Xbox 360 Component > Receiver > TV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-23-2012, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bigdavec81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a SONY STR-DH720 connected to my TV via HDMI out. This receiver claims it can convert Component IN to HDMI out (to TV), but my Xbox 360 will not work. Anyone else had this problem? Anyone have a receiver that successfully connects the Xbox360 via component cables?
Thanks!
Dave
bigdavec81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-23-2012, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
mguy5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicagolandia
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Many receivers accept 1080i inputs on component, but do not allow 1080p to be converted to their HDMI output. My pioneer receiver was the same way- until I switched to all HDMI I had to set the xbox output to 1080i via component.

On the Abt website for your receiver I found:

"6 HD Inputs
Get versatile HD connection options with six HD inputs. Four HDMI™ inputs (up to 1080/24p capable) let you connect a Sony® PlayStation® 3 entertainment system, Blu-ray Disc™ player, and any 2 other HDMI-capable devices, for high definition video and audio.6 Two component inputs (1080/60i capable) provide added HD-capable connectivity and versatility. "

http://www.abt.com/product/52994/Sony-STRDH720.html

"We've tried nothing and we're all out of ideas." - Agnes Mona Flanders
mguy5 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-25-2012, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
HDMI can be a real problem. Monoprice has some converters, see what their reviews say about going from component to hdmi, then feed that to your receiver and you might be ok. It is very device dependent because the HDMI spec is 'loosely' implemented by manufacturers.
rmalbers is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-25-2012, 10:08 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
To be clear, you have a super-old, original version Xbox 360 that does not support HDMI, right? Try setting component out to 720p, then 480p and see if it starts working for you. I would also check your receiver settings to see if the feature is turned off. That function is normally able to be disabled, and I would not be surprised if it's off by default.
darklordjames is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off