The NEW Gaming Headset/Headphone Topic! (REQUEST STICKY PLZ) - Page 189 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 19Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5641 of 5663 Old 12-15-2014, 06:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
tampabuc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Just wanted to say that I tried the official Xbox One Stereo headset, for a bedroom set-up (TV + Gaming), intended to not disturb the Victoria Secret model of the month reading War & Peace beside me, but it just wasn't loud enough to drown out all of the non gaming related questions.


Great quality headset, but it just didn't work for me. Back to the drawing board, got that set for only $50 (includes the $20+ chat adapter). Oh well...
tampabuc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5642 of 5663 Old 12-16-2014, 10:12 AM
Member
 
MilkManX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AZ USA
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Well now that you have the adapter just about any 360 headset from Turtle Beach will work and the amplified ones are plenty loud.
MilkManX is online now  
post #5643 of 5663 Old 12-16-2014, 04:15 PM
Member
 
smokozuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampabuc View Post
Just wanted to say that I tried the official Xbox One Stereo headset, for a bedroom set-up (TV + Gaming), intended to not disturb the Victoria Secret model of the month reading War & Peace beside me, but it just wasn't loud enough to drown out all of the non gaming related questions.


Great quality headset, but it just didn't work for me. Back to the drawing board, got that set for only $50 (includes the $20+ chat adapter). Oh well...
not loud enough, i am shocked at that statement, that headset gets incredibly loud. definitely dont get the polk 4 shots then because they are much quieter than the ms stereo headset.

Last edited by smokozuna; 12-18-2014 at 07:02 PM.
smokozuna is offline  
post #5644 of 5663 Old 12-16-2014, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone on here have SkullCandy PLYR2 wireless headset using it with the Microsoft xbox one adapter? I picked up two Xbox ones for gifts and my son has that headset for the 360 right now. I went to the SkullCandy website and it does not list it as Xbox one comparable.

Thank you
splatee is offline  
post #5645 of 5663 Unread 12-18-2014, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
jbn008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
TB 500x firmware update

I have a question for stealth 500x owners. Do the headphones need to be updated out of the box to work correctly?

I'm asking because I have a Mac so it'll be a while before I can borrow a pc to handle the firmware updates.

Thanks

Headless Petie
jbn008 is online now  
post #5646 of 5663 Unread 12-18-2014, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbn008 View Post
I have a question for stealth 500x owners. Do the headphones need to be updated out of the box to work correctly?

I'm asking because I have a Mac so it'll be a while before I can borrow a pc to handle the firmware updates.

Thanks
I sure as hell hope not. I've a Mac, and I'm not sure what I'm gonna do.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is online now  
post #5647 of 5663 Unread 12-18-2014, 07:03 PM
Member
 
smokozuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbn008 View Post
I have a question for stealth 500x owners. Do the headphones need to be updated out of the box to work correctly?

I'm asking because I have a Mac so it'll be a while before I can borrow a pc to handle the firmware updates.

Thanks
The Stealth 500X requires a Day One software update for optimal performance when connected to the Xbox One. Please visit TurtleBeach.com/Stealth500X to obtain the latest software version.
smokozuna is offline  
post #5648 of 5663 Unread 12-18-2014, 07:55 PM
Member
 
Firepr00f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbn008 View Post
I have a question for stealth 500x owners. Do the headphones need to be updated out of the box to work correctly?

I'm asking because I have a Mac so it'll be a while before I can borrow a pc to handle the firmware updates.

Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
I sure as hell hope not. I've a Mac, and I'm not sure what I'm gonna do.
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokozuna View Post
The Stealth 500X requires a Day One software update for optimal performance when connected to the Xbox One. Please visit TurtleBeach.com/Stealth500X to obtain the latest software version.
I'm a Mac user as well, and while I like all the features of the set, and the generally positive reviews, I'm not going with Turtle Beach since Mac isn't supported. I don't feel like jumping through hoops to get a $300 pair of headsets to work.

I think I'm going to try the Astro A50s first, as I can get them (and return them, if needed) at my local Best Buy. If they don't wow me, I'll try the SteelSeries H Wireless.
Firepr00f is online now  
post #5649 of 5663 Unread 12-19-2014, 04:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,312
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 562
Astro supports Mac but I doubt you will need to update anything as the last firmware released was back in April.
Firepr00f likes this.

One of the greatest posts I have read

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/forum/142-pl...l#post24609271
emartins is offline  
post #5650 of 5663 Unread 12-19-2014, 02:53 PM
Member
 
MD MC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firepr00f View Post
I'm a Mac user as well, and while I like all the features of the set, and the generally positive reviews, I'm not going with Turtle Beach since Mac isn't supported. I don't feel like jumping through hoops to get a $300 pair of headsets to work.

I think I'm going to try the Astro A50s first, as I can get them (and return them, if needed) at my local Best Buy. If they don't wow me, I'll try the SteelSeries H Wireless.
Just FYI, the TB 500x are retail $229, but are currently $199 on Amazon, not $300 as stated. If you want to spend $300, go ahead and pick up those Astros. I know I didnt want to spend that much.

And to answer the question, the headset will work without applying the firmware updates, you just dont get the options of pre-programming your specific sound fields that you can cycle through. I used them for a few days before applying the FW update just to make sure the FW didnt brick them because I bought them the day they were released. I honestly didnt hear any difference in the "Default" mode prior to or after the FW update, which is what I use. All of the other sound fields to scroll through seem like gimmicks to me (Heavy Bass mode, Music Mode, etc..)

And as stated earlier, this is currently the only 100% wireless solution for both sound and chat.

Hope this clears up some confusion. I dont think I am qualified as others to give a comparison to other headsets, as this is the first I have ever owned. I needed a 100% wireless mic, would have preferred a solution like the 360 clip on ear one so I could continue to use my 7.1 theater. Hopefully they will release somethign like that in the future.
MD MC is offline  
post #5651 of 5663 Unread 12-19-2014, 06:08 PM
Member
 
smokozuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firepr00f View Post
I'm a Mac user as well, and while I like all the features of the set, and the generally positive reviews, I'm not going with Turtle Beach since Mac isn't supported. I don't feel like jumping through hoops to get a $300 pair of headsets to work.

I think I'm going to try the Astro A50s first, as I can get them (and return them, if needed) at my local Best Buy. If they don't wow me, I'll try the SteelSeries H Wireless.
make life easy and buy this

http://www.amazon.com/ASTRO-Gaming-R.../dp/B00EIM3BV6
smokozuna is offline  
post #5652 of 5663 Unread 12-19-2014, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD MC View Post
Just FYI, the TB 500x are retail $229, but are currently $199 on Amazon, not $300 as stated. If you want to spend $300, go ahead and pick up those Astros. I know I didnt want to spend that much.

And to answer the question, the headset will work without applying the firmware updates, you just dont get the options of pre-programming your specific sound fields that you can cycle through. I used them for a few days before applying the FW update just to make sure the FW didnt brick them because I bought them the day they were released. I honestly didnt hear any difference in the "Default" mode prior to or after the FW update, which is what I use. All of the other sound fields to scroll through seem like gimmicks to me (Heavy Bass mode, Music Mode, etc..)

And as stated earlier, this is currently the only 100% wireless solution for both sound and chat.

Hope this clears up some confusion. I dont think I am qualified as others to give a comparison to other headsets, as this is the first I have ever owned. I needed a 100% wireless mic, would have preferred a solution like the 360 clip on ear one so I could continue to use my 7.1 theater. Hopefully they will release somethign like that in the future.
Nice post. I've really only used the FPS surround mode, and I was wondering if you've tried the TB dynamic sound or whatever they call it. I was wondering if there was a substantive difference.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is online now  
post #5653 of 5663 Unread 12-20-2014, 07:42 AM
Member
 
Firepr00f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD MC View Post
Just FYI, the TB 500x are retail $229, but are currently $199 on Amazon, not $300 as stated. If you want to spend $300, go ahead and pick up those Astros. I know I didnt want to spend that much.

And to answer the question, the headset will work without applying the firmware updates, you just dont get the options of pre-programming your specific sound fields that you can cycle through. I used them for a few days before applying the FW update just to make sure the FW didnt brick them because I bought them the day they were released. I honestly didnt hear any difference in the "Default" mode prior to or after the FW update, which is what I use. All of the other sound fields to scroll through seem like gimmicks to me (Heavy Bass mode, Music Mode, etc..)

And as stated earlier, this is currently the only 100% wireless solution for both sound and chat.

Hope this clears up some confusion. I dont think I am qualified as others to give a comparison to other headsets, as this is the first I have ever owned. I needed a 100% wireless mic, would have preferred a solution like the 360 clip on ear one so I could continue to use my 7.1 theater. Hopefully they will release somethign like that in the future.
Oh you're right. Yes $200, not $300 for these. So that is something to think about - since they seem to work with no update and can also be bought and returned locally with no hassle. Still bugs me about no Mac support.
Firepr00f is online now  
post #5654 of 5663 Unread 12-20-2014, 07:46 AM
Member
 
Firepr00f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokozuna View Post
Thanks for the tip. But I read these are Gen 1 and not Gen 2. Do you know for sure which? I read Gen 2 fixes some issues and I don't believe these come with the XB1 chat adapter so I would have to get that separately as well.

Money is not really an issue at the moment (to a degree of course - I probably wouldn't spend MORE than $300 on a pair, but that or less fits my budget). I'm all for saving money but definitely want latest Gen with whichever way I go.

Thanks!
Firepr00f is online now  
post #5655 of 5663 Unread 12-20-2014, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,312
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firepr00f View Post
Thanks for the tip. But I read these are Gen 1 and not Gen 2. Do you know for sure which? I read Gen 2 fixes some issues and I don't believe these come with the XB1 chat adapter so I would have to get that separately as well.

Money is not really an issue at the moment (to a degree of course - I probably wouldn't spend MORE than $300 on a pair, but that or less fits my budget). I'm all for saving money but definitely want latest Gen with whichever way I go.

Thanks!

Those are Gen 1s.
Firepr00f likes this.

One of the greatest posts I have read

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/forum/142-pl...l#post24609271
emartins is offline  
post #5656 of 5663 Unread 12-21-2014, 01:35 PM
Member
 
all4bespinnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Still running some TB PC 5.1 headset with a Astro Mixamp. They still sound pretty good but I think one side is slightly louder than the other. I'll use them until they break lol
all4bespinnin is offline  
post #5657 of 5663 Unread 12-22-2014, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
jbn008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD MC View Post
Just FYI, the TB 500x are retail $229, but are currently $199 on Amazon, not $300 as stated. If you want to spend $300, go ahead and pick up those Astros. I know I didnt want to spend that much.

And to answer the question, the headset will work without applying the firmware updates, you just dont get the options of pre-programming your specific sound fields that you can cycle through. I used them for a few days before applying the FW update just to make sure the FW didnt brick them because I bought them the day they were released. I honestly didnt hear any difference in the "Default" mode prior to or after the FW update, which is what I use. All of the other sound fields to scroll through seem like gimmicks to me (Heavy Bass mode, Music Mode, etc..)

And as stated earlier, this is currently the only 100% wireless solution for both sound and chat.

Hope this clears up some confusion. I dont think I am qualified as others to give a comparison to other headsets, as this is the first I have ever owned. I needed a 100% wireless mic, would have preferred a solution like the 360 clip on ear one so I could continue to use my 7.1 theater. Hopefully they will release somethign like that in the future.
Just a fyi, i bought a modded xbox stereo adaptor that uses bluetooth (http://www.ebay.com/itm/TURTLE-BEACH...item3a9d881c75).

As a result, I can use that adaptor with any bluetooth headset for a 100% wireless solution. I've had it for several months and it works perfectly.

Headless Petie
jbn008 is online now  
post #5658 of 5663 Unread 12-22-2014, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
henhowc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 90025
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
curious if anyone's owned the 500x and elite 800 and if there is a noticeable difference in mic and game audio quality. leaning toward the 500x assuming the advantages of the elite 800 are mainly cosmetic versus related to audio quality
henhowc is offline  
post #5659 of 5663 Unread Yesterday, 04:57 PM
Member
 
mr_gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys. I'm sure this has been covered but thread is massive. I have xbox one, pc 360s and a mix amp.

What are the best setting for the Xbox one to ensure I am getting DD sound? Or is it still jacked up like it was at launch? I played again last night and don't feel like I can hear anything behind me like I used to but maybe that is just the new COD?

Any ideas would be great. Thanks!
mr_gordon is offline  
post #5660 of 5663 Unread Yesterday, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
henhowc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 90025
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_gordon View Post
Hey guys. I'm sure this has been covered but thread is massive. I have xbox one, pc 360s and a mix amp.

What are the best setting for the Xbox one to ensure I am getting DD sound? Or is it still jacked up like it was at launch? I played again last night and don't feel like I can hear anything behind me like I used to but maybe that is just the new COD?

Any ideas would be great. Thanks!
don't own an xbone but i do have the ps4 version. footsteps have been really toned down in COD AW compared to previous games. i find exo-mute pretty useless as it seems like a design decision to eliminate sound whoring. highly suggest testing using a different game if possible. any directional sound in this game seems to be mostly limited to gunfire and boost jumping.
henhowc is offline  
post #5661 of 5663 Unread Today, 07:35 AM
Member
 
MD MC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
Nice post. I've really only used the FPS surround mode, and I was wondering if you've tried the TB dynamic sound or whatever they call it. I was wondering if there was a substantive difference.
No, havent used the other sound modes besides the Default one but it sounded the best for gaming. There were modes for movie watching and music, i remember one being called Heavy Footsteps or something like that, but Im a purist and never really add post-processing when bitstreaming DD and other high res audio formats, so I didnt want to mess with the Default/Direct mode.

I will say they are plenty loud for me, full volume is too loud when theres explosions and such but maybe im just getting old. I know that was a concern, but I also like to be able to keep at a volume where I could hear the doorbell or my phones ringing.

That bluetooth thing is pretty interesting. So you can pair any headset, even a basic ear piece? I might have gone that route as it would have been cheaper. I will revise my statement saying its the only "Official" 100% wireless solution.
MD MC is offline  
post #5662 of 5663 Unread Today, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
jbn008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD MC View Post
No, havent used the other sound modes besides the Default one but it sounded the best for gaming. There were modes for movie watching and music, i remember one being called Heavy Footsteps or something like that, but Im a purist and never really add post-processing when bitstreaming DD and other high res audio formats, so I didnt want to mess with the Default/Direct mode.

I will say they are plenty loud for me, full volume is too loud when theres explosions and such but maybe im just getting old. I know that was a concern, but I also like to be able to keep at a volume where I could hear the doorbell or my phones ringing.

That bluetooth thing is pretty interesting. So you can pair any headset, even a basic ear piece? I might have gone that route as it would have been cheaper. I will revise my statement saying its the only "Official" 100% wireless solution.
Yes, any bluetooth headset. i don't know what's crazier, the fact that the modded adaptor works so well, or that Microsoft hasn't come out with one of their own (it's amazing to me that more people don't complain about this).

It's basically 2015 for crying out loud. I guess most people don't mind a cord tethered to their controller.

Headless Petie
jbn008 is online now  
post #5663 of 5663 Unread Today, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbn008 View Post
Yes, any bluetooth headset. i don't know what's crazier, the fact that the modded adaptor works so well, or that Microsoft hasn't come out with one of their own (it's amazing to me that more people don't complain about this).

It's basically 2015 for crying out loud. I guess most people don't mind a cord tethered to their controller.
Either that or they don't think being "untethered" is worth the price...I certainly do though.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is online now  
Reply Xbox Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off