Cheap alternatives Xbox VGA or HDMI? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 11-01-2011, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
hsv
AVS Special Member
 
hsv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Heres the question:

I currently have an old 360 without an HDMI port. I want to use a computer monitor instead of my tv. My monitor has HDMI and VGA ports. I have a headset that supports surround sound.

Gamestop has a xbox vga cable for $40 new. There are no used ones in my area. Bad thing about them is there is no optical out, like the original video cable that comes with the xbox. So I can only use stereo for my headset.

Gamestop is also doing a $25 trade-in bonus on systems. So I can basically trade in my fat and get a used fat with HDMI for $65 bucks. I'm just worried about the history of a used 360 from some random that traded it in.

Any recommendations? Thanks

XBL: TRAIL MIX A L0T
PSN: Trail-Mix-A-Lot
hsv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 11-01-2011, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhufnagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsv View Post

Heres the question:

I currently have an old 360 without an HDMI port. I want to use a computer monitor instead of my tv. My monitor has HDMI and VGA ports. I have a headset that supports surround sound.

Gamestop has a xbox vga cable for $40 new. There are no used ones in my area. Bad thing about them is there is no optical out, like the original video cable that comes with the xbox. So I can only use stereo for my headset.

Gamestop is also doing a $25 trade-in bonus on systems. So I can basically trade in my fat and get a used fat with HDMI for $65 bucks. I'm just worried about the history of a used 360 from some random that traded it in.

Any recommendations? Thanks

Amazon is selling MS vga cables that have the optical output for a little less than that ($36.xx) with free "Super Saver" shipping. If you can wait a few days, that's what I would do. I sure wouldn't get a used 360, especially from Gamestop. No telling what that machine has been through.
mhufnagel is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 11-01-2011, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kjr39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 54
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

I've used this. Works great.

Salminella Now Better with Kinect: 360 PSN

Official member and mascot of the AVS' Xbox 360 Elite Club of Awesomeness
kjr39 is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 11-01-2011, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhufnagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjr39 View Post

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

I've used this. Works great.

I always use monoprice when I can. But this item is out of stock with no time frame for it getting re-stocked.
mhufnagel is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 11-01-2011, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Question. Why can't ps3 use VGA yet Xbox can?
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 11-01-2011, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p3Orion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I have an Xbox 360, purchased Xmas 2008, that has component and HDMI. My Panasonic TH-42PS9UK plasma doesn't have a HDMI board installed, so only component and PC (15 pin) inputs. Would I connect the Xbox VGA cable where I connect my component cable on the 360? The connectors look the same.

Will VGA look better than component on my plasma? I remember reading that colors were washed out using VGA, but that may have been fixed in an update years ago.
p3Orion is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 11-01-2011, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Valence01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhufnagel View Post

I always use monoprice when I can. But this item is out of stock with no time frame for it getting re-stocked.

For the record, some folks complain that the monoprice Xbox VGA cable has a fuzzy picture, though I haven't had any issue.

P.J.
Valence01 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 11-01-2011, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,649
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valence01 View Post

For the record, some folks complain that the monoprice Xbox VGA cable has a fuzzy picture, though I haven't had any issue.

P.J.

I'm one of those people. It's a horrible ghosting effect. I tried to live with it but ended up not being able to.

ended up getting an authentic used VGA cable at Gamestop for $12 and that picture was so much better.
onlysublime is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 11-01-2011, 09:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If your TV/Monitor has a TRUE VGA input: authentic vga cable > hdmi/dvi > component > fake/monoprice/bestbuy vga > composite.

vga is not washed out, everything else is oversaturated

No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 11-02-2011, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike LS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valence01 View Post

For the record, some folks complain that the monoprice Xbox VGA cable has a fuzzy picture, though I haven't had any issue.

P.J.

Only bad product I've ever bought from MonoPrice. Mine is good most of the time, but periodically I'll get horizontal lines running down my screen when using this cable.

Gamertag: crud monkey
Mike LS is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 11-02-2011, 06:19 AM - Thread Starter
hsv
AVS Special Member
 
hsv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by formulanerd View Post

If your TV/Monitor has a TRUE VGA input: authentic vga cable > hdmi/dvi > component > fake/monoprice/bestbuy vga > composite.

vga is not washed out, everything else is oversaturated

Formula, you're going to have to school me on TRUE VGA if you don' mind.

The monitor has the blue female 15 pin connector on the back.

Thanks everyone for the replies.

XBL: TRAIL MIX A L0T
PSN: Trail-Mix-A-Lot
hsv is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 11-05-2011, 04:52 PM
 
GSDTrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

Question. Why can't ps3 use VGA yet Xbox can?

Seriously? Why would the PS3 want to use VGA? Why would they want to go backwards in technology? Why would I want to have to run my video to my TV then use Toslink to my AVR for sound when I can connect the HDMI right into the receiver?
GSDTrainer is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 11-05-2011, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsv View Post

Formula, you're going to have to school me on TRUE VGA if you don' mind.

The monitor has the blue female 15 pin connector on the back.

Thanks everyone for the replies.

well it's hard to say, MOST tv's that include vga are "gimped" ... i.e. they wont display full resolution, or have some weird processing/scaling. the 3 tv's i've bought since 2005 I had actually researched to ensure they perform like a monitor (and less like a TV)

on TV's with a "real" vga port, you're going to get next to no processing, which means low input lag (think game mode, but better).

I also think the color space and black levels are better in PC mode, at least with the xbox (so long as you go into the options and set it up correctly)

No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 11-05-2011, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,649
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 493
I agree with formulanerd's assessment.

if input latency is important to you, then HDMI is the worst of the options because TV manufacturers want to deliver you the best picture which means the most processing which means the most latency.

for most games, it doesn't matter. but for timing games like Lips or Rocksmith or anything that depends on minimal lag, HDMI is the worst.

I set up my 360 for my PC monitor via VGA or HDMI-to-DVI when I need minimal lag when in Lips. There's virtually no processing with a PC monitor.

For the TV, even with game mode on, there's still some processing. In order to completely turn off processing, you have to be able to access the hidden maintenance menu for your TV which is meant for technicians only. and even then, there's some TVs that can't be fully turned off.

For the HDTV, I use component when I play Lips. It made a big difference in scoring when compared to HDMI.

For all regular gaming, I use HDMI.

But the bottom line when comparing HDMI, VGA, component, etc. is that it really depends on your TV and how your TV manufacturer handles that TV's input. You can't make blanket statements like "VGA is inferior".
onlysublime is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 11-05-2011, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSDTrainer View Post

Seriously? Why would the PS3 want to use VGA? Why would they want to go backwards in technology? Why would I want to have to run my video to my TV then use Toslink to my AVR for sound when I can connect the HDMI right into the receiver?

Lower input lag. Easier recording.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 11-05-2011, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p3Orion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Well I purchased the MS VGA cable from Amazon and should receive it Nov 9. I'm hoping that it will be an improvement over component on my Panasonic 42" 9UK, which is a professional display.
p3Orion is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off