HELP PLEASE!!! XBOX STUCK WITH NO XBOX ON NEW TV!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 01-23-2013, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DerekinMerrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I just got a new 3d tv. There is no component cable on it! There is some thing like an adaptor to hook up the component to it and then two prongs (one long and one small) go into my tv. But it does not work. I get all messed up lines. 1st question is there a way to fix this without getting something? And 2. Is there some hdmi adaptor I can get (my xbox is old school obviously)? I want to see halo on my new tv!!
DerekinMerrick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 01-23-2013, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
number1laing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
The only adapter I would consider is a new Xbox 360. Way back when a few dodgy companies made HDMI kits for those old 360s but they didn't work well. I don't even know how easy they are to find anymore.

Anyway, have you tried calling up your TV maker?
number1laing is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 01-23-2013, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DerekinMerrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No. I don't think it is the tv. The xbox is old now and the tv is brand new. I am shocked the component is gone
DerekinMerrick is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 01-23-2013, 02:21 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
If your 360 doesn't have HDMI, then it's at least 5 years old. Buy a new 360.
darklordjames is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 01-23-2013, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
number1laing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekinMerrick View Post

No. I don't think it is the tv. The xbox is old now and the tv is brand new. I am shocked the component is gone

My TV is the same way. I have this adapter that is mean to plug component sources. I think it's probably to save space/cut costs/make it thinner.

But the point is that the 360 is still a component source so it should display fine, unless there is some weird copy protection thing.
number1laing is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
What's the make/model of your TV? If it has a VGA port that supports 1920x1080, get the VGA cable for your Xbox. I still use it to this day.

Xbox Live:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 | Mii: 5207 2388 9861 4135 | Steam ID:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| Origin ID: oktoberrust11

oktoberrust11 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 06:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,517
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 1392
I'm surprised that xbox even still works.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #8 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 06:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 851
http://www.amazon.com/Component-video-YPbPr-HDMI-Converter-Up-scale/dp/B0016SN49Y

You could try this.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 10:31 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
No to the component to HDMI converter. Yes to VGA. I forgot about VGA for a minute there! It's a great option that I ran on my 2006 plasma. My 360 and that display both had HDMI, but VGA was still the better picture as is let me 1:1 pixel match.
darklordjames is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 02:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 851
If she has vga. Many new tv dont. That adaptor says specifically that it works for the xbox.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 02:19 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
"That adaptor says specifically that it works for the xbox."

Yes, that adapter will physically work. It will also do it with at least 16ms of lag, but probably 33, and at poor quality.
darklordjames is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
number1laing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

No to the component to HDMI converter. Yes to VGA. I forgot about VGA for a minute there! It's a great option that I ran on my 2006 plasma. My 360 and that display both had HDMI, but VGA was still the better picture as is let me 1:1 pixel match.

Pretty much every TV made since, well, 2006, has the ability to 1:1 (justscan, etc.) without VGA. I know because my 2006 TV didn't have it.

Your simplest, and in my opinion best, option is just to buy a new Xbox 360. You get other benefits too, like the new ones run much quieter and are more reliable. HDMI also produces a slightly clearer picture than component. Your call, of course.
number1laing is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 04:11 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
You'd be surprised. The 2009 Panasonic that replaced that 2006 plasma wouldn't do 1:1 on anything. Thankfully it was great at downscaling 1080p to 768p so I just fed it 1080p HDMI from everything. Still lost about 3% of the picture to overscan though...

The 2012 64" Samsung I use now finally handles pixels perfectly. 1:1 1080p from every source.
darklordjames is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 01-25-2013, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by number1laing View Post

Pretty much every TV made since, well, 2006, has the ability to 1:1 (justscan, etc.) without VGA. I know because my 2006 TV didn't have it.

Your simplest, and in my opinion best, option is just to buy a new Xbox 360. You get other benefits too, like the new ones run much quieter and are more reliable. HDMI also produces a slightly clearer picture than component. Your call, of course.

IMHO, I would investigate the VGA route before buying a new Xbox. Especially with a new model potentially being released later this year.

Xbox Live:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 | Mii: 5207 2388 9861 4135 | Steam ID:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| Origin ID: oktoberrust11

oktoberrust11 is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off