Batman: Arkham City - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 243 Old 10-28-2011, 02:00 PM
 
spyder696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of many wives
Posts: 9,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirjonsnow View Post

When does Batman ever use a real weapon other than against a super powered villain? He doesn't use a pipe or bat because Batman doesn't kill. Also, any nearby opponents always interrupt a ground takedown if they're close enough to hit you before you finish the move.

I don't know what you'd want for combat if you take out dodging and countering. Do you just want a Gotham themed puzzle game?

Except that Batman DOES use a pipe, bat, shield, whatever against the very person that he "counters" it from. Smash the dude with the shield, only to drop the same shield for the next random enemy to pick up and use against you? Idiotic.

Give me less wimpy guys with cheap-ass tactics, and more advanced guys that pose a real challenge or require mental prowess beyond spamming the Y button one milion times. Oh well, I guess that's what Dark Souls is for. As a contrasting viewpoint, I did enjoy
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Taking out all the snipers surrounding Joker outside the steel mill and other areas that commanded a bit of thought.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post

The game has artificial intelligence. Once you realize that they aren't doing it just to annoy you, and just following a simple code, maybe you can enjoy the game.

Try to get a successful knockout as catwoman when there's still more than 1 thug conscious...

Um, ooookaaaayyyy then. Games are written as code? There's not some camera in my Xbox that people living in far off lands are watching to gauge my frustration and programming in moves accordingly? Amazing!

I kid, I kid. Frustrating is frustrating, regardless.

In contrast, I had absolutely ZERO issues with Catwoman in gang fights.
spyder696969 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 243 Old 10-28-2011, 08:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
champer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post

I'll give you a spoiler champer, you should have learned this by reading things in the game though. Use the remote batarang and path it through the electricy charge, loop it back to the fuse box right next to the gate you couldn't pass.


Who would've known reading the description of your gadgets could help you out...

I tried that Numerous times before I decided to exit out.

SONY 32XBR6
SAMSUNG 46C6500

BD 40
HD DVD 28
champer is offline  
post #153 of 243 Old 10-28-2011, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sirjonsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 94
You are talking about the second trip there, yes?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DVQuLp5j6Rk
sirjonsnow is online now  
post #154 of 243 Old 10-29-2011, 02:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
champer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirjonsnow View Post

You are talking about the second trip there, yes?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DVQuLp5j6Rk

Yes, But I found my way around it. For some reason the Batarang wouldnt work on the lock on the shortcut gate even though I passed through the Electricity. Tried numerous times. Had to go the long way. But it worked on the 2nd gate.

SONY 32XBR6
SAMSUNG 46C6500

BD 40
HD DVD 28
champer is offline  
post #155 of 243 Old 10-31-2011, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,783
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Do all the side missions need to be completed before finishing the main story?
DaverJ is online now  
post #156 of 243 Old 10-31-2011, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
rtweezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

Do all the side missions need to be completed before finishing the main story?

Yeah, but you unlock a second play through where you keep all your unlocks.

Geaux Tigers!!!
LSU football
2003 BCS National Champions!!!
2007 BCS National Champions!!!
rtweezy is offline  
post #157 of 243 Old 10-31-2011, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,783
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtweezy View Post

Yeah, but you unlock a second play through where you keep all your unlocks.

Thanks. Is there any indication that all quests should be wrapped up at some point before launching the end game?

Please put spoiler tags. For reference:

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
I'm at the top of Wonder Tower. I have no idea if I'm halfway through, or toward the end of the game. I think I'm over 40% in, but I've been doing a fair amount of the side quests.
DaverJ is online now  
post #158 of 243 Old 10-31-2011, 10:35 AM
Member
 
rewdpost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtweezy View Post

Yeah, but you unlock a second play through where you keep all your unlocks.

I was able to keep on going with all the side missions after finishing the main story without going into story+ mode.
rewdpost is online now  
post #159 of 243 Old 10-31-2011, 12:05 PM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 3,015
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

Thanks. Is there any indication that all quests should be wrapped up at some point before launching the end game?

Please put spoiler tags. For reference:

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
I'm at the top of Wonder Tower. I have no idea if I'm halfway through, or toward the end of the game. I think I'm over 40% in, but I've been doing a fair amount of the side quests.


You can keep doing the side quests after you finish the main story. The game lets you switch back and forth between cat and bat at certain points on the map. There's no requirement to finish side quests.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is online now  
post #160 of 243 Old 10-31-2011, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
rtweezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yeah, I just double checked and I was wrong about that. Sorry for the confusion.

Geaux Tigers!!!
LSU football
2003 BCS National Champions!!!
2007 BCS National Champions!!!
rtweezy is offline  
post #161 of 243 Old 11-01-2011, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RemoWilliams84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Anyone go see the Calendar man in the basement of the courthouse last night? He tells a special story on the holidays. Next one up will be thanksgiving.

Xbox Gamertag/PSN ID: RemoWilliams84

"I started out with nothing, and I still got most of it." -Seasick Steve

RemoWilliams84 is offline  
post #162 of 243 Old 11-01-2011, 07:26 AM
 
spyder696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of many wives
Posts: 9,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by RemoWilliams84 View Post

Anyone go see the Calendar man in the basement of the courthouse last night? He tells a special story on the holidays. Next one up will be thanksgiving.

I did all of Calendar Man's crap. What an absolute PITA to get a measly 10 GS!

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
I never did find him once he escaped. At that point, I didn't care anymore. Did anyone find him? If that's it, then that's pretty lame.
spyder696969 is offline  
post #163 of 243 Old 11-01-2011, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sirjonsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Dang it, I didn't think to play last night and visit him. Wonder if I can sign out and rollback the date on my Xbox.
sirjonsnow is online now  
post #164 of 243 Old 11-01-2011, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirjonsnow View Post

Dang it, I didn't think to play last night and visit him. Wonder if I can sign out and rollback the date on my Xbox.

That is how you get the cheevo quickly... why anyone (Spyder) would complain about that is beyond me, seeing as cheevos are optional.

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is offline  
post #165 of 243 Old 11-01-2011, 11:50 AM
 
spyder696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of many wives
Posts: 9,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post

That is how you get the cheevo quickly... why anyone (Spyder) would complain about that is beyond me, seeing as cheevos are optional.

Yes, achievements are optional. In other "breaking news," 2 + 2 = 4!

Calendar Man was one of the more interesting villians in the game. I was hoping for a more "quid pro quo, Clarice" type of interaction rather than simply
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
having him tell a bunch of short stories and then escaping with no real resolution.


Doing this achievement the conventional way, who the Hell is going to think, "Gee, I really need to remember to put in my Batman disc on Feast Day of St. Roch!" or think to play for 3 minutes a year later...if they even still have this (ancient by then) game?

Going the "non-conventional" method, one is required to;
Log off Live
Unplug connection
Power on console
Change date manually
Load game
Run to cell
Talk to Calendar Man
Run back to Save
Power down
...Repeat, repeat, repeat.

Fine, but given what actually happens, it was a HUGE letdown.
spyder696969 is offline  
post #166 of 243 Old 11-01-2011, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyder696969 View Post

Yes, achievements are optional. In other "breaking news," 2 + 2 = 4!

Calendar Man was one of the more interesting villians in the game. I was hoping for a more "quid pro quo, Clarice" type of interaction rather than simply
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
having him tell a bunch of short stories and then escaping with no real resolution.


Doing this achievement the conventional way, who the Hell is going to think, "Gee, I really need to remember to put in my Batman disc on Feast Day of St. Roch!" or think to play for 3 minutes a year later...if they even still have this (ancient by then) game?

Going the "non-conventional" method, one is required to;
Log off Live
Unplug connection
Power on console
Change date manually
Load game
Run to cell
Talk to Calendar Man
Run back to Save
Power down
...Repeat, repeat, repeat.

Fine, but given what actually happens, it was a HUGE letdown.

I spoke with Rocksteady and they too are awaiting the perfect video game you have made so they can learn from your amazing coding skills. Oh, and they apologize for you not liking the Calendar Man cheevo, have removed it, and are awaiting your input on what to replace it with....

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is offline  
post #167 of 243 Old 11-01-2011, 10:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
champer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I downloaded the Joker carnival map pack as well. Dont see it in the game
does it not install automatically ? Catwoman did

SONY 32XBR6
SAMSUNG 46C6500

BD 40
HD DVD 28
champer is offline  
post #168 of 243 Old 11-02-2011, 09:50 AM
Member
 
quadrophenia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question, although it's probably been asked before. I haven't played Asylum but recently played and enjoyed the demo on XBL. Should I play it first or go straight to Arkham City? I guess I'm a little worried about getting spoiled by better gameplay on Arkham City and then not wanting to take a step back to Asylum later.
quadrophenia is offline  
post #169 of 243 Old 11-02-2011, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,783
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by quadrophenia View Post

Quick question, although it's probably been asked before. I haven't played Asylum but recently played and enjoyed the demo on XBL. Should I play it first or go straight to Arkham City? I guess I'm a little worried about getting spoiled by better gameplay on Arkham City and then not wanting to take a step back to Asylum later.

If you only want one, go with City. If you want to play both, it is probably best to start with Asylum and step up to City.

Both are excellent, but City is a good bit "more excellent" than Asylum.
DaverJ is online now  
post #170 of 243 Old 11-02-2011, 10:21 AM
 
spyder696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of many wives
Posts: 9,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post

I spoke with Rocksteady and they too are awaiting the perfect video game you have made so they can learn from your amazing coding skills. Oh, and they apologize for you not liking the Calendar Man cheevo, have removed it, and are awaiting your input on what to replace it with....

Thanks. Everyone benefits when mediocrity isn't celebrated or rewarded.
spyder696969 is offline  
post #171 of 243 Old 11-02-2011, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
evnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
How do I enable 3D play ? My new xbox has the 3d enabled - and connected to hd3300 thr' denon 1611. All other sources work in 3d.

Enjoying Nissan Leaf as the primary car for over 6 months : MyNissanLeaf.com
evnow is offline  
post #172 of 243 Old 11-03-2011, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sirjonsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Had a game breaking glitch last night right at the end where a room and enemies weren't rendered. Instead I'm wandering around the top of a building trying to figure out what I must have missed.

Thankfully I found a YouTube clip that showed I missed nothing and the room was missing, and then a reload fixed the issue.

Good game but, while it's bigger than AA, I think AA had the better story.
sirjonsnow is online now  
post #173 of 243 Old 11-03-2011, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WizarDru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by champer View Post

I downloaded the Joker carnival map pack as well. Dont see it in the game
does it not install automatically ? Catwoman did

Not sure. I think it might not unlock until you finish the main game?
WizarDru is offline  
post #174 of 243 Old 02-07-2012, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,983
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 531
This rocked! Good complement to the first. Only thing I don't dig is the DLC, got it on Gamefly and not keen on plopping out $s to fill in gaps. Really liked how they tweaked little things here and there like beating Riddler secrets out of informants instead of finding maps. Jokers voicemails were hilarious too.
lordxar5 is online now  
post #175 of 243 Old 03-19-2012, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jitu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I think I screwed up the Identity Thief side mission. I didn't complete it before finishing the game and now when I go back to find the 3rd victim, I have no clue as to what to do or where to go look. The blood trail ended. What can I do now?

Also, to save hostages from the Riddler, do I have to collect all the trophies before I get clues to the next hostage area?

PSN: Fail_At_Failing
XBL: jitu757


bbexperience: "hmm. I don't know. It's hard to notice the sensitivity of the sticks when the controller is flying through the air."
jitu is offline  
post #176 of 243 Old 03-19-2012, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jitu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Someone mentioned a glitch earlier and I also found a glitch in the Steel Mill area where you had to destroy one of the canisters for Bane's mission.

If you revisit that area, you will run into some thugs and if you fight them next to the canister, they somehow get thrown up on the room right above the canister and eventually they fall off and die.

PSN: Fail_At_Failing
XBL: jitu757


bbexperience: "hmm. I don't know. It's hard to notice the sensitivity of the sticks when the controller is flying through the air."
jitu is offline  
post #177 of 243 Old 03-19-2012, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by jitu View Post

I think I screwed up the Identity Thief side mission. I didn't complete it before finishing the game and now when I go back to find the 3rd victim, I have no clue as to what to do or where to go look. The blood trail ended. What can I do now?

Also, to save hostages from the Riddler, do I have to collect all the trophies before I get clues to the next hostage area?

jitu,
I am stuck in both of these same spots as well...No matter what I do, I cannot scan the third Identity thief crime scene..
I talk to the Political Prisoner, but...nothing.
I also show no more search areas for the fourth and fifth hostages...
Let me know if you find an answer...I will post back if I do, as well...

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40

kevin g. is online now  
post #178 of 243 Old 03-19-2012, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jitu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin g. View Post

jitu,
I am stuck in both of these same spots as well...No matter what I do, I cannot scan the third Identity thief crime scene..
I talk to the Political Prisoner, but...nothing.
I also show no more search areas for the fourth and fifth hostages...
Let me know if you find an answer...I will post back if I do, as well...

From what I read on a random site, the Museum story has to be completed for the 3rd victim to appear but I went back to the Museum and there is nothing to do there. I went back there with Batman and Catwoman and made it as far as I can but it didn't trigger anything.

PSN: Fail_At_Failing
XBL: jitu757


bbexperience: "hmm. I don't know. It's hard to notice the sensitivity of the sticks when the controller is flying through the air."
jitu is offline  
post #179 of 243 Old 03-19-2012, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by jitu View Post

I think I screwed up the Identity Thief side mission. I didn't complete it before finishing the game and now when I go back to find the 3rd victim, I have no clue as to what to do or where to go look. The blood trail ended. What can I do now?

Also, to save hostages from the Riddler, do I have to collect all the trophies before I get clues to the next hostage area?

I did all the side missions at the end. Just look up a vid on YouTube.

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is offline  
post #180 of 243 Old 03-19-2012, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jitu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post

I did all the side missions at the end. Just look up a vid on YouTube.

I did but they weren't very helpful. The people that posted just went through like normal.

When I play, for exmple, with Riddler's side mission I completed the 2 hostages but to get the 3rd one I have solve his riddles in the amusement miles and i did but when I used the scanner the Riddler says something like I am trying to find the hostages without finding all his riddles.

PSN: Fail_At_Failing
XBL: jitu757


bbexperience: "hmm. I don't know. It's hard to notice the sensitivity of the sticks when the controller is flying through the air."
jitu is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off