The Official Xbox One thread... - Page 463 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 65Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13861 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 04:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Daekwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Anyway to force the update? Still nothing here

Xbox Live & PSN gamertag- Daekwan
www.facebook.com/Daekwan
Daekwan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13862 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 04:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bailey151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampabuc View Post

Gravity is the perfect example of where the X1 has failed the basic A/V community.

No DTS-HD or 3D Blu-ray support.

I just purchased a stand-alone blu-ray player just to watch this movie properly at home. What a waste of money with a X1 sitting there.

biggrin.gif Um...........er........ah........LPCM? And even funnier is the X1 didn't have 1/2 the errors even at launch that silly @ss movie did.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post

if the Xbox one outputs Linear PCM does it not output the same quality that DTS-HD does? All that you missing I thought was your receiver showing DTS-HD. The movie itself will still show that audio track as playing.
biggrin.gif Yep, but...........waaaaaaaa.........the little light on the avr doesn't light up biggrin.gif

It's just my opinion & it's worth exactly what you paid for it.
Bailey151 is offline  
post #13863 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
JoeBlow74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vantuky, Washington
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Guys, this is a video games Console. DTS and DD are very capable codecs to give good quality surround sound on your system of choice. Both DTS and DD codecs will produce proper surround based on how the audio was mastered on the disk. If you want to watch a Blu-ray disk then use a stand alone player or the PS4. Microsoft never claimed that the Xbox can do everything, unlike Sony claimed with their PS3.

X-Box Live name: OGgamer1974

If you want to be friends on through xbox network, just send me a request through X-Box Live and mention AVS in the request.

Cheers
JoeBlow74 is offline  
post #13864 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 05:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
RemoWilliams84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeBlow74 View Post

Guys, this is a video games Console. DTS and DD are very capable codecs to give good quality surround sound on your system of choice. Both DTS and DD codecs will produce proper surround based on how the audio was mastered on the disk. If you want to watch a Blu-ray disk then use a stand alone player or the PS4. Microsoft never claimed that the Xbox can do everything, unlike Sony claimed with their PS3.

Actually... they did call it the "all-in-one entertainment system". But really, I could care less about most of this stuff people like to go on and on about.

Xbox Gamertag/PSN ID: RemoWilliams84

"I started out with nothing, and I still got most of it." -Seasick Steve

RemoWilliams84 is offline  
post #13865 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 05:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeBlow74 View Post

Guys, this is a video games Console. DTS and DD are very capable codecs to give good quality surround sound on your system of choice. Both DTS and DD codecs will produce proper surround based on how the audio was mastered on the disk. If you want to watch a Blu-ray disk then use a stand alone player or the PS4. Microsoft never claimed that the Xbox can do everything, unlike Sony claimed with their PS3.

It produces proper sound the same way PCM output does. Even if you select DD or DTS output, the XBOne is still decoding the audio first, mixing in sounds, and then re-encoding it to DTS/DD. The only difference with the PCM output is that it doesn't re-encode. It bypasses the re-encoding and sends out the pcm audio directly.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #13866 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 06:25 AM
Member
 
OberstDanjeje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

I just updated the Xone but on the HDMI sound output I can only select stereo, before I have selected 7.1 uncopressed without issue, yes my AVR Yamaha RX-V675 can support everything.

 

I'm the only one with this issue?

 

No one know if Xbox on work for the non US too?

it's mentioned in the menu but don't work.

I'm Italian and I have tested Xbox accendi and Xbox on but notthing

OberstDanjeje is online now  
post #13867 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 07:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Guys I dont have the update yet but for some reason when I choose 5.1 uncompressed I get a popping sound when moving through the dashboard. It goes away when I put it on DTS

This is via HDMI by the way.

Any idea why it makes that popping sound with the 5.1 and 7.1 uncompressed
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #13868 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 08:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 1330
Whenever I use PCM on any device, it usually switches to "no signal" after a short time. The way I understand it, silence on PCM is literally no signal. So I'm guessing your receiver is probably dropping the connection as soon as it goes silent, and the pop happens when it picks it back up. With something like DTS, it's basically sending a blank container, but that's enough to keep the line open.

So don't worry, it's prob normal.
Cravit8 likes this.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
post #13869 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post

Whenever I use PCM on any device, it usually switches to "no signal" after a short time. The way I understand it, silence on PCM is literally no signal. So I'm guessing your receiver is probably dropping the connection as soon as it goes silent, and the pop happens when it picks it back up. With something like DTS, it's basically sending a blank container, but that's enough to keep the line open.

So don't worry, it's prob normal.


Thanx for the response man...It does not affect in game audio but it is annoying going through apps and sections of the dashboard with that pop sound.

But your theory makes sense.

I thought my speakers were blown or my receiver which is a Denon 2000 brand new was the problem.
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #13870 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post

Whenever I use PCM on any device, it usually switches to "no signal" after a short time. The way I understand it, silence on PCM is literally no signal. So I'm guessing your receiver is probably dropping the connection as soon as it goes silent, and the pop happens when it picks it back up. With something like DTS, it's basically sending a blank container, but that's enough to keep the line open.

So don't worry, it's prob normal.

But on my PS4 on PCM it does not do this pop sound. I have no sound on the ps4 dashboard as i turn off the dashboard sound and when I scroll through Apps it does not do that popping sound on PS4 dashboard.

Any ideas?
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #13871 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
RandomNinjaAtk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 116
I have never had a POP sound using my Xbox One on PCM uncompressed 5.1 on my Onkyo receiver...

"Live to Win!"
XBL: RandomNinjaAtk
www.stevenohare.com - Personal Blog
www.oharesites.com - Domain Names, Web Hosting, Email Hosting and more
RandomNinjaAtk is offline  
post #13872 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandomNinjaAtk View Post

I have never had a POP sound using my Xbox One on PCM uncompressed 5.1 on my Onkyo receiver...

Hmmmm...Interesting....

So what could it be.... I mean it dont happen with PCM on PS4

It dont happen with DTS on XB1 but it does with 5.1 or 7.1 uncompressed. All via HDMI not optical
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #13873 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 08:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: the area formerly known as Black Forest
Posts: 4,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 191
I've got an X1 connected to an X4000 and an X1 connected to a 3313. Both X1's are sending uncompressed 5.1 out and neither evidence a popping sound.

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
post #13874 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrlittlejeans View Post

I've got an X1 connected to an X4000 and an X1 connected to a 3313. Both X1's are sending uncompressed 5.1 out and neither evidence a popping sound.

Well I think its my xbox then because I googled the issue and some are reporting it as well. It cannot be my speakers or avr receiver since it dont do it on ps4 and on xb1 under dts it does not pop. Just on uncompressed 5.1 and 7.1
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #13875 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pcweber111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post

Thanx for the response man...It does not affect in game audio but it is annoying going through apps and sections of the dashboard with that pop sound.

But your theory makes sense.

I thought my speakers were blown or my receiver which is a Denon 2000 brand new was the problem.

Same thing happens to me. Funny enough though it doesn't happen with my PS3 and that's set to pcm as well. Something different with the way the ps3 handles pcm and the way the one does if theres such a discrepancy.
pcweber111 is online now  
post #13876 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 37
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #13877 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Guacamelee: Super Turbo Championship Edition has been announced for the Xbox One

http://www.ign.com/articles/2014/03/05/guacamelee-super-turbo-championship-edition-announced?abthid=5317586c4cd346cb4000001c
spid is online now  
post #13878 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
americangunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by spid View Post

Guacamelee: Super Turbo Championship Edition has been announced for the Xbox One

http://www.ign.com/articles/2014/03/05/guacamelee-super-turbo-championship-edition-announced?abthid=5317586c4cd346cb4000001c
game was good on the ps3. It was brutally hard at a few points, but still fun. I will pick it up so I can use a superior controller on it, which might make it a little easier at some points.

XBL: xGunner26x

PSN: AMER1CAN_GUNNER

Steam: xGunner26x

americangunner is offline  
post #13879 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 09:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 1330
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post

But on my PS4 on PCM it does not do this pop sound. I have no sound on the ps4 dashboard as i turn off the dashboard sound and when I scroll through Apps it does not do that popping sound on PS4 dashboard.

Any ideas?

I dunno for sure, I'm only guessing at the cause. If the PS4 sends a near silent signal it would keep the connection alive. My receiver doesn't pop when the PCM kicks back on on my PC, basically I just don't hear the first fraction of a second of that sound.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
post #13880 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bailey151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandomNinjaAtk View Post

I have never had a POP sound using my Xbox One on PCM uncompressed 5.1 on my Onkyo receiver...
Same here, no popping w/ Pioneer AVR.

It's just my opinion & it's worth exactly what you paid for it.
Bailey151 is offline  
post #13881 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Cuda1169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Anyone try out the new update yet. How does Dolby surround work?
Cuda1169 is offline  
post #13882 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
JoeBlow74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vantuky, Washington
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 34
My experience has showed me that this popping sound is either two things. 1. The xbox has an issue with the hardware/software. 2. The AVR the HDMI cable is hooked up to is clipping the sound.

You guys also have to understand that modern AVR quality has gone down the tank. All, and I do mean all manufacturers have cheapened the quality of AVR'S so they can sell to the people within the bell curve and still make a profit. I would not doubt for one second that some people have this popping noise originating from their AVR. A few years ago Onkyo had multi - model AVR'S having issues with audio switching. Anytime a signal would force a change in the AVR, the AVR would pop and randomly change input. Onkyo had to recall a bunch of AVR'S due to premature failure of the internal amp due to the audio switching issue. Denon also has been having issues with their AVR's. It is because the AVR and audio industry as a whole has disappeared from the consumer landscape. Nobody buys AVR'S anymore let alone speakers.

X-Box Live name: OGgamer1974

If you want to be friends on through xbox network, just send me a request through X-Box Live and mention AVS in the request.

Cheers
JoeBlow74 is offline  
post #13883 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 10:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 54
No popping for me. Marantz SR6008.
lulimet is offline  
post #13884 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 10:35 AM
Member
 
todd_us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Just curious if your AVR is connected via HDMI. Maybe its an HDMI handshake issue?
todd_us is online now  
post #13885 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I think he'd lose the video if it were an HDMI handshake issue.
lulimet is offline  
post #13886 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_us View Post

Just curious if your AVR is connected via HDMI. Maybe its an HDMI handshake issue?


Yes I connect the PS4 the XBOX 1 and my Panny Blu Ray Player via HDMi to the AVR and One HDMI cable from the AVR to my TV

My cable box from Fios is connect directly to the tv and I use optical for the sound from the avr to the fios cable box.

The PS4 the Panny Blu Ray player and the xb1 on DTS only will never make any issues with popping

Only the XB1 makes the popping when moving around the dashboard to different tiles if I have hdmi 5.1 uncompressed or 7.1 uncompressed

It does not happen with PCM on PS4 at all or DTS on XB1

JUST on 5.1 and 7.1 uncompressed.

Am thinking it is an hdmi handshaking issue with the xb1 and not my avr since it does not happen with any other device
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #13887 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulimet View Post

I think he'd lose the video if it were an HDMI handshake issue.

True...But I never do

When i move to a tile it pops and when i move to tiles quickly it at times does not pop but at times it does.... but moving from tile to tile in a steady slower pace it pops
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #13888 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
JoeBlow74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vantuky, Washington
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulimet View Post

I think he'd lose the video if it were an HDMI handshake issue.


you are correct. The popping noise would normally be the internal amp of your AVR. Garbage in, garbage out. It could also be the software/firmware of the AVR. Remember, software/firmware controls how the hardware is used. If there is a glitch in software/firmware of the AVR, then you have the popping noise.

X-Box Live name: OGgamer1974

If you want to be friends on through xbox network, just send me a request through X-Box Live and mention AVS in the request.

Cheers
JoeBlow74 is offline  
post #13889 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 10:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Have you tried basic troubleshooting of changing the HDMI cable and also trying a different input?

An HDMI cable not quite up to par can cause a host of issues manifested in different ways.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #13890 of 16214 Old 03-05-2014, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeBlow74 View Post

you are correct. The popping noise would normally be the internal amp of your AVR. Garbage in, garbage out. It could also be the software/firmware of the AVR. Remember, software/firmware controls how the hardware is used. If there is a glitch in software/firmware of the AVR, then you have the popping noise.

I just got the AVR a bit over a month ago brand new AVR2000 from DENON

I dont have this issue at all with PS4 on their menue with PCM and the issue on the XB1 does not affect when watching a movie or playing a game. Just the dashboard moving from tile to tile
NJPapi1977 is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Monoprice , Xbox One Console Day One Edition

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off