Switched from DLS to Cable and now my Xbox won't connect- Help? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 10-25-2012, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Kini62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 2,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 329
When I had DSL I had my xbox (non wifi) hard wired to a 4 port switch that was hard wired to my router which was hard wired to the modem.

Now with my cable modem I have it hard wired to a router which is wired to the same 4 port switch I used before. I have my PS3 hooked to this switch and it connects just fine. With the Xbox it doesn't seem to be able to pull the mac address (or something) it needs. I've tried some manual setups (don't know if they were correct though) and cannot get it to work.

With DSL it was just plug and play. Why am I having trouble with cable?

Thanks for the help.

Gene

Klipsch RF-62II, RC-500, RS-400, SVS PC12+,
Def Tech SC8000
Harman Kardon AVR 1600
PS3, Apple TV, Sharp 70" Qattron
Kini62 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 10-25-2012, 02:32 PM
Member
 
AutoWobble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Is it possible something on your router got changed while you were setting up the cable modem? Are you having any other related issues? Is the PS3 hard wired too? I'd recommend logging into your router and going through to make sure it's letting the Xbox get a MAC address or whatever else it might need.

But also, for people to help you better, give more details like the type of modem, type of router, etc.

Xbox Gamertag: Autowobble
AutoWobble is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 10-25-2012, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Kini62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 2,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 329
OK. I'm at work so I'll have to get that stuff later.

The PS3 is wired to the same switch/router/modem and connected automatically as did a blu-ray player in another room that is connected directly to the router.

Thanks

Klipsch RF-62II, RC-500, RS-400, SVS PC12+,
Def Tech SC8000
Harman Kardon AVR 1600
PS3, Apple TV, Sharp 70" Qattron
Kini62 is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off