Can I use Skullcandy SLYR with Xbox 360? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-21-2012, 12:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
atlantic44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the SLYR gaming headset which is supposedly "universal"
It comes with a bunch of cables and vague instructions on how to setup with the Xbox, and there are a few things I don't understand.


The only setup instructions for the Xbox involves red/white component cables for sound(and of course I use HDMI) mad.gif
I should be able just to plug it right into the Xbox controller to get everything to work right?

Can someone help me do this?

Thanks!
atlantic44 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-21-2012, 01:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 4,748
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 520
you need the audio adapter. like this one:
http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Cable-Adapter-XBOX-360-Slim/dp/B002P35JMO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1356080789&sr=8-1&keywords=xbox+audio+adapter


to use this headset. use the HDMI for the video. use the audio adapter for the headset.

plug the mic into the controller for chat.
onlysublime is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-21-2012, 01:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
atlantic44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply.smile.gif

The thing is I got the same headset for my brother also, and I had hoped to use them for co-op and such. If we do that, then the audio will be displayed for each person separately right?cool.gif

Would there be any reason why not to get the audio right from the controller?rolleyes.gif
atlantic44 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-21-2012, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Raven Crimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I didn't even know you could get game audio from the controller.

In any case, the RCA method is gonna have a cleaner signal.

I'm fairly certain the console comes with the adapter... if not the composite cable adapter, the component one...
Raven Crimson is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-21-2012, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
atlantic44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see allot of prople reporting a problem using the hdmi for video and component for audio method, where if you shut off your tv screen or switch inputs it shuts off the Xbox, apparently it has somthing to do with the wiring......

So your saying the Xbox should already come with the type of adapter that I need?
atlantic44 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-22-2012, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Dash525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I've never had a problem with my adapter I got from Monoprice. I have heard of people having issues with the adapters from Amazon. here is the link for the monoprice adapter. http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=114&cp_id=11403&cs_id=1140302&p_id=7526&seq=1&format=2


I use this with my Skullcandy SLYR and it works great.

PSN ID : AVS Dash
Dash525 is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off