to use with him...

Anything that keeps your power recharge at +200% is good. Weapons, to me, are virtually worthless in the ME universe. I rarely carried anything but a pistol around, although once you get the weight unlock for the SMGs, they're a barely passable backup that costs you nothing to nearly nothing in terms of power regen % penalty.
spyder696969 is offline  
post #835 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 09:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,393
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyder696969 View Post


Anything that keeps your power recharge at +200% is good. Weapons, to me, are virtually worthless in the ME universe. I rarely carried anything but a pistol around, although once you get the weight unlock for the SMGs, they're a barely passable backup that costs you nothing to nearly nothing in terms of power regen % penalty.

Honestly I'm having a really hard time trying to rely almost solely on powers in SP as an adept. All of your powers seem useless against a shielded enemy, of which there is no shortage.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #836 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 09:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
spinoza_43221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ohio, Columbus
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tend to agree with what spyder696969 about the weapons I'm trying to find a reason not to use the predator heavy pistol. Especially since it's so easy to level it up and get two good mods for it.

Still haven't got my hands on a Carnifex yet.


The Mattock and Raptor aren't bad and widows are fun to play with.

TV - Samsung DLP 4674W
Receiver - Pioneer 1015-K
Speakers - Polk 6901 (7.1 setup)
Sub - PSW303
DVD - LG 3510A
spinoza_43221 is offline  
post #837 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lord_Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Yeah I've been thinking the same - focusing on 200% regeneration over firepower. That makes me have to decide between the sloppiness of an SMG or the slow rate of fire of a heavy pistol. Decisions, decisions!
Lord_Zath is offline  
post #838 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 09:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
spinoza_43221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ohio, Columbus
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post

Honestly I'm having a really hard time trying to rely almost solely on powers in SP as an adept. All of your powers seem useless against a shielded enemy, of which there is no shortage.

Throw for trash
Stasis for shielded
Warp for armored targets

TV - Samsung DLP 4674W
Receiver - Pioneer 1015-K
Speakers - Polk 6901 (7.1 setup)
Sub - PSW303
DVD - LG 3510A
spinoza_43221 is offline  
post #839 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 10:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,393
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinoza_43221 View Post


Throw for trash
Stasis for shielded
Warp for armored targets

Stasis isn't available to me.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #840 of 2267 Old 03-21-2012, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lord_Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Apparently people are glitching the multiplayer for credits now:

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
get to wave 10, any map, any difficulty, any enemy...

wave 10 is always objective, finish the objective then die before killing everyone (whole team)

youll all get the normal rewards for getting that far

back at the lobby the host needs to change the settings to gold and preferably geth seeing as they are the easiest

start the game

at the start of the game the host needs to quit right after he spawns (or anytime before it pops up with wave 1)

the game will then migrate to someone else in the team, as is normal for any game when the host quits. only difference is when it finishes loading you will be at wave 10.

so invite the host back, comepete the objective (bags you around 40 grand) and then die again before killing everyone - just like wave 10 of bronze.

back at the lobby (new host this time) ready up and go straight into the game, rinse and repeat (host quits, game migrates, invite host back, wave starts at 10, complete objective, earn money, die before killing everything.)


the olny snag to this is that the objective will be the same every time, so if you go through your 10 bronze waves and get ther hacking one where you have to stay in the same spot for 3 mins or whatever it is, youre best to start again and hope for another one. the 4 terminals is easy for a squad of infiltrators and the enemy target ones is easy if you just use rockets (at 40 grand a time rockets arent a problem)


might sound like a mess about to start up but when you get going it is 45 grand every 3 mins
Lord_Zath is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off