The Official Xbox One thread... - Page 436 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 272Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13051 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 04:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwalker36 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

This article fails to mention Ryse among the XB1's launch exclusives; IMO it has the most new-gen graphics of any game running on either platform.

I think Killzone's graphics are actually better and sharper, but I would agree with you in the sense that I think Ryse is the best looking game because of the fantastic art direction. 

I believe that we've had this debate. We'll have to agree to disagree, though admittedly I've only seen video reviews of Killzone; perhaps it's more impressive "in person". I'm not a run-and-gun shooter fan (except for the Halo games) so I'd not own Killzone even if I had a PS4.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13052 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
americangunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

I believe that we've had this debate. We'll have to agree to disagree, though admittedly I've only seen video reviews of Killzone; perhaps it's more impressive "in person". I'm not a run-and-gun shooter fan (except for the Halo games) so I'd not own Killzone even if I had a PS4.
I've played both and right now killzone is blowing me away with it's graphics. To each their own, but my eyes think Killzone is the best graphics on next gen consoles I've played

XBL: xGunner26x

PSN: AMER1CAN_GUNNER

Steam: xGunner26x

americangunner is offline  
post #13053 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 04:34 PM
Member
 
bwalker36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post


I believe that we've had this debate. We'll have to agree to disagree, though admittedly I've only seen video reviews of Killzone; perhaps it's more impressive "in person". I'm not a run-and-gun shooter fan (except for the Halo games) so I'd not own Killzone even if I had a PS4.

Lies...I don't debate I win :)

 

But my point was more towards technical graphics, Killzone pushes a higher resolution and way more textures.  Its the way Ryse was setup that makes it look so nice, I think Ryse is the overall best looking game so far.  

bwalker36 is offline  
post #13054 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by americangunner View Post

I've played both and right now killzone is blowing me away with it's graphics. To each their own, but my eyes think Killzone is the best graphics on next gen consoles I've played
It's tough since I have played both as well. I think it all depends on the art style you like. Right now my vote is for Ryse, but once I complete Killzone that may change. I'll say this Killzone is the best looking FPS I have played this Gen for sure biggrin.gif Ryse is totally different style and its so hard to compare the two games when they are not even in the same perspective.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #13055 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post

It's tough since I have played both as well. I think it all depends on the art style you like. Right now my vote is for Ryse, but once I complete Killzone that may change. I'll say this Killzone is the best looking FPS I have played this Gen for sure biggrin.gif Ryse is totally different style and its so hard to compare the two games when they are not even in the same perspective.

I've played both as well and give Ryse the graphical edge.
Arutha_conDoin likes this.
metalsaber is offline  
post #13056 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 04:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 701
At least Ryse got a nomination for a 2014 D.I.C.E. graphics category award (Outstanding Achievement in Visual Engineering); Killzone got no nominations biggrin.gif. The Last of Us took the prize; it swept the awards, winning:

'The Last of Us' D.I.C.E. Awards (Click to show)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design
  • Outstanding Achievement in Story
  • Outstanding Character Performance
    - Ellie -
  • Outstanding Innovation in Gaming
  • Adventure Game of the Year
  • Outstanding Achievement in Animation
  • Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction
  • Outstanding Achievement in Visual Engineering
  • Outstanding Achievement in Gameplay Engineering
  • Outstanding Achievement in Game Direction
  • Game of the Year

I haven't played it yet (I will), but from what I've seen it probably deserved what it got. (BTW, it's another example of why MS needs to start selling download codes through Amazon, etc. The only way to buy The Last of Us from PSN is a game+season pass bundle for $60; you can get the game download code + season pass code separately from Amazon for $30+$20).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #13057 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 05:08 PM
Member
 
bwalker36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

At least Ryse got a nomination for a 2014 D.I.C.E. graphics category award (Outstanding Achievement in Visual Engineering); Killzone got no nominations biggrin.gif. The Last of Us took the prize; it swept the awards, winning:
  'The Last of Us' D.I.C.E. Awards (Click to show)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design
  • Outstanding Achievement in Story
  • Outstanding Character Performance
    - Ellie -
  • Outstanding Innovation in Gaming
  • Adventure Game of the Year
  • Outstanding Achievement in Animation
  • Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction
  • Outstanding Achievement in Visual Engineering
  • Outstanding Achievement in Gameplay Engineering
  • Outstanding Achievement in Game Direction
  • Game of the Year

I haven't played it yet (I will), but from what I've seen it probably deserved what it got. (BTW, it's another example of why MS needs to start selling download codes through Amazon, etc. The only way to buy The Last of Us from PSN is a game+season pass bundle for $60; you can get the game download code + season pass code separately from Amazon for $30+$20).

I have a feeling its going to be on PS+ soon so I'm waiting lol

bwalker36 is offline  
post #13058 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
americangunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 287
So I found one more thing I love about my Xbox. My ps4 has three games that won't give my wife trophies when we play coop, yet this feature has been around forever on xbox.

XBL: xGunner26x

PSN: AMER1CAN_GUNNER

Steam: xGunner26x

americangunner is offline  
post #13059 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 07:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwalker36 View Post

I have a feeling its going to be on PS+ soon so I'm waiting lol

I suspect that you're right--I've got a stack of games to get through so I can certainly wait. I bought Bioshock Infinite a couple of months for 360 and now it's a PS+ freebie rolleyes.gif. At least I caught it on sale for $14.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #13060 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 4,767
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbe View Post

So the added game and chat balance on the puck to make it different from the home-made ones. Since that is built in the older headsets (or at least my A50's and Tritton's). that is not needed. Probably safer for me not to update the controller. Then I would have to balance 2 different controls.

if you don't update, looks like you won't be noticing the changes that Respawn wanted for the controller...
onlysublime is online now  
post #13061 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
johnbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Fairmont, WV 26554
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by onlysublime View Post

if you don't update, looks like you won't be noticing the changes that Respawn wanted for the controller...

Well I can update one of my controllers and see what happens. Hopefully, it doesn't do something that makes you have to have their puck to use your headset. I don't really believe it would though because it would make the included headset not work since that is where I got the puck in the first place.
johnbe is offline  
post #13062 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 09:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 752
How are you supposed to update the controller? Do you have to go into the settings and manually push an update to the controller?

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #13063 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
totalownership's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

How are you supposed to update the controller? Do you have to go into the settings and manually push an update to the controller?
I would assume it would be an automatic thing.

AT HAMMOND ROBOTICS WE'RE BRINGING THE FUTURE ... HOME
totalownership is offline  
post #13064 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 4,767
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

How are you supposed to update the controller? Do you have to go into the settings and manually push an update to the controller?

connect by USB cable (I guess to insure the integrity of the firmware update). it's going to prompt that an update is available (when the update is actually available).
onlysublime is online now  
post #13065 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 10:27 PM
Member
 
redbulluci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
redbulluci is offline  
post #13066 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
johnbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Fairmont, WV 26554
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

How are you supposed to update the controller? Do you have to go into the settings and manually push an update to the controller?

I think this Titanfall controller update is just a software update that does nothing physically to the controller. Otherwise you would be forced to buy either a plug and charge cable or the chat puck and I don't think that is going to happen. The update that requires something connected to the controller is so it can talk to the headset thru the chat puck (or whatever it is called). I may be wrong.
johnbe is offline  
post #13067 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 4,767
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbe View Post

I think this Titanfall controller update is just a software update that does nothing physically to the controller. Otherwise you would be forced to buy either a plug and charge cable or the chat puck and I don't think that is going to happen. The update that requires something connected to the controller is so it can talk to the headset thru the chat puck (or whatever it is called). I may be wrong.

the Xbox One controller has a standard USB port (not the full size port though but a common variant).
onlysublime is online now  
post #13068 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 11:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by onlysublime View Post

the Xbox One controller has a standard USB port (not the full size port though but a common variant).

It's the micro-USB port common on a billion mobile phones, tablets, e-book readers, my rechargeable wireless keyboard, my rechargeable headset, etc, etc.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #13069 of 17211 Old 02-12-2014, 11:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Makes me wonder if the TitanFall controller with have the Respawn controller settings already, or will they have the MS ones that we are currently using?

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #13070 of 17211 Old 02-13-2014, 04:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Guys, the past two days my audio settings revert back to stereo every time I turn the xb1 off. I have had to change it back to 5.1 uncompressed every time I turn it on.
Does anyone have any idea what is happening here?
lulimet is offline  
post #13071 of 17211 Old 02-13-2014, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulimet View Post

Guys, the past two days my audio settings revert back to stereo every time I turn the xb1 off. I have had to change it back to 5.1 uncompressed every time I turn it on.
Does anyone have any idea what is happening here?
Are you going into Standby or Powered down state? What was the source of your last app? I know if the kids happened to be watched a SD channel and it is 2 channel, then the xbox One will default to 2 channel instead of staying 5.1 PCM when I go to play a game or watch a channel in HD. Kind of annoying, but my receiver will decode to 5.1 off of 2 channel and I may not notice it right away.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #13072 of 17211 Old 02-13-2014, 05:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Going into standby. I only play games with it so after I am done playing, I go home and quit the game by using the menu button on the controller. After that I power it off from the controller.
lulimet is offline  
post #13073 of 17211 Old 02-13-2014, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 7,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Just some FYI. Comcast to buy Time Warner.

http://money.cnn.com/2014/02/12/investing/comcast-time-warner-cable/


Comcast on Thursday will announce its intent to acquire Time Warner Cable in a $45 billion deal that will combine the two biggest cable companies in the United States

The two companies expect the merger to receive government approval and take effect by the end of the year, but regulators are likely to take a close look at the potential impact on consumers. Through the consolidation of Time Warner Cable, Comcast would be the dominant provider of television channels and Internet connections in roughly one in three American homes, a total unmatched by any other distributor.

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is online now  
post #13074 of 17211 Old 02-13-2014, 05:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post

Are you going into Standby or Powered down state? What was the source of your last app? I know if the kids happened to be watched a SD channel and it is 2 channel, then the xbox One will default to 2 channel instead of staying 5.1 PCM when I go to play a game or watch a channel in HD. Kind of annoying, but my receiver will decode to 5.1 off of 2 channel and I may not notice it right away.

If true this is partially what we want. It should be switching dynamically back and forth depending on the number of source channels. I'll need to check out a stereo channel.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #13075 of 17211 Old 02-13-2014, 05:37 AM
Member
 
bwalker36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post

Just some FYI. Comcast to buy Time Warner.

http://money.cnn.com/2014/02/12/investing/comcast-time-warner-cable/


Comcast on Thursday will announce its intent to acquire Time Warner Cable in a $45 billion deal that will combine the two biggest cable companies in the United States

The two companies expect the merger to receive government approval and take effect by the end of the year, but regulators are likely to take a close look at the potential impact on consumers. Through the consolidation of Time Warner Cable, Comcast would be the dominant provider of television channels and Internet connections in roughly one in three American homes, a total unmatched by any other distributor.

If this actually happens I don't see it ending well for us. 

bwalker36 is offline  
post #13076 of 17211 Old 02-13-2014, 06:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulimet View Post

Guys, the past two days my audio settings revert back to stereo every time I turn the xb1 off. I have had to change it back to 5.1 uncompressed every time I turn it on.
Does anyone have any idea what is happening here?

I've had mine go to Stereo to 5.1 to 7.1. I just want it to stay 5.1
metalsaber is offline  
post #13077 of 17211 Old 02-13-2014, 06:31 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 752
I just checked mine with some 2.0 and 5.1 content. They still stayed at 7.1 output.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #13078 of 17211 Old 02-13-2014, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Does anyone know if there is a way to filter the Friends app to show who is following you? I have 74 friends 75 people following me, but I can not seem to find that "1" person who is following me....

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #13079 of 17211 Old 02-13-2014, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
totalownership's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post

Does anyone know if there is a way to filter the Friends app to show who is following you? I have 74 friends 75 people following me, but I can not seem to find that "1" person who is following me....
Have you checked through your "Notifications" history? Might be in there where a new person tried to reach out to you.

AT HAMMOND ROBOTICS WE'RE BRINGING THE FUTURE ... HOME
totalownership is offline  
post #13080 of 17211 Old 02-13-2014, 10:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post

Does anyone know if there is a way to filter the Friends app to show who is following you? I have 74 friends 75 people following me, but I can not seem to find that "1" person who is following me....
I thought they changed something. It shows when a new person is following you and they were at the top of my list the last time I had a new follower. Unless they were at the top only because they were currently logged in.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Monoprice , Xbox One Console Day One Edition

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off