Xbox display resolution question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 12-13-2011, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Oliver Dubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I have a 50 inch 9UK Panasonic plasma should I connect my 360 to it via VGA or HDMI? Is there a way to achieve 1:1 pixel mapping? I've tried researching it myself but everything is getting me confused a little bit. Anything would help, Thanks
Oliver Dubin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 12-13-2011, 07:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
ogbuehi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI. Panasonic's are notorious for not accepting 1080p via VGA.
ogbuehi is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 12-13-2011, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Oliver Dubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But my TV doesn't do 1080p. Only 720p
Oliver Dubin is online now  
post #4 of 19 Old 12-13-2011, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Oliver Dubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgot to mention that if using VGA then I would be setting it at 1360x768. HDMI would be 720p
Oliver Dubin is online now  
post #5 of 19 Old 12-13-2011, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,924
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogbuehi View Post

HDMI. Panasonic's are notorious for not accepting 1080p via VGA.

My vote is for HDMI as well. That way when and if you get a new TV you wont need to buy a new cable. Usually the only time you would use VGA is.when HDMI is unavailable.
Ph8te is online now  
post #6 of 19 Old 12-14-2011, 02:16 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
"Usually the only time you would use VGA is.when HDMI is unavailable."

Gah! Oh god no!

On a lot of displays VGA does two things. One, it is sometimes the only way to get 1:1 pixel mapping, especially at weird resolutions like the not-720p "720p" of 768p displays. Second, it tends to turn off a hell of a lot of processing, resulting is quicker response times and an image that is truer to what the original rendered image represented.

Both of these cases are not effected in the slightest by the presence of HDMI. Please stop spreading this disinformation around.

"If I have a 50 inch 9UK Panasonic plasma should I connect my 360 to it via VGA or HDMI?"

Head over to the plasma section and find the thread regarding your panel. Ask about 1:1 mapping based on input options.

To point you in the right direction though: Does HDMI on your display support 1080p? 1080p downscaled to 768p is preferable to 720p scaled up to 768p in almost every case. If your HDMI port supports 1080p, then set the 360 to 1080p and forget about it. If you can though, try out VGA. If you can get the Panasonic to accept 1360x768 over VGA, it is probably your best possible option in terms of image quality. A 360 VGA cable is like $7 on Monoprice.
darklordjames is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 12-14-2011, 05:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,924
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

"Usually the only time you would use VGA is.when HDMI is unavailable."

Gah! Oh god no!

On a lot of displays VGA does two things. One, it is sometimes the only way to get 1:1 pixel mapping, especially at weird resolutions like the not-720p "720p" of 768p displays. Second, it tends to turn off a hell of a lot of processing, resulting is quicker response times and an image that is truer to what the original rendered image represented.

Both of these cases are not effected in the slightest by the presence of HDMI. Please stop spreading this disinformation around.

"If I have a 50 inch 9UK Panasonic plasma should I connect my 360 to it via VGA or HDMI?"

Head over to the plasma section and find the thread regarding your panel. Ask about 1:1 mapping based on input options.

To point you in the right direction though: Does HDMI on your display support 1080p? 1080p downscaled to 768p is preferable to 720p scaled up to 768p in almost every case. If your HDMI port supports 1080p, then set the 360 to 1080p and forget about it. If you can though, try out VGA. If you can get the Panasonic to accept 1360x768 over VGA, it is probably your best possible option in terms of image quality. A 360 VGA cable is like $7 on Monoprice.

Gahhh ohhh no if you even bothered to read a few posts it would be obvious that the OP can't do 1080p (per their response)......Thanks for the "education" that I already had. Not sure why usually turns into always for some people. Ehhh go figure....
Ph8te is online now  
post #8 of 19 Old 12-14-2011, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Slordak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

On a lot of displays VGA does two things. One, it is sometimes the only way to get 1:1 pixel mapping, especially at weird resolutions like the not-720p "720p" of 768p displays. [...]

Is it really even possible to get 1:1 pixel mapping on these pseudo-720p displays when showing 1280x720 (16x9) content? Since they don't actually have this number of pixels, it seems like this would be impossible, but I confess I don't know that much about such displays.
Slordak is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 12-14-2011, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slordak View Post

Is it really even possible to get 1:1 pixel mapping on these pseudo-720p displays when showing 1280x720 (16x9) content? Since they don't actually have this number of pixels, it seems like this would be impossible, but I confess I don't know that much about such displays.

Well, there are quite a few games that don't run at 720p native, (CoD, halo 3, etc) so you can avoid double scaling by going with VGA.

My opinion is that especially if you have a 768p display, nothing beats VGA. I would find an official MS VGA cable though, the monoprice ones are hit and miss quality wise.
257Tony is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 12-14-2011, 08:01 AM
Member
 
sigteacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a way to achieve 1:1 pixel mapping with your PC and the right video card. Check out this link:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=733641

It's a little outdated, but this guy really pushed the limits of the 9uk panel with some amazing results!
sigteacher is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 12-14-2011, 10:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
ogbuehi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That works great for PC's (I've done this many times for different displays with my laptop), but doesn't really do the OP much good if the intent is to utilize a 360 as the video source. Otherwise DVDo iScan would be the next option albeit not necessarily a cheap one.
ogbuehi is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 12-14-2011, 03:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,593
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Pixel mapping can also be done with the 360 using proper patterns but this would require using VGA and a display that has timing adjustments.

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 12-14-2011, 03:36 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
"Is it really even possible to get 1:1 pixel mapping on these pseudo-720p displays when showing 1280x720 (16x9) content?"

Not really. But it also isn't really possible on a 1080p panel either. The 360 does a really good, quick job of scaling though, so if at all possible it is best to have the 360 scale to an exact resolution that your display supports, to avoid any double-scaling, or dog slow display-side scaling. Hence, 768p VGA is the preferred option for 768p displays. In example, my first plasma was 1024x768 42". 360 VGA spit out at 1024x768 16:9 was bloody fantastic and allowed for 1:1 mapping. 720p over component or HDMI was visually inferior in a fairly obvious way, and had forced overscan.
darklordjames is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 12-14-2011, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Question - does piping my hdmi through my receiver introduce tangible lag with regards to screen response? I'm wondering because come Christmas I'll have my Mixamp 5.8 installed so I really don't need my Xbox going through my receiver.
s1njin is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 12-15-2011, 02:15 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Oliver Dubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I can set my xbox on my TV via VGA for 1360x768 and my displays native resolution is 1366x768. Is this better then using HDMI and setting it at 720P?
Oliver Dubin is online now  
post #16 of 19 Old 12-15-2011, 03:22 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quite probably, yes.
darklordjames is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 12-15-2011, 03:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

Quite probably, yes.

Yes to which one of us?
s1njin is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 12-15-2011, 03:54 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
"Is this better then using HDMI and setting it at 720P?"

Quite probably, yes.

"does piping my hdmi through my receiver introduce tangible lag with regards to screen response?"

Depends on the receiver, but there should be no additional lag unless your receiver adds on some sort of on-screen display overlay, or is set to do some scaling.
darklordjames is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 12-15-2011, 05:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

"Is this better then using HDMI and setting it at 720P?"

Quite probably, yes.

"does piping my hdmi through my receiver introduce tangible lag with regards to screen response?"

Depends on the receiver, but there should be no additional lag unless your receiver adds on some sort of on-screen display overlay, or is set to do some scaling.

Thanks much DLJ.
s1njin is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off