looking for a new tv for gaming for xbox 360 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 08-23-2012, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
im looking for a 50-55 inch tv that has low input lag im interested in this tv http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-VIERA-TC-P55ST50-55-Inch-Plasma/dp/B00752VKSC/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top


but wanted to know if anyone has had this personally or have found something better and my price range is 1000-1500. im open for suggestions! thanks in advance!
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 08-24-2012, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
number1laing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I use that TV. Yes it's awesome and I recommend it.
number1laing is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 08-24-2012, 11:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,419
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 1378
I have the ST30. Great TVs.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 08-24-2012, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
heck yeah i hopefully will be getting mine next week from best buy before borderlands 2 comes out haha have you experienced any input lag someone told me its around 17ms
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 08-24-2012, 03:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,419
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 1378
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOWM3URBO0BYZ View Post

heck yeah i hopefully will be getting mine next week from best buy before borderlands 2 comes out haha have you experienced any input lag someone told me its around 17ms

I haven't quantified it, but it's very good. Equal or better than my Samsung c8000 in "game mode".

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 08-26-2012, 12:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
okay thanks my insignia right now is just horrible u can move the stick look at the and then see it move i was hoping it would be better than that lol
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 08-26-2012, 09:21 PM
Newbie
 
chago4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody experience any burn in with plasma playing COD, I just got a 50 inch panasonic about a month ago and starting to get the burn in
chago4 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 08-27-2012, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
bucknuts07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by chago4 View Post

Has anybody experience any burn in with plasma playing COD, I just got a 50 inch panasonic about a month ago and starting to get the burn in

Can you see it from where you sit during normal viewing ? Also, what viewing mode are you using ? I'm pretty sure that in thx, the pixel shifting is disabeled. If you have to get a foot or 2 away to see it, Im pretty sure its classified as image retention, and i wouldnt sweat it

Xbox Live- bucknuts07

 

PSN-bucknuts07

bucknuts07 is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 08-30-2012, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
any updates on this issue?
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 08-30-2012, 08:40 AM
Newbie
 
ccbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Panasonic 50" plasma tv that I bought over 6 years ago. I've played every COD title from COD4 to the latest MW3 and have not had any issues with image burn in despite having several weeks of actually game time invested in each of the COD titles. I've played other games without any issues also.
ccbad is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 08-30-2012, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
that is really good to hear! haha
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 08-30-2012, 12:27 PM
Newbie
 
chago4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just had the geek squad take a look at it yesterday and they are going to replace the panel. I mostly just play COD every other day about 2 or 3 hrs. I got the upper left map burned in and lower text lines burned in. I can see the burn in from where I sit about 9 ft away. Need to check the settings, didn't play with the setting that much.
chago4 is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 08-30-2012, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
how did you break in your tv
also did you do the screen sweep feature every night
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 08-30-2012, 07:23 PM
Newbie
 
chago4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this is my first plasma I didn't know about break in, I did try the swipe feature and also panasonic said try leaving the tv on for 24hrs with a action movie running. And nothing happen the burn stay on there. When playing games I was using the game mode and the pixel orbiter is on.
chago4 is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 08-30-2012, 10:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yeah they say the break in is crucial in helping prevent that. i havent owned a plasma but every one ive talked to the make sure and tell me to break it in before gaming especially. But other than the burn in how was the responsiveness of the tv? like input lag / delay
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 08-31-2012, 12:32 AM
Newbie
 
chago4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The TV itself is great the picture and respond was good. With bluray, directv and streaming from netflix and from hard drive.
chago4 is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 08-31-2012, 06:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
awesome man that was my biggest worry as all the doubters had me concerned about the input lag while gaming
SHOWM3URBO0BYZ is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off